Cover image for Morgan McKinley
Logo
See All Photos

Morgan McKinley

Engaged Employer

Morgan McKinley

Add a Review

Morgan McKinley Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated 10 Nov 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 143 of over 607 reviews
4.3
94% Recommend to a Friend
Morgan McKinley Chief Executive Officer  Gerald Fitzgerald
96% Approve of CEO

Found 13 of over 607 reviews

4.3
94%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley Chief Executive Officer  Gerald Fitzgerald
Gerald Fitzgerald
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance all round(in 33 reviews)

  • "I was working as a vendor at Microsoft through Morgan McKinley(in 61 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I'm happy with Morgan McKinley as my employer(in 21 reviews)

  • "Career progression is a mystical opportunity that doesn't exist unless you are there 6 years(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "high turnover"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Temporary Employee

      Nice place to work

      10 Nov 2021 - Staff Accountant in Cork
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice offices. City centre location.

      Cons

      High staff turnover. Complicated systems

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Can’t recommend

      15 May 2019 - Senior Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great for graduates, positive environment on some teams. Good exposure to clients, very little business development which gives the opportunity to achieve success quickly. Upbeat social environment and great parties

      Cons

      Abnormally high turnover from senior management down to the bottom. Growth plans are high yet the core of their business gets lost in the process. Company politics are the biggest problem, promotions are handed out loosely and reactively, often when consultants are not capable and cannot handle the pressure put on them by directors. Consultants and senior management disappear on leave and don’t return with unclear explanations creating a serious lack of transparency and fear of instability. A lot of faith put into new management which has resulted in almost whole teams being wiped out within a year.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      Global Head of HR

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. I’m disappointed to learn that your experience has fallen short of the standards we expect. We take your feedback seriously and I’d welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact me directly and confidentially at hgallagher@morganmckinley.com.

    3. Join the Morgan McKinley team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Take the good and bad

      2 Apr 2019 - Administrator in Cork
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekday only, helped to give me the experience for administration

      Cons

      Monthly pay, bad management, awful working environment, area manager didn't care. I worked in one of their sites near cork city, high turnover of staff due to bad management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      Global Head of HR

      Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not positive. It is unclear from your feedback if you worked in Morgan McKinley or on site with a client. If you could contact me in confidence to provide additional detail I would be grateful. Thank you, hgallagher@morganmckinley.com

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Experience but need to look at Retention Strategy

      16 Mar 2018 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here are the reason I stayed for the few months that I did. Its the culture that keeps people interested. Everyone was so helpful and its a great brand to have on your cv

      Cons

      The wrong people are being put in leadership roles. There is a real culture of micromanagement. Managers feel pressurized and are afraid of performance issues or high turnover so they control their team. Any issues raised are brushed under the carpet and this is why people leave.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      Global Head of HR

      Many thanks for your review. I'm keen to understand your feedback in more detail. please contact me confidentially at hgallagher@morganmckinley.ie

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Honest Review, I really enjoyed my time at MMK and sad it didn't work out. Would recommend them for sure.

      1 Apr 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close knit teams, which is good as there really is a good culture feel. Everyone in there was helpful, made suggestions and helps out, candidate sharing not hoarding, engaging and friendly - nights out organised, team games etc. They do have high expectations (and rightly so), passionate - really hard working for the benefit of the client which is so under rated - not a bunch of cow-boys, lovely office and working environment, great training - really intuitive and engaging - management and consultants run them so you know its from people actually doing your job training you, flexibility and ability to work from home was under rated - especially in current times. Experienced leaders and consultants who know the market really well, have some close relationships with clients meaning good access to roles (in my case this was true). Revised commission structure is good. As always focuses on performance = rewards which is good, but allows you to earn from day one.

      Cons

      Tend to focus only on the positives ("positive news only please"), which can be difficult in hard times - a bit of realism to staff would go along way if people are really struggling with market conditions I think it would help to hear empathy in relation to that. Although I understand that positive news is important for team morale. When someone is struggling although management say the right things I didn't feel they worked properly to help fix them (this could be a clash of personality styles or something else), maybe it was that it didn't sink in until it was too late. Pretty cut throat, feel like you are only good as your last deal. Feel like peoples past achievements are forgotten about or overlooked if things change/take a downturn. Not sure where things can go long term for career progression due to lots of managers, unsure of their structure long term even with the revised pathway to success? Apparently some people aren't happy with the revised plans, could result in them earning less money. Think there is a relatively high turnover in a couple areas of the business, but mainly its stable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      Marketing Assistant

      Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts. We take on board your feedback and are grateful for this insight, in order to help us improve. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Morgan McKinley and wish you every success in your future.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It's ok

      3 Feb 2020 - Recruiter in Tokyo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - transparent commission schemes - some small events

      Cons

      - unclear career progression - micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team - fear strategies as a motivator tool

      1 person found this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      People Director

      Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback seriously, and I will be sharing your commentary with our senior team.

    8. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      High turnover, suspicious behaviour

      23 Jan 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of events and knowledge that is not shared equally

      Cons

      In my short time there I witnessed some very strange behaviour both inappropriate and illegal (even overheard someone mentioning they spike drinks). There is high turnover which the reviews would make you think not.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      People Director

      Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned to read about your experience and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in confidence in more detail. Please contact me directly and confidentially at awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk or by phone +44 (0)7917 838059.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      MMK HK review

      9 Jan 2019 - Recruiter in Admiralty
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good reputation in the market Nice colleague - corporate and professional - high quality in the market Strong PSL Good staff benefits Great place to grow by yourself

      Cons

      Stressful workplace Serious politics issue raised by the top management Top management is led by the MD to play small-group game - very high turnover rate Downsizing due to management issue

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Avoid!!

      25 Nov 2016 - Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Position of the office in Central London, decent salary

      Cons

      High turnover. The working hours can be very long. There is discrimination towards not English native speakers and racism. The Managers pretend they are nice to you, but then talk at your back.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      People Director

      Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed and concerned to read some of your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in confidence in more detail. Please contact me directly and confidentially awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk

    11. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Potential

      24 Aug 2015 -  in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good commission structure and training scheme, great people to work with and good central London based offices. Overall decent company benefits too.

      Cons

      Salary is often not in line with market benchmarks. Can be very long hours. Very high turnover amongst staff and not enough consistency across the business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Morgan McKinley Response

      People Director

      Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you have positively rated our people, training programme, commission plan and employee benefits. I very much hope that you have had the opportunity to discuss your experience further during your exit interview. We use this process to gain deep insight into people's time with Morgan McKinley and to drive change within our business. In addition, please feel free to contact me directly at awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Morgan McKinley Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Morgan McKinley? Share Your Experiences

    Morgan McKinley logo
    or

    Morgan McKinley Careers

    Cover image for Morgan McKinley

    Real People Great things happen when you’re free to be you. That’s why we foster an open, collaborative environment and provide the tools...More

    • Why join?
    • COVID-19
    • Opportunities
    • About us
    This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

    Reviews by Job Title

    Company Updates

    Logo

    Morgan McKinley

    1291 days ago

    5 effective ways to improve your mental health at work:
    Shared image - Top tips to improve your mental health at work | Morgan McKinley Careers
    Top tips to improve your mental health at work | Morgan McKinley Careers
    glassdoor.com
    See all

    Morgan McKinley Photos

    + Add Photo
    Morgan McKinley photo of: Quarterly Stars lunch and golf UK
    Morgan McKinley photo of: Well done to our UK Quarterly Stars winners - enjoy your private dining and crazy golf!
    Morgan McKinley photo of: Well done to our speedy Sydney runners
    Morgan McKinley photo of: Volunteering day to raise environmental protection awareness
    Morgan McKinley photo of: What a line up for birthday hugs!
    Morgan McKinley photo of: IT Recruitment Team Cork take a trip to Ballyhass Lakes
    Morgan McKinley photo of: Leadership meeting with our Cork, Waterford &amp; Limerick teams
    See All Photos

    Morgan McKinley Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Robert Walters Logo
    Robert Walters

    4.0

    1,118 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 607 Morgan McKinley reviews submitted anonymously by Morgan McKinley employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Morgan McKinley is right for you.