Monsoon Accessorize Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Monsoon Accessorize Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Monsoon Accessorize Interim CEO Paul Allen (no image)
Paul Allen
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company looks after you really well , amazing staff discount , when you start you have an option to pick when you work(in 48 reviews)

  • "Good discount 70% on most items(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Un realistic expectations from head office - e(in 14 reviews)

  • "Rotas that favours managers best friend(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, great team enthusiasm and good management , loved my time here

    Cons

    Not very many opportunities to progress in the company

    Monsoon Accessorize2019-10-09
  2. "Monsoon Accessorize - Key Holder/Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Key Holder/Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Main Pros I felt where: - Opportunities to progress - Valued for your work - Great pay for part time college job - in Ireland not sure about UK.' - Great employee atmosphere - No micromanaging - opportunity to be proactive and excell. - Interesting job as have opportunity to work in all aspects of retail and not just one designated area. e.g. you will not work on the till only, which can get boring. You have the opportunity to do merchandising, stock preparation, sale prerpartion, window displays, admistrative work (cash up, etc if promoted) etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    Cons I found include: - Pay: While they pay well in terms of hourly rate, it is very rarely that they pay you the correct amount and then you have to hound them for it and might not get it for a couple months after. - Management are not well trained in terms of Human Resources and how to properly treat/discipline or encourage employees. While i found many cons, the people in the store I worked with where the main and underlying reason why I stayed for so long.

    Show More
    Monsoon Accessorize2019-10-21
  3. "Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Limerick, Limerick
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monsoon Accessorize part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Meeting new people Achieving targets

    Cons

    Too much pressure on floor staff Shop floor is ran down Unrealistic targets

    Monsoon Accessorize2019-07-23
  4. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Monsoon Accessorize part-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and friendly staff

    Cons

    Gets warm quickly on the shop floor

    Advice to Management

    Doing great

    Monsoon Accessorize2019-07-09
  5. "Sup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, holidays, sick pay, great product, freedom in merchandising

    Cons

    Cutting hours means hard to keep up team morale

    Monsoon Accessorize2019-07-06
  6. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Galway

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good part time job with short work shifts

    Cons

    Limited career progression for general workers

    Monsoon Accessorize2019-04-28
  7. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sligo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount , some of the girls were nice .

    Cons

    Manager having a mental breakdown every day in front of employees. Unfriendly judgmental environment

    Advice to Management

    Shake it up. Keep your crying behind closed doors . Stop making presumptions about your employees.

    Monsoon Accessorize2018-09-23
  8. "Repetitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize for more than 5 years

    Pros

    75% discount on clothing 1 hour lunch break Nice colleagues Great to work with nice clothing Regular customers appreciate you more than management does

    Cons

    Long hours, unrewarding work, terrible atmosphere, manager frightens her staff, unfair rota system, management have favourite staff members, checkout systems are forever breaking down

    Advice to Management

    Don’t take your staff for granted

    Monsoon Accessorize2018-03-15
  9. "Part Time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, flexible on hours

    Cons

    High staff turnover, which reflected badly on management

    Advice to Management

    Ring references before hiring

    Monsoon Accessorize2017-12-09
  10. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monsoon Accessorize

    Pros

    Staff Discounts Flexible hours Management team in store

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets Outdated attribution methods Seasonal sales put unnecessary pressure on team

    Monsoon Accessorize2016-09-13
Found 356 reviews