Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5,137 of over 5,854 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
1,607 Ratings
Pros
  • "you can buy food with staff discount(in 441 reviews)

  • "Good pay, Friendly team members(in 440 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No cons sometimes theirs long hours but it’s made worth your while(in 147 reviews)

  • "m amp s(in 122 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Excellent company to work for

      Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, good holidays, staff discount.

      Cons

      Peak Season can be very challenging but worth it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thank you very much for leaving your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the benefits we offer! We're usually really busy at Christmas, so thank you for all your hard work. Marks and Spencer

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      sales assistant

      Oct 17, 2021 - Customer Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      wage, the staff, the managers

      Cons

      don't accommodate college, give awful hours, very bad HR

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and thank you for all the great work that you're doing! It's great to hear that our Colleagues continue to support one another. We're sorry to hear of the concerns you've raised. Please link in with your Line Manager to discuss any issues or concerns you have with your hours, to find a solution together. Marks and Spencer

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Not great but good

      Sep 27, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay Good Holidays Staff Discount

      Cons

      Poor Communication Lack of progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and thank you for all the great work that you're doing! It’s great to hear that you’ve been enjoying the benefits we offer. We'd also like to take this opportunity to apologise that you feel there's poor communication - as you'll know, one of our values is 'Talk Straight', so this definitely doesn't live up to our expectations. Marks and Spencer

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company to work for back in the day.

      Sep 25, 2021 - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy work, good pay, good sick pay+benifits.

      Cons

      The business has changed, little staff, overworked, micro managing, low stock levels, unhappy customers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thank you for your review. It's great to see that you enjoy the pay and benefits Marks and Spencer have to offer. We’re always looking for ways to improve, so appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer.

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      great company

      Sep 23, 2021 - Retail Sales Assistant in Galway
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great staff and management personnel

      Cons

      tough work long hours cranky customers

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. That's great to hear that our colleagues are friendly. We’re always looking for ways to improve, so appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Work life

      Oct 8, 2021 - Sales Assitstant in Newbridge
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy work nice staff and few off my friends worked there

      Cons

      Managers treat you terrible if your young . They think they can change your hours without you consent

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for leaving a review! We're really sorry to hear about your experience and thank you for your honesty. We want you to know that at Marks and Spencer we care deeply about doing the right thing and acting with integrity, building trust, supporting one another and taking the time to listen. We'd encourage our colleagues to talk to their Line Manager if they have any concerns in Store. If they feel they cannot approach their Line Manager, then tell a more senior person or someone who they feel most at ease with, for example a BIG rep or HR Business Partner. We're sorry again to hear this and will make sure your comments are fed back. Marks and Spencer

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      All around good place to work

      Sep 21, 2021 - Sales Assistant in Cork
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly people with flexible hours and understanding managers

      Cons

      Understaffed and very disorganised most of the time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. That's great to hear that our colleagues are friendly and you enjoy the flexibility. We’re always looking for ways to improve, so appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor

      Oct 16, 2021 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible contract, great Xmas bonus

      Cons

      Poor management no time for staff or customers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and thank you for all the great work that you're doing! We’re sorry to hear that you feel you’re not being supported by your current Line Manager, we’d recommend linking in with another Manager or your Big Rep so that you get the support you need in resolving any issues. Marks and Spencer

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Sep 21, 2021 - Sales Associate in Blanchardstown
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good job to learn in

      Cons

      Long shifts required at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. That's great to hear that you think it is a good job to learn in. We’re always looking for ways to improve, so appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Workplace has chnaged

      Sep 20, 2021 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good wage, 5 weeks holidays and 8 paid sick leave days every six months

      Cons

      Poorly managed teams, not enough staff, strategies and plans in place with different managers contradict

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thankyou for your review. It's great to see that you think the pay is good and that you are happy with your holiday entitlement. We're really sorry to hear your concerns. We’d recommend that you discuss your concerns with your Line Manager, or if you feel you cannot approach your Line Manager, a more senior person or someone who you feel most at ease with, for example your BIG rep or your HR Business Partner. Marks and Spencer.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,137 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marks & Spencer Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marks & Spencer? Share Your Experiences

    Marks & Spencer logo
    or