Mollie Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Mollie Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 26 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Mollie CEO  (no image)
0 Ratings
  1. "A very nice place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company where the quality of the product matters. This means that we strive to write the best possible code. Always with cheerfull code-reviews, pointing out where we can do better. Test cases are encouraged. Also, this is a place where we bring new ideas and they might get accepted easily if they are proven good. Besides the coding part, the fact that we can ask for the hardware that we like is something... precious (I got the mouse that I liked, a big screen, the most recent MacBook Pro, a nice char, a sit-stand desk, etc). The company is also very supportive in many different ways. The HR is always helpful, more than once I had some personal requests that helped me out very quickly. The lunch is always fresh and very nice. Our product owner is very nice and always helps the team to keep up with the goals.

    Show More

    Cons

    The business is very broad. So it takes some time to get "productive". There is a lot of rules, partners, providers, payment stuff involved, that we must know to start coding. Personally, (and it is an unusual opinion) I don't like the office location, right in the middle of the city. I would prefer if it was in a less crowded place. We don't have a very strict agile environment. But I feel like, it is working... fine.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the freedom of the developers to suggest and to come up with the solutions. Always invest in training, this helps a lot to keep nerds minds motivated. Take care to grow sustainably. I really like to meet the owners in the kitchen and to talk about the company. Keep up this channel always open.

    Mollie2019-08-26
  2. "A great company with high expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mollie offers a great benefit package, as well as a fun and dynamic environment where both personal and professional growth are not only encouraged, but also carefully planned with the assistance of and executed together with direct management and direct team mates. This creates an environment where everyone is working on the same goals but, at the same time, on their own experience, making every day both... challenging and entertaining. Feedback to others is always welcome and encouraged and problems get often solved very swiftly and without too much "office politics".

    Show More

    Cons

    Mollie has been around for a while, and it operates in a very complex environment. Some aspects of the company might be a little overwhelming in the beginning.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on keeping the current vibe and avoid scaling-related destruction of the culture

    Mollie2019-08-19
  3. "Mollie offers challenging projects combined with a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture Mollie allows and encourages you to grow, both as a person and in your field. If you have a good idea, you have the room to bring it forward. When something goes wrong, it is always about how the team can learn from it, and never about who made the mistake. The company consists of mostly young and talented individuals who strive for the best. Mollie appreciates the effort we put into the work, by... hosting summer events, offering company merchandise and perks such as having a day off on your birthday. Technical challenges Given the rapid growth that Mollie is experiencing, there are a lot of technical challenges that we work on. Since you are surrounded by engineers who have a lot of knowledge, there is always an opportunity to learn. Furthermore, if you show that you have the knowledge and skills, you can be given opportunities to grow into a new position, for example a leadership position.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing fast. Therefore, the start-up atmosphere slowly gives way to a more bureaucratic environment, in which you lose grip on some of the teams in the company. The future will tell how that will influence the company culture as it is now. Furthermore, the fast growth and commercial projects that go along with it sometimes collide with projects that would improve core features and engineer... happiness. From a business perspective this is understandable, but maintaining the core of your operation is also important.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to keep an eye on the company culture as the size of the company grows. It is important to keep everyone united and in touch with each other. Invest in learning opportunities for the employees.

    Mollie2019-08-08
  4. "Really enjoyable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working in the engineering department means solving technical issues and challenges, but it's never just that. The company really encourages us to take ownership, so we always need to figure out the projects we're working on by talking to finance, product owners, other developers and in the end always deciding by ourselves. There's a lot of flexibility, the only thing needed to have in mind is to deliver good... quality. Besides of developing a product I believe in, it's really nice to notice that everybody in here does always even more that his job requires, which is really inspiring.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only negative thing I can think of is the rapid growth in employees, which makes it a bit busier and the atmosphere a bit less familiar. (for now)

    Advice to Management

    -

    Mollie2019-08-07
  5. "I'm really enjoying work at Mollie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the best things I like about Mollie is that only very few people are leaving. I think this says a lot about the work and culture. Over the past years I've seen Mollie grow from less than 20 employees to over 120, but it definitely doesn't feel out of control or too fast. In the engineering department you notice that the company is more a tech company than a financial company. We are encouraged to work with... cool and new technologies. Developer happiness is a valid argument to start a project. There are lots of interesting technical challenges, like keeping all processes working with the growing business or building new products.

    Show More

    Cons

    The growth of Mollie gives a lot of opportunities to all employees, but I feel like you really have to push yourself forward to make steps in your career. Still junior developers becoming team lead because they want it, but very skilled employees staying where they are because they aren't taking any initiative to take a next step. You also have to create your own next position, instead of someone higher in the... organisation thinking about how to structure the departments and then trying to find the best person for the position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to make clearer plans for the future, not only product wise but also for the organisation. Communicate these plans with the rest of the company, and give everyone the opportunity to show interest in a certain position. Keep showing appreciation for all employees, with nice parties, good snacks and enjoyable workplaces. I think you're doing great already, but sometimes it's difficult to scale this with the... growth in employees.

    Show More
    Mollie2019-06-17
  6. "Talented engineering team with lots of interesting challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engineering plays a vital role in the company's success since it's mostly a technical product. Your voice as an engineer counts at this company. The engineering teams feel like family. You are surrounded by talented, helpful, and positive engineers. People at Mollie often hang out together outside of work as well. There are ski trips and such being organised by the people regularly. With the rapid growth of... the company there's a lot to learn for engineers with regards to product scalability, security, maintainability and tooling. The engineering team leads are focused on helping you grow through career frameworks, personal coaching and such.

    Show More

    Cons

    As in any fast-growing company, there are some growing pains such as board indecisiveness.

    Mollie2019-06-08
  7. "From intern to professional software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Mentorship and continuous personal development are a given at Mollie - Freedom and ownership are engrained in the way of working - Career framework provides clear growing potential and goals - Flexible hours - The people are amazing

    Cons

    - The number of Mollies is growing faster than a few years ago, which comes with the necessary growing pains. These are tackled pretty well, though.

    Mollie2019-05-13
Found 7 reviews