MiHomecare Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

MiHomecare Reviews

Updated 10 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MiHomecare Executive Chairman  Jonathan Vellacott (no image)
Jonathan Vellacott
2 Ratings
  1. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Recruiter in Finchley, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MiHomecare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits for all employees include a contributory pension, 28 days holiday, Eye Care vouchers annual, Employee Assistance Program offering free legal advice, free counselling, low priced cinema tickets & many online lifestyle offers, Ride2Work scheme, nationally recognised qualifications in Health & Social Care

    Cons

    Communications to employees should be more informative, timely & collaborative

    Advice to Management

    Allow smart ideas to flourish

    MiHomecare2019-10-10
  2. "Intense days, too much pressure to do more hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MiHomecare part-time

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay. Good if you have kids or study part time.

    Cons

    Bad communication between management and care assistants. Too much pressure to take on extra hours and at times it becomes difficult to juggle a good work-life balance. Not enough breaks. At time there is no time for lunch and management regard travel time as a break and often do not give you sufficient travel time. Often service users are given times for visits that do not coincide with their day to day routine.

    MiHomecare2019-09-16
  3. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MiHomecare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Team work. Big drive to train people to do their job efficiently.

    Cons

    There is no real career progression.

    Advice to Management

    Better talent management.

    MiHomecare2019-08-22
  4. "A company committed to high quality care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MiHomecare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked with MiHomecare for over a decade. One of the (many) reasons for my length of service is the commitment to high quality care shown daily across the organisation, at all levels. MiHomecare's Support Workers really do make a genuine difference to the lives of the people they support, and their contribution is celebrated within the company through our internal awards and recognition scheme. I was paid by MiHomecare to undertake two fully funded social care qualifications (an NVQ Level 4 and a QCF Level 5). My work-life balance also benefited immensely from flexible working arrangements.

    Show More

    Cons

    N/A. I'll provide an update after the next 10 years.

    MiHomecare2019-07-02
  5. "I can’t believe people work like this."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Coordinator in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MiHomecare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview was straight forward and the office was in a good location.

    Cons

    No personal life. Everyone is miserable/ depressed and has plans to leave. Unpaid overtime. Chaotic atmosphere. Unprofessional staff (colleagues swearing and shouting at each other) Lack of training (you will only be trained in how to use the software required, you’ll have to figure the rest out on your own) You will never have any lunch breaks so if you’re thinking of applying, bring a packed lunch. I resigned within a month with no notice- let that be the indicator of how bad it was.

    Show More
    MiHomecare2019-06-08
  6. "Impolite staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MiHomecare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, trainings and nothing else

    Cons

    The administration is a total mess. They are very bitter towards people who actually work there. I attended a training which I was not paid for because of some miscommunication from the staff. I wrote to them asking for a compensation and after a month, one of the staff contacted me. I asked if we could liaise via email and he started to raise his voice at me. Was really shocked by such an unprofessional response.

    Advice to Management

    Could be professional and organised

    MiHomecare2019-04-10
  7. "Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carer in Barnet, England

    I worked at MiHomecare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The cares you meet are lovely and so are the service users

    Cons

    Worked for the company when it was called Ark, the company name may have changed but the company hasn't. Over work and under pay staff Don't let you know that you only get paid while you are at the service users house (sometimes your only at one for 15 minutes) and not for a full days work

    MiHomecare2019-03-11
  8. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MiHomecare

    Pros

    helping out the elderly and understanding their needs

    Cons

    communication with the managers is very weak

    Advice to Management

    more involved and give feedback more often

    MiHomecare2018-09-22
  9. "Bad Experience - Worst place i have worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MiHomecare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Working from home 2. Onsite parking

    Cons

    1. Very high turnover 2. Poor treatment of staff by management 3. Unprofessional management 4. Always under pressure to deliver but no support or direction from management 5. No work life balance 6. Sink or swim culture

    Advice to Management

    Review the cons above and i'm sure turnover will go down dramatically. You spend the time and money to recruit staff but you don't know how to support / keep your staff.

    MiHomecare2018-08-16
  10. "Care Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MiHomecare full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours get to work local

    Cons

    Zero hour contract hours not guaranteed.

    MiHomecare2018-06-20
Found 39 reviews