McAfee Senior Software Development Engineer Reviews

Updated 22 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
93%
Recommend to a Friend
McAfee President and CEO Peter Leav (no image)
Peter Leav
0 Rating
  1. "Senior Software Development Engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity for Growth. Learning and implementing new technologies

    Cons

    Salary Not upto the expectations

    McAfee2019-12-23
  2. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing at this moment i have seen.

    McAfee2019-10-13
  3. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Development Engineer TEST in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    i do not think of any

    Continue reading
    McAfee2019-06-30
  4. "Very Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Good company to work for freshers and experienced Flexible work environment Good policies

    Cons

    I didn't find any Cons

    McAfee2018-12-30

    McAfee Response

    February 11, 2019HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. As you know, we take pride in our culture and the ability to support our employees in ways that matter most to you. We’re glad to see you agree. We are pleased to have you as part of our McAfee family!

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Software Development Engineer"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Work from home. 2. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    1. Below par pay. 2. No Career Growth. 3. Frequent layoffs. 4. No retention attempts whatsoever. 5. No relocation to other geo's. 6. Crappy product line. 7. No merit based promotions.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2018-05-03
  6. "Scope of full potential growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good higher management team focusing on the cloud security areas

    Cons

    Some of the lower management folks are creating problems with the product delivery. Some are given more preference than others.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2018-02-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to find employment opportunity now that McAfee is stabilizing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer In Test in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work and there is much opportunity during this stabilization phase. It was previously under the umbrella of Intel Security but has now, once again, become McAfee.

    Cons

    Too many inexperienced managers at different levels during this stabilization phase. It has been difficult to see bad decision making during this stabilization process which has put unnecessary burdens on many people causing burn out.

    McAfee2018-01-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Almost perfect place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn from talented seniors. Frequent technical & knowledge sessions even outside of your current projects. Culture like a family. Work from home. Free breakfast, snacks, pantry always full of food to eat. Lots of fun activities.

    Cons

    Few egoistic guys who spoil the environment. Limited option to switch among projects as number of projects is low.

    McAfee2017-10-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Don't join this company if you have great aspirations"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Security Domain, profile gets good visibility 2. Work-life balance, because there is no interesting work.

    Cons

    1. No proper work, they don't understand the market. 2. Very bad managers. 3. No career improvement 4. Recruiting people who dont have good knowledge. Interns are good 5. Management sucks developer blood if there is work - so no WL balance, 6. Middle management screws things Actually all good people left.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2017-02-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Sub-par by Silicon Valley standards"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So much is broken, that there is room to fix something - anything - and shine.

    Cons

    Sub par engineers, sub par junior/middle managers, sub par senior management. Sub par salary. Sub par work. Sub par benefits. Antiquated products. Behind the curve customers. No one seems to care. It's cute that they are headquartered in Silicon Valley. They are oblivious to silicon valley ethos.

    Continue reading
    McAfee2016-12-29
Found 20 reviews