McAfee Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

McAfee Software Developer Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
McAfee CEO Christopher Young (no image)
Christopher Young
23 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Friendly people 2. Huge opportunities for learning and progression 3. Engaging managers who care about your future success 4. Fun projects

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good job everyone!

    McAfee2019-09-03
  2. "Interesting Company with strengths and weaknesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, with a diverse workforce

    Cons

    Weak engineering management, resulting in significantly varying product quality

    Advice to Management

    Develop good processes and ensure that they are followed

    McAfee2019-07-29
  3. "Great company with great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Test Engineer in Cross Mahon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee for less than a year

    Pros

    The office layout is flat and you can approach anyone with any questions or concerns. You choose your hours. There were times where I would come in early or late and as long as I do my hours, there's no problem which is fantastic when you're sitting in traffic and not worrying about being late. Also free cakes on a Friday were amazing!

    Cons

    Large company so it can be easy to get lost in the crowd. Coincidentally, the amount of work they had me do could have been more. Some days I felt like I wasn't needed.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your interns with more.

    McAfee2019-07-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Very poor Management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time

    Pros

    - Cork is really a nice city. - People always willing to help.

    Cons

    - no roadmap or vision. - Managers use to say: "A lot of projects here" but engineers with nothing to do! - Very poor management (from middle managers to directors included). - The ratio between managers and engineers is ridiculous (almost 1:1).

    Advice to Management

    - Start to collect yearly feedbacks to evaluate (and improve) your management, you'll have a lot of fun! - I suggest: leadership by example. Too many talk with no concrete actions.

    McAfee2017-10-21
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Not a "Great place to work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can work from home. Cork is a nice place to live.

    Cons

    Regular reorgs and management changes. Not as nice place to work since intel integeration. Lots of uncertainty given large intel layoffs. Technology used and development environments are old fashioned. Athmosphere within the office is negitive overall.

    Advice to Management

    None, most managers are doing there best to react and deal with regular changes in direction and the restrictions of trying to deliver sw within a large hardware company.

    McAfee2016-05-04
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A good place to work if you're in the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee

    Pros

    Nice offices, professional environment, some interesting projects

    Cons

    You may be hired for one position and end up working in a different department 6 months down the road

    Advice to Management

    Do not change direction twice a year

    McAfee2015-08-06
  7. "Flexible working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McAfee for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working environment + free drink

    Cons

    Nothing in my mind ...

    McAfee2019-11-03
  8. "Software Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work CULTURE MEDICAL benefits free shuttle service

    Cons

    Less coding and designing Work. Mostly maintanance Work. No new development.

    McAfee2019-11-11
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer 

    I worked at McAfee full-time

    Pros

    1: Collaborative Work Environment 2: Work Life Balance

    Cons

    1: Repetitive work 2: Company Politics

    McAfee2019-10-30
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing at this moment i have seen.

    McAfee2019-10-13
Found 108 reviews