Marathon Oil Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Marathon Oil Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Marathon Oil CEO Lee Tillman
Lee Tillman
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance was fantastic(in 48 reviews)

  • "They pay well and have a 9/80 work schedule(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company needs offshore exploration success(in 9 reviews)

  • "The new management does not value works done by geo-scientists(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Drilling Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Drilling Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, opportunities, internship & recruiting program.

    Cons

    Cyclical business that layoffs are a regular part of.

    Marathon Oil2019-12-10
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reservoir Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People and work are great.

    Cons

    Pay isn't always competitive with other companies of similar size within the industry.

    Marathon Oil2019-11-30
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Geologist 

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Good people, nice individual offices

    Cons

    Less focus on technology, rating system is underwhelming

    Marathon Oil2019-11-14
  4. "Marathon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great to work with and have Company interests at heart

    Cons

    The management do not lead nor listen

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat employees with respect, listen, and do not assume you know everything

    Marathon Oil2019-11-10
  5. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - College Learner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Allows lots of room for growth and assistance to start your career.

    Cons

    Can be hard to get a hold of people at times.

    Marathon Oil2019-10-15
  6. "Enjoyed my experience at Marathon Oil Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Advanced Administrative Assistant to Land 
    Recommends

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, nice people, flexibility

    Cons

    Communication, some processes could be updated

    Marathon Oil2019-09-30
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Where careers go to die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are average for the industry. Most managers give employees lots of freedom (they don’t have enough job specific knowledge to check up on their employees).

    Cons

    Job security is non-existent. Experienced professionals are leaving in waves while HR is quietly laying off a dozen or more employees a month to make room to fit the remaining few into the new building by 2021 which will reportedly be a cube farm reminiscent of a call center. Employees with 20 or more years of experience have a target on their backs, I have never seen or heard of this amount of turnover ever, regardless of the industry. For Marathon Oil to utter innovation in any context is laughable, any system, technology, procedure, etc. is grossly outdated and lagging way behind peers. The HR personnel are vastly incompetent. Ask three different representatives the same question and get three different answers. Never call on the phone with questions; send an e-mail so you have the response in writing for future reference. I would not wish Marathon Oil employment on my worst enemy. The HES record is deplorable, I still can’t figure out why they would have a dashboard that highlights their terrible record. If five days pass without an environmental recordable they pat themselves on the back like it’s an accomplishment. Once the EG assets are gone the TRIR will really take a dive and shine a light on the subpar safety record.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Marathon Oil is a sinking ship and Lee Tillman is actively drilling holes in the bow. The business model is not sustainable as a wholly shale play focused company will not survive an industry downturn. Reducing headcount is not a long-term strategy. Since the split in 2011, Marathon Petroleum (MPC) has gone on to be the largest refiner int eh country and its stock price reflects accordingly. Meanwhile, Marathon Oil (MRO) has sold off all its conventional international assets (EG in the works) to invest in shale play where they have no expertise and its stock price reflects accordingly. There is a reason no other companies are investing all their capital in shale plays. The quarterly earnings calls are just public relations spin that are unethical if you are aware of the actual state of operations (hint: Louisiana Austin Chalk is not the next big discovery).

    Show More
    Marathon Oil2019-10-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance because no one cares if you actually do anything!

    Cons

    Incredibly incompetent management; egos galore; insane HR department; unethical management behaviors; I could go on... Truly one of the worst situations I have ever seen.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t think anything can help except for replacing yourselves...

    Marathon Oil2019-10-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "No Longer A Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They pay well and have a 9/80 work schedule

    Cons

    The company keeps shrinking in size and so does the staff. They keep laying off the workers but the over sized middle managment is still intact. You have Directors that have 2 people reporting to them. The company has completly lost its safety focus and it's reflected in a safety record that would have not been tolerated 10 years ago. Diversity is a complete joke.

    Advice to Management

    Max of 5 layers from the worker to the CEO...

    Marathon Oil2019-08-27
  10. "A good company with a bad rota"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instrument Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great crew and a great management approach

    Cons

    3/3 shift rota. Poor offshore facilities.

    Advice to Management

    Change the rota

    Marathon Oil2019-07-15
Found 275 reviews