Morgan McKinley Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Morgan McKinley Reviews

Updated 21 April 2018
216 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley CEO Aldagh McDonogh
Aldagh McDonogh
12 Ratings

216 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Very good work-life balance by keeping admin/meetings to a reasonable level (in 13 reviews)

  • There is a great working environment and access to further training if you need it (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • Turnover is high for these reasons alone, as it's a good place to work (in 10 reviews)

  • Can be challenging to achieve a work life balance (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Growth and Innovation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Partner in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Business Partner in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Dynamic, ever changing, up to the minute, leader not a follower, trend setter, variety

    Cons

    Ever changing - you need the right attitude to work in an ever changing environment

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, keep changing and growing and learning, never stand still.


  2. "Exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cork
    Current Employee - Manager in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Promotes a healthy work-life balance, is always changing and innovative, sets out clear career paths for employees, good company culture and work environment

    Cons

    All of the sweet treats - maybe start using fruit baskets ;)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive culture and the focus on staff

    Morgan McKinley Response

    9 Apr 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're really happy to hear how well you rate our culture and career paths. Great idea about the fruit! We'll pass on the suggestion to the local office manager. We... More

  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    Fun culture and team environment

    Cons

    Long hours but that is normal in any recruitment firm

    Morgan McKinley Response

    26 Mar 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for sharing your feedback on your time at Morgan McKinley. We wish you all the best for the future.


  4. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    People,people, people and the culture of growth

    Cons

    Didn't work there long enough to give a fair comment.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    23 Mar 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We agree - it's all about our people!!


  5. "A great company with ambition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Really great culture - fantastic opportunities for career development. Great recognition programmes -the go beyond trips are really spectacular. A warm and friendly environment. If you work hard here you will do very well.

    Cons

    Lots going on so it can be a very busy place to be with a fast pace, this adds to the dynamic nature of the business in a positive way but could be overwhelming for some.

    Advice to Management

    Keep developing people, continue to engage and listen. Keep the culture strong - this is MMK's USP.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    23 Mar 2018 – Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks very much for your review. It's great to hear how positively you rate our winning culture, rewards and recognition programmes . We wish you a long and successful career with Morgan McKinley!... More


  6. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A company with a great culture which supports career growth and development .

    Cons

    I cant think of any

    Morgan McKinley Response

    3 Apr 2018 – Global Head of HR

    Thanks for your very positive feedback on working at Morgan McKinley! Wishing you the very best in your career in MMK.


  7. "Great Experience but need to look at Retention Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people here are the reason I stayed for the few months that I did. Its the culture that keeps people interested. Everyone was so helpful and its a great brand to have on your cv

    Cons

    The wrong people are being put in leadership roles. There is a real culture of micromanagement. Managers feel pressurized and are afraid of performance issues or high turnover so they control their team. Any issues raised are brushed under the carpet and this is why people leave.

    Advice to Management

    Seriously consider who you promote to management level. Ensure that they are leaders and know how to motivate their staff not push them away

    Morgan McKinley Response

    3 Apr 2018 – Global Head of HR

    Many thanks for your review. I'm keen to understand your feedback in more detail. please contact me confidentially at hgallagher@morganmckinley.ie

  8. "Good business but strategy doesn't match reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Manager in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are a lot of little benefits like free food or drinks on a Friday. Also, if you're a top performer you get nights away in 5 star hotels and financially can be very well rewarded.
    The location is excellent and generally most of the people that work here are really nice and helpful. It's a fantastic place to start a career in recruitment and/or HR.

    Cons

    There is a disconnect between senior leadership and consultants. They have no idea about the real reasons people leave and will always look to blame external conditions rather than themselves. People leave because of people.
    There's a big push for the digitization of the business, which I can understand in terms of being at the forefront of technology. But if the same investment and time was put into developing the people in the business, they would be far more successful and have a higher employee retention rate.

    Advice to Management

    Senior leaders should be out on the floor more and become more visible and approachable.
    Stop driving KPI's and actually engage with staff to have them drive numbers that really matter to revenue growth. Too much time spent by consultants on doing things purely to hit KPI's and keep managers off their back's.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    3 Apr 2018 – Global Head of HR

    Thank you for your review. I'm keen to understand your feedback and would value the opportunity to have a confidential discussion to discuss same. We are a people business and driving a winning... More


  9. "First Year in Morgan McKinley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Limerick, Co. Limerick
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Limerick, Co. Limerick
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent Training, Good Support Network, Friendly Atomosphere

    Cons

    Some policies should be gotten rid of. Doesn't allow you to be successful in the first year, No health insurance

    Advice to Management

    All perm employees should have perm health care cover after 6 months probation

    Morgan McKinley Response

    14 Nov 2017 – Global Head of HR

    Hi there - thanks for your valued review. It's great to hear your positive feedback about the training, support network and atmosphere in the office. In relation to your comments around policies... More


  10. "Overall, good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good atmosphere within the office.

    Cons

    A lot of overtime.

    Morgan McKinley Response

    14 Nov 2017 – Global Head of HR

    Hi there - thanks for your valued review. It's great to hear your positive feedback about the atmosphere in the office. Having a good work life blend is really important so if there is something we... More


Showing 216 of 226 reviews
Reset Filters