Mollie Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Mollie Reviews

Updated 2 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mollie CEO  (no image)
1 Ratings
  1. "Recommend Mollie for sure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great vibe and company culture Worked in Payments before, def great choice joining Mollie API is solid and working great, which makes for more positive reactions and makes my job easier Recommend looking into job openings as company is growing

    Cons

    Cant think of any.

    Advice to Management

    na

    Mollie2019-06-25
  2. "I'm really enjoying work at Mollie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the best things I like about Mollie is that only very few people are leaving. I think this says a lot about the work and culture. Over the past years I've seen Mollie grow from less than 20 employees to over 120, but it definitely doesn't feel out of control or too fast. In the engineering department you notice that the company is more a tech company than a financial company. We are encouraged to work with... cool and new technologies. Developer happiness is a valid argument to start a project. There are lots of interesting technical challenges, like keeping all processes working with the growing business or building new products.

    Show More

    Cons

    The growth of Mollie gives a lot of opportunities to all employees, but I feel like you really have to push yourself forward to make steps in your career. Still junior developers becoming team lead because they want it, but very skilled employees staying where they are because they aren't taking any initiative to take a next step. You also have to create your own next position, instead of someone higher in the... organisation thinking about how to structure the departments and then trying to find the best person for the position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to make clearer plans for the future, not only product wise but also for the organisation. Communicate these plans with the rest of the company, and give everyone the opportunity to show interest in a certain position. Keep showing appreciation for all employees, with nice parties, good snacks and enjoyable workplaces. I think you're doing great already, but sometimes it's difficult to scale this with the... growth in employees.

    Show More
    Mollie2019-06-17
  3. "A company with a great culture and values that I believe in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HR Coordinator in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Freedom to manage your own time/working hours, including the ability to work from home. - Young, enthusiastic, like-minded people who enjoy working here. So there is a positive & productive climate. - People from all over the world, cultural diversity is something we can learn a lot from so I enjoy that. - Authenticity is the baseline, which results in people truly being themselves here. To be able to wear... clothes we like and feel like ourselves in at work results in confidence and the ability for people to show their identity/themselves. - Lunch is taking care of everyday with lots of different (healthy) things to choose from. The rest of the day you can always take some other (healthy) snacks from the kitchen. - Location; in the middle of Amsterdam on the beautiful canals in the 9 streets (we are moving in September but that building is going to be even more awesome).

    Show More

    Cons

    - The company is growing fast so the teams are quite divided by different levels in the building/ some teams are in the studios on the other side of the canal. So some people you only see at lunch (occasionally). Which results in people staying with their own floor/team with lunch/drinks etc. But in the new building that has already been taking care of. - Since the company is growing really fast the amount of new... people might be intimidating for the 'older generation'. It is hard to reach them sometimes because they are already set in their ways/ friends at work etc. and when a lot of new people come in I think people tend to stay with what they already know. Which I do not blame anyone at all, I think that is a natural thing to do. These things take time and people do really make an effort to make everyone feel welcome. The other side of it is that new people might clique together as well in the 'older generation of Mollies' their eyes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - The amount of people is growing fast. So invest in opportunities for people from different teams to work together or simply spend time together. I heard that in the new building there will be a lot of flex-places to work so that's a good start! - Change always comes with resistance so make sure you get the 'older generation' on board as well and give them time to adjust/ explain why things are changing. For new... people it is easier, because they don't know how it was before. - Continue the (mastery) culture there is now, which is a challenge when the company is growing. I think quite often the culture/ freedom/ fun things tend to go first because companies focus to much on making money and forget that the people make that happen. I think people are super motivated to work at Mollie at the moment. And I think that is because our basic needs are being met. Basic needs comes from one of my favourite theories in Organisational Psychology; the self-determination theory. Which states that people have 3 basic needs that, when they are met result in intrinsic motivation: Autonomy, competence and relatedness. Intrinsic motivation leads to an increase in performance. I think a big mistake growing companies make is that they take a way autonomy first to 'control' the growth. By, for example, making sure people clock their hours. Feeling autonomy to control when I come to work and do the tasks I need to do at the time I want to do it, gives me a lot of motivation. Feeling relatedness because we can wear our Mollie t-shirts together, lunch is taking care of where we can chat with each other, and parties/non work related activities are being organised makes me motivated. So even when we are growing, spend time and money to invest in these things to keep the positive and motivational climate there is now. And last but not least, feeling competent because the level of the work I do is being increased so it is challenging but not too challenging so I do not get overwhelmed by all the work but instead feel competent because I am learning. Make sure to keep looking at the people you already have and give them opportunities to grow, like you are doing now so we stay this motivated. We all know that motivated people perform best! Keep up the good work!

    Show More
    Mollie2019-06-11
  4. "Talented engineering team with lots of interesting challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engineering plays a vital role in the company's success since it's mostly a technical product. Your voice as an engineer counts at this company. The engineering teams feel like family. You are surrounded by talented, helpful, and positive engineers. People at Mollie often hang out together outside of work as well. There are ski trips and such being organised by the people regularly. With the rapid growth of... the company there's a lot to learn for engineers with regards to product scalability, security, maintainability and tooling. The engineering team leads are focused on helping you grow through career frameworks, personal coaching and such.

    Show More

    Cons

    As in any fast-growing company, there are some growing pains such as board indecisiveness.

    Mollie2019-06-08
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture - Growth opportunities - Development opportunities - Nice colleagues - Freedom

    Cons

    High growth organization can have some challenges that come along with constant change.

    Mollie2019-05-23
  6. "Great fast growing company with a fun culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Customer Support agents have the time and space to delve deeply and make customers happy - Freedom to work the way you like - Opportunities to grow within the company

    Cons

    - Scale-up growing pains: certain processes could use some professionalisation

    Advice to Management

    Even though we are a product-first company, we should always find ways to use the input we receive from our customers to build and improve the product.

    Mollie2019-05-14
  7. "From intern to professional software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Mentorship and continuous personal development are a given at Mollie - Freedom and ownership are engrained in the way of working - Career framework provides clear growing potential and goals - Flexible hours - The people are amazing

    Cons

    - The number of Mollies is growing faster than a few years ago, which comes with the necessary growing pains. These are tackled pretty well, though.

    Mollie2019-05-13
  8. "Great and fast moving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mollie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of freedom - Room for growth in any possible way - Take ownership and show them that you can do it, and you can make quick steps

    Cons

    - fast growth can sometimes create a little loss of focus - Product driven so sometimes commercial and development interest collide

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that product and commerciality don't collide but empower eachother. Make the bridge between product and the rest of the company as small as possible. (easy access to product owners)

    Mollie2019-05-06
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time

    Pros

    A lot of freedom and opportunity to grow, fostering an entrepreneurial mindset.

    Cons

    Nothing in particular really :)

    Mollie2019-04-30
  10. "Great company with enough space to make a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mollie full-time

    Pros

    Mollie is a fascinated company in the stage of “hyper growth” on the European market, so as an employee you are not limited by your job title which gives the opportunity to excel in varied tasks. Within Mollie you can get an opportunity to think big and small. On the one side, to think strategically by taking a step back and see the overall company goals, or the industry as a whole, then apply it to your work. On... the other side, to deep dive into the details.

    Show More

    Cons

    Company can benefit from a little bit more stable and more rigorous internal government processes.

    Mollie2019-05-09
Found 28 reviews