Find jobs for Software Developer

McAfee Software Developer Reviews

Updated 21 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
McAfee President and CEO Peter Leav (no image)
Peter Leav
0 Rating
  1. "Good place to work but lot of bureaucracy"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    snacks once a week, free coffee, lovely people

    Cons

    less salary, people are working from long time do not want upgrade to system with the latest technology, lots of legacy work.

    McAfee2020-04-21
  2. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Friendly people 2. Huge opportunities for learning and progression 3. Engaging managers who care about your future success 4. Fun projects

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Continue reading
    McAfee2019-09-03
  3. "Great company with great leadership"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Test Engineer in Cross Mahon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee for less than a year

    Pros

    The office layout is flat and you can approach anyone with any questions or concerns. You choose your hours. There were times where I would come in early or late and as long as I do my hours, there's no problem which is fantastic when you're sitting in traffic and not worrying about being late. Also free cakes on a Friday were amazing!

    Cons

    Large company so it can be easy to get lost in the crowd. Coincidentally, the amount of work they had me do could have been more. Some days I felt like I wasn't needed.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2019-07-29
  4. "Interesting Company with strengths and weaknesses"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, with a diverse workforce

    Cons

    Weak engineering management, resulting in significantly varying product quality

    Continue reading
    McAfee2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Very poor Management!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time

    Pros

    - Cork is really a nice city. - People always willing to help.

    Cons

    - no roadmap or vision. - Managers use to say: "A lot of projects here" but engineers with nothing to do! - Very poor management (from middle managers to directors included). - The ratio between managers and engineers is ridiculous (almost 1:1).

    Continue reading
    McAfee2017-10-21
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Not a "Great place to work""

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can work from home. Cork is a nice place to live.

    Cons

    Regular reorgs and management changes. Not as nice place to work since intel integeration. Lots of uncertainty given large intel layoffs. Technology used and development environments are old fashioned. Athmosphere within the office is negitive overall.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2016-05-04
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A good place to work if you're in the right team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee

    Pros

    Nice offices, professional environment, some interesting projects

    Cons

    You may be hired for one position and end up working in a different department 6 months down the road

    Continue reading
    McAfee2015-08-06
  8. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good flexibility , innovation , good growth path

    Cons

    Micro managed teams, raises not good

    McAfee2020-02-20
  9. "Great place to work with nice people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Córdoba
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    McAfee is a leading company in the software security industry. It is a great place to work since you have the latest information about what's going on on the business world. McAfee has great benefits and great politics.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits applies depending on the project. The company culture can't coexist the local social culture.

    McAfee2020-02-14
  10. "work at McAfee"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer 

    I worked at McAfee full-time

    Pros

    Good multicultural environment. Depending on Team, one can work on various technologies.

    Cons

    none i can think of

    McAfee2020-01-06
Found 115 reviews