McAfee Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Senior Software Engineer

McAfee Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
McAfee CEO Christopher Young (no image)
Christopher Young
14 Ratings
  1. "Not challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive and relaxed environment. Good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Not challenging. The most is for devops. If you are used to complex stuff will get bored easily.

    Advice to Management

    Play to win. Be innovative. Recognize and retain talents. Think if what you are doing is the best for the company not just for retaining your job!

    McAfee2018-04-06
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing at this moment i have seen.

    McAfee2019-10-13
  3. "If you are in H1B look for another job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much. Good work life balance. I joined the Skyhigh networks team of Mcafee cloud security. It has good stack to learn. Not much of pressure which is good and bad. No body really cares so lot of free time to learn if you want.

    Cons

    H1B handling atrociously bad. Every week somebody is leaving. Most of the key people have left and are leaving. Since Skyhigh management team is also expected to leave by the end of this year most of the people are openly looking for job outside and are preparing for the interview. It is not a good environment. Top management seems to be checked out.

    Advice to Management

    You know what the issues are. You need to do things honestly for the people who joined this team trusting them.

    McAfee2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place for woman employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging technology work Follows agile development methodology

    Cons

    Absolutely not a place for woman. No proper policies, completely biased male dominated teams and management.

    McAfee2019-05-26
  5. "Good Place to Learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Place to learn. Great Worklife Balance.

    Cons

    I enjoyed working here. No cons for me.

    Advice to Management

    None

    McAfee2019-04-23
  6. "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was good... only until the company was acquired by private equity TPG.

    Cons

    Constant layoffs, layoffs, layoffs, layoffs...... No future at all.

    McAfee2019-05-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Average company with average benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good technology to work on

    Cons

    Too much politics Benefits are not very good

    McAfee2019-02-08
  8. "Very Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Good company to work for freshers and experienced Flexible work environment Good policies

    Cons

    I didn't find any Cons

    McAfee2018-12-30
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Middle management sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Friday Bagels - Table Tennis -

    Cons

    - Too much politics/arrogant middle management. - Process preferred over Product/Technology. - Management consider them elite while engineers treated as labor.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of pure process managers, instead fill them with scrum masters.

    McAfee2019-01-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Does not pay competitively"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to learn new technologies.

    Cons

    Does not let to progress or pay competitively.

    Advice to Management

    Management does not give you the big picture

    McAfee2018-11-08
Found 74 reviews