NCSOFT Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

NCSOFT Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 26 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
77%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
3 Ratings
  1. "Good experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onboarding process is clear and fast. Help with H1b transfer, deal with everything with quick reply and great help. Great benefits, not only the health insurance, but also activities and foods :) Work environment is great, can you believe the chairs are all Herman Miller?

    Cons

    I didn't find anything unhappy here yet.

    NCSOFT2019-08-26
  2. "I love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Great Pay * Awesome Work/Life Balance * I can be creative without limitations * Great Culture

    Cons

    Sometimes projects can be delayed, which is frustrating.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-07-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Really good at giving you a ton of rope to hang yourself with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Little intervention from the HQ in South Korea meant we enjoyed a surprising amount of freedom and agency in making our game. * Pay was barely competitive with the rest of the SF market * Benefits were good * The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance. We're getting shut down, though, so I don't know what surviving studios are like.

    Cons

    * All that freedom I mentioned came at the cost of upper brass decision making feeling really distant and opaque culminating in our studio getting canned just when we thought we were about to launch with a (hopefully) successful game. This whole experience gave me the impression that HQ is pretty clueless about how to manage their western studios. * Rev share was promised (more like dangled at the end of a stick) and now is just moot because we (the studio that made the game) aren't going to be around when the game finally launches.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-02-27
  4. Helpful (13)

    "There is no way this location will survive much longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    $0.25 snacks Early access to mediocre, over-budget games in a dinosaur business model. "Never-ending Change."

    Cons

    In abusive relationships, the abused often begins to side with the abuser. It’s a little bit of Stockholm Syndrome and a little bit of co-dependency. Being psychologically abused is no fun -- and at NCSOFT, you can look forward to being physically abused as well! Physical, in the sense that you are expected to work 60, 80, or more hours per week without compensation. Anxiety and stress hormones will disrupt your work day, your home life, and your health in general. Studies show that ever-present stressors, especially financial or job security related, are dramatically directly linked to increased heart disease, chronic pain and yes even mortality rates. Don’t let this dissuade you from joining NCSOFT. Let their motto dissuade you. “Never-ending Change.” This is the company slogan and it should come with the disclaimer: "Warning: You will be asked in harsh, accusatory and threatening tones to perform inane, illogical technological miracles. You will be told to move the company from one platform (be it a support ticketing system or a backend billing system) to another within two weeks’ time, starting two weeks ago. When you accomplish this miracle, it will be thrown out since the "leadership" changed their minds a dozen times in the last week. You will be given access to the database after months of requests, and when you see it, you will realize that the slop software pumped out of Korean HQ is no better than the slop management decisions pumped out of Austin." Join NCSOFT and you will bask in the glory of being promoted to a Supervisor or Lead, or if you have no real job skills then its Producer or Senior Manager for you! You will ring in each new year with successively more depressing holiday parties, where fewer and fewer people bother to show up. You will marvel at decisions made by the Austin executive and you will realize only in the game industry can you get promoted from customer support rep to executive with no experience or education related to operating a multimillion dollar company. The new slogan should be, “NCSOFT! Come for the ability to say you work in the game industry. Stay because you hate yourself.” If all that fails to convince you, no worries. Even if you get employed by NCSOFT in Austin, you will be out of work within a year. There is no way this location will survive much longer. Don’t let this be you. Run, do not walk, away from this company.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2014-08-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "This company has peaked, and is on its way down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT

    Pros

    It's a great start in the game industry, and if they happen to make a game you love, it could be worth it to work there.

    Cons

    Company direction changes with the wind, and directives from above are rarely followed by the support (budget, manpower, etc.) to actually follow them.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2008-09-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Wonderful worker bees, confused upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT

    Pros

    Lots of wonderful peers to work with and great opportunities to learn and work with interesting technologies.

    Cons

    Upper management seems unsure of what they want to do and repeatedly change direction. Each occurrence kills morale and reduces confidence in the company as a whole.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2008-07-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good people and teams, confusing corporate direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT

    Pros

    Development teams are given a fair amount of autonomy to create the game they want to make. The company was willing to take risks on some technologies and ideas. They are the leading MMO developer in the world with many titles under their belt, they have the experience to create some fairly polished MMOs and to support them.

    Cons

    Senior management and corporate direction comes down without any feedback from the development teams whose fates are being decided. Coordination amongst various development teams and knowledge sharing is not practiced, reinventing the wheel happens alot. The lack of follow through on some project ideas and letting projects die creates frustrated employees.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2008-07-21
Found 7 reviews