Morrisons Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Morrisons Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Morrisons Chief Executive David Potts
David Potts
498 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was really easy work and also every week products that the factory distributed we got staff discount on whatever we wanted(in 157 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to other supermarkets(in 108 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, management could be better(in 74 reviews)

  • "Everything with my experience in the 3 years at Morrisons has been posotive(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cut me and I bleed green"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRBP in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrisons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good progression... hard working always rewarded

    Cons

    Going through transition constantly , not great perks

    Morrisons2020-01-18
  2. "Not a bad company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrisons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Not bad working hours

    Cons

    Not allowed to cover sickness or holiday.

    Morrisons2020-01-17
  3. "Not great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Morrisons full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People are nice, was fun at times

    Cons

    Job was hard, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff

    Morrisons2020-01-14
  4. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morrisons full-time

    Pros

    Great bunch of lads and Girls

    Cons

    Not long enough for lunch

    Morrisons2020-01-14
  5. "Fair employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Checkout Assistant 

    I worked at Morrisons part-time

    Pros

    Staff had access to good benefits and overtime etc.

    Cons

    There was a rather cliquey atmosphere

    Morrisons2020-01-06
  6. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Morrisons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great, i was given a lot of responsibility.

    Cons

    none. Staff are sometimes quite rude to management.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Morrisons2019-12-30
  7. "Morrisons checkout operator job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator in Newquay, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Morrisons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some lovely people work there Pay is decent

    Cons

    Managers don’t care about you It’s terribly run at times Not a lot of support The people in head office don’t care; they don’t care how their decisions or orders affect the people at the bottom.

    Morrisons2020-01-12
  8. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aids Coordinator in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morrisons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people who work in the stores

    Cons

    Some senior management need better people skills

    Advice to Management

    Treat people more fairly

    Morrisons2020-01-11
  9. "OK for part-time employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Assistant 

    I worked at Morrisons part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job role was mostly easy and it was enjoyable communicating with customers and other checkout employees. There are opportunities to work on different departments, overtime is often available and there is usually the chance to move up to team leader etc. if you work hard.

    Cons

    Unfortunately I did not have a good experience with management. Checkout staff are mostly treated as disposable and one of my managers even referred to us as 'dogs bodies'. I am not sure if it was limited to my store, but there was various instances of male managers being inappropriate to young female staff members. Similarly, I had lots of experience with customers being sexually inappropriate and supervisors doing nothing to stop it as the customers were always seen as being more important.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Each employee should be treated with respect, regardless of whether they are checkout employees or supervisors. Similarly, young female members of staff should be reassured that if a customer says anything inappropriate to them, the supervisors will be there to back them up and ban certain members of the public from the store if necessary.

    Morrisons2020-01-10
  10. "good pay and good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrisons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very sociable as working with young people the same age. Good pay compared to other supermarkets. Would reccomend to students!

    Cons

    Honestly not much thats bad about the job other than the fact it can get boring but thats what you expect really.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing realistically to make it more exciting.

    Morrisons2019-12-24
Found 1547 reviews