Michelin North America Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Michelin North America Reviews

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Michelin North America President  Alexis Garcin (no image)
Alexis Garcin
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not a good company to start your career because salary progression is terrible, even with promotions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Marketing Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most coworkers are easy to work with.

    Cons

    Reorganization and French oversight have extremely limited the career progression opportunities for Americans.

    Advice to Management

    Stop overloading employees without offering truly competitive pay.

    Michelin North America2020-01-03
  2. "More for Less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A lot of work and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Engineering management in Greenville is very political. Constant push to outsource engineering projects. All design and equipment decisions are made at corporate - one size fits all. Long hours, constant call ins at night, some very old and obsolete equipment. If I were a younger engineer, I would look for better opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Capital funding is managed very poorly - first half of year you have to beg for money, then from July on they throw project money at you but insist that everything has to be spent by year end. This happens every year. Impossible to plan.

    Michelin North America2020-01-02
  3. "Cash Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible and great people

    Cons

    A complex organization which makes it difficult to accomplish anything.

    Michelin North America2019-12-08
  4. "Michelin Machine Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Bridgewater, NS

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good benefits. - 12 hour shifts allow for many days off.

    Cons

    - Alternating between night and day shifts can be tough on the body. - Monotonous tasks.

    Michelin North America2019-12-06
  5. "Good place but the hours sucked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Reliability Technician 

    I worked at Michelin North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Weird rotating shift work when I was there

    Michelin North America2019-11-26
  6. "ICARE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    While there are opportunities to make improvements at every company, Michelin is committed to doing so. The company is focused on developing leadership based on the ICARE model. Inspiring Creating Trust Awareness Results Empowerment As the company evolves, the leadership is evolving with it. That’s a good thing.

    Cons

    Many managers and employees are still stuck in the “way it used to be”. People need to understand times are changing, and to stay competitive, we must evolve as employees.

    Advice to Management

    Too much still feels like it requires approval from France to make local and regional decisions. Also, don’t be afraid to help bad managers leave the company.

    Michelin North America2019-10-25
  7. "Excellent place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Michelin North America

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great work/life balance, good benefits, I feel that the company truly cares for their employees, great leadership, in my area pay is above average.

    Cons

    Communication between shops, the buddy system.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting employees based on if they’re in the “click” and promote them based on experience. Management is overlooking talent just to promote people that doesn’t deserve it and get rid of employees with poor performance.

    Michelin North America2019-10-24
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time

    Pros

    Higher pay than most in area and good benefits

    Cons

    Not much room to move up in maintenance.

    Michelin North America2019-10-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company for which to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IS Support in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits (used to be great). Solid company, great product, and I believe they really care about their people. They have been at the forefront of embracing diversity and realizing a mix of beliefs and ideas produce the best results.

    Cons

    Benefits are not as good as they were when I started working for them.

    Advice to Management

    Make Michelin a premium place to work. Make better choices with the capital expense money. A lot of the infrastructure (building and manufacturing equipment) need updating.

    Michelin North America2019-10-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad managers!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Michelin North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable, but not much else

    Cons

    no one is happy, bad managers, benefits are terrible these days.

    Michelin North America2019-11-05
Found 389 reviews