Find jobs for Software Engineer

McAfee Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
McAfee President and CEO Peter Leav (no image)
Peter Leav
0 Rating
  1. "Good place to work but lot of bureaucracy"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    snacks once a week, free coffee, lovely people

    Cons

    less salary, people are working from long time do not want upgrade to system with the latest technology, lots of legacy work.

    McAfee2020-04-21
  2. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Friendly people 2. Huge opportunities for learning and progression 3. Engaging managers who care about your future success 4. Fun projects

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Continue reading
    McAfee2019-09-03
  3. "Interesting Company with strengths and weaknesses"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, with a diverse workforce

    Cons

    Weak engineering management, resulting in significantly varying product quality

    Continue reading
    McAfee2019-07-29
  4. "Great company with great leadership"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Test Engineer in Cross Mahon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee for less than a year

    Pros

    The office layout is flat and you can approach anyone with any questions or concerns. You choose your hours. There were times where I would come in early or late and as long as I do my hours, there's no problem which is fantastic when you're sitting in traffic and not worrying about being late. Also free cakes on a Friday were amazing!

    Cons

    Large company so it can be easy to get lost in the crowd. Coincidentally, the amount of work they had me do could have been more. Some days I felt like I wasn't needed.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Cork is cool - You can keep track of bad Dev/Ops, to make sure you will never meet them again and/or join the company they will go to in the future

    Cons

    - Poor management - Too many so-called "architects" with Medieval period knowledge/experience - Top guys are leaving the company - Sometimes it felt like a money laundering company

    McAfee2018-10-14
  6. "Not challenging"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive and relaxed environment. Good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Not challenging. The most is for devops. If you are used to complex stuff will get bored easily.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2018-04-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Very poor Management!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time

    Pros

    - Cork is really a nice city. - People always willing to help.

    Cons

    - no roadmap or vision. - Managers use to say: "A lot of projects here" but engineers with nothing to do! - Very poor management (from middle managers to directors included). - The ratio between managers and engineers is ridiculous (almost 1:1).

    Continue reading
    McAfee2017-10-21
  8. "Good place to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very diverse teams, open leadership, nice atmosphere, great learning environment

    Cons

    too many changes, salaries are okay but are not best as compared to rest of market.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2016-09-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "A good place to work if you're in the right team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee

    Pros

    Nice offices, professional environment, some interesting projects

    Cons

    You may be hired for one position and end up working in a different department 6 months down the road

    Continue reading
    McAfee2015-08-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good company with very good work and life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Mahon
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Work / Life Balance. Nice career opportunities Open culture Freedom

    Cons

    No fringe benefits offered at work place.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2012-11-01
Found 264 reviews