McKinsey & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

McKinsey & Company Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
McKinsey & Company CEO Kevin Sneader
Kevin Sneader
535 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with incredibly smart people who are always pushing you to get to a better answer(in 218 reviews)

  • "Great people who are willing to mentor you(in 213 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic people and interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Work with some of the most interesting and ambitious people around. Interesting problems with (predominantly) interesting clients.

    Cons

    Long hours are a given, and they increase in direct proportion to your tenure.

    McKinsey & Company2019-07-25
  2. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great positive experience on many dimensions

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about experience

    McKinsey & Company2019-04-25
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Best place to start the career, Good experience!

    Cons

    Not get to meet the consultants in person

    McKinsey & Company2019-02-15
  4. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Solid exposure and work experience

    Cons

    Terrible lifestyle and travel every week

    McKinsey & Company2018-12-25
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not sustainable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great experience workig with bright people on fascinating engagements. We had good choice over engagements to work on and unparalleled learning opportunities

    Cons

    McKinsey is survival of the fitest. Those who progress are not always the best or most inspirational but those who are willing to consistently work 80 hours a week at the sacrifice of family time. Office barometers are based off an average week of 65 hours (in reality 75 for most junior folk) where anything less is celebrated. This is not a healthy norm and this is the price (along with travel) that you pay for the experience

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2016-09-08
  6. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management Consultant Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company

    Pros

    Great corporate culture and supportive environment to learn. Tons of network expertise, fantastic long-term career opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours - tough on lifestyle

    McKinsey & Company2015-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Business Presentation Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Presentation Specialist in Chennai
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    . Amazing work culture . Flexibility of work . Overtime compensation

    Cons

    . None that I can think of right now

    McKinsey & Company2019-12-09
  8. "Fantastic place to learn, unparalleled growth and mentorship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Deeply inspiring colleagues, the most difficult/complex/interesting problems, high professional growth, very steep curve for compensation, extremely generous benefits package

    Cons

    Hours can be long (65-75ish)

    McKinsey & Company2019-12-11
  9. "Briefly review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highest salary. Good for career growth.

    Cons

    Very high pressure and quite stressful

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2019-12-09
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Busineess Analyst 

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Leadership Interesting projects fro the start

    Cons

    Work life balance Can be stressful

    McKinsey & Company2019-12-05
Found 3711 reviews