Mercy Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated 4 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Mercy President and CEO Lynn Britton (no image)
Lynn Britton
322 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There has been recent turnover of upper management of the department(in 32 reviews)

  • "Low pay, sometimes grueling work,(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pca in Creve Coeur, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning environment, chance to see a lot of things

    Cons

    Low pay, sometimes grueling work,

    Mercy Response

    March 9, 2020Executive Assistant

    Thank you so much for taking your time to talk about your experience at Mercy. We are listening and really appreciate the feedback! Our compensation team is always reviewing compensation rates to ensure our co-workers are being rewarded for the work they do. As always, we also encourage you to share feedback with your direct manager and through surveys. Please feel free to email us at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net with any additional comments you may wish to share. We hope you have a blessed day!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some great people. Though that could be said of any employer...

    Cons

    Executive leadership, lack of meaningful investment in teams, very low pay, below average raises, no bonuses until director level and most importantly; this company has lost its way. The mission that is preached is not practiced. Those that make it to director level and above have done so (for the most part and there are certainly exceptions) by climbing over people rather than by earning it.

    Continue reading

    Mercy Response

    February 10, 2020Executive Assistant

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate the comment regarding the great people we have working at Mercy - we couldn't agree more! As a non-profit ministry following the path of the Sisters of Mercy, we strive to create equal opportunities for all co-workers and remain competitive with our compensation and benefit packages. Our compensation team is always reviewing compensation packages to ensure our co-workers are being rewarded for the work they do. As always, we encourage our co-workers to share feedback with their direct manager and through surveys. Please reach out to mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net with any further comments or suggestions you wish to share. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review!


  3. "as good as anywhere in town, by design"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice facility and good equipment available to work with

    Cons

    low pay, over worked and understaffed

    Continue reading

    Mercy Response

    October 22, 2019Executive Assistant

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate and value all of our co-worker’s feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and you are a valued part of this process. Our compensation team is always reviewing compensation to ensure our co-workers are being rewarded for the work they do. As always, we also encourage you to share feedback with your direct manager and through surveys. If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net. Thanks so much!

  4. "Stna"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - STNA in Lorain, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Local. Staff are great

    Cons

    Impersonal Management Low pay Long hours Pro

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, greatly understaffed."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Emergency Room Technician in Springfield, MO

    I worked at Mercy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible Hours - Bonus shifts for extra money - Good people and doctors - Great learning experience if you're going for allied health / med school

    Cons

    - Horribly understaffed - Low pay for the amount of stress - Holiday / Nights / Weekends - More times than I can count I would be the only, or one of two, techs on the floor. Everyone is stressed out because there are a ton of people in the lobby and everyone expects the techs to do the work they don't want to do.

    Mercy Response

    October 14, 2019Executive Assistant

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your time at Mercy. Your helpful comments are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of how we operate moving forward. In addition, we appreciate you taking the time to work nights, holidays, and weekends. We know that time away from your family is not easy and we can't thank you enough for taking those shifts. The work you do makes an incredible impact on the whole Springfield community. Thank you for the work you do here at Mercy! Please reach out to mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net with any further comments or suggestions you wish to share. We hope you have a blessed day!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place I have ever worked."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Clerk in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good. Easy hiring process.

    Cons

    Management on my unit did not listen to their employees. Workload was outrageous. Mold in facility. Low pay. Management talking about their employees very poorly to co-workers and other management.

    Mercy Response

    September 9, 2019Executive Assistant

    The best way to grow and get better is to listen, so please know we value your detailed feedback! And we truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out and help us improve. Our team will carefully look into this matter. Please reach out to mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net with any further comments or suggestions you wish to share.

  7. "Healthcare industry"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Philosophy and type of workers the company attracts

    Cons

    Low pay for nursing staff

    Continue reading
  8. "Assembly line with a smile"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orthopedics in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefit package. Altruistic organizational mission and goals. Great fit for personality types high in conformity, respect for authority, and obedience.

    Cons

    Rigid top down management and all that goes with it. Low pay to work ratio compared to competitors. Authoritarian organizational culture.

    Continue reading

    Mercy Response

    June 3, 2019Executive Assistant

    First, let us thank you for your 10 years of service to Mercy! We appreciate the feedback and thoughts you have shared and we would like to understand more. After spending so many years of dedication and service to our ministry, you have been a part of much transformation in the last decade. Please reach out to us at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net.

  9. "Ems Mercer"

    2.0
    Former Contractor - EMT-B 

    I worked at Mercy

    Pros

    Fun environment good crowd fun

    Cons

    Low pay low pay plow pay

  10. "mercy hospital operating room Registered nurse"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great doctors, flexible scheduling for students

    Cons

    frequent staffing shortage & low pay compared to other employers

    Continue reading

    Mercy Response

    April 29, 2019Executive Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Your feedback helps us get better. Our CEO, Lynn Britton, is a huge advocate on providing flexible scheduling for students because he knows that working and going to school simultaneously is definitely not an easy task! Despite being a non-profit healthcare ministry, we provide many paid student internships in an effort to create equal opportunities for all co-workers, regardless of their level of experience. We continuously review our compensation packages in comparison to other employers in the area, as well as our industry, to ensure we are providing the most competitive rates for our co-workers. If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net.

Found 31 reviews