Mailchimp Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Mailchimp Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Mailchimp CEO Ben Chestnut
Ben Chestnut
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "When I started working at MailChimp, my plan was to get a job to keep me going for a few months in Atlanta before relocating to the west coast(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is real and fully supported by leadership(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No one is direct and honest about feedback(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Jr designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Junior Designer 

      I have been working at Mailchimp full-time

      Pros

      The benefits program is great.

      Cons

      I do not feel valued.

      Mailchimp2019-04-30
    • Helpful (10)

      "Don’t let fun culture fool you"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Mailchimp full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The pros are the plenty free food, donuts every Friday. We have amazing coffee hour speakers, tons of company Merch if you like that kind of thing. The bonuses are amazing as well as the benefits.

      Cons

      To be transparent, if you’re a person of color you’re going to have to try 10xs harder to move up or around the company. They’re currently on a diversity kick to check a bunch of boxes but once you’re in it’s next to impossible to be promoted unless you kiss a lot of hurt and bug people to death to let you in and give you a chance.

      Advice to Management

      Stop micromanaging your support department. I think the C level executives have no idea how miserable we all are in support and everyone is trying to claw their way out as soon as they can. It makes no sense to not trust the people you hired to do their job without a constant need to be over their shoulder, have to ask to be permitted to take a break or use the bathroom. Moving to means was one of the worst decisions...

      Show More
      Mailchimp2019-04-16
    • Helpful (10)

      "Babies Raising Babies"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Agent in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mailchimp full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      You'll never have a job with better benefits. Or another job that cares more about maternity leave.

      Cons

      This is a very young minded company. There are senior managers that are barely in their early 20's. Very high school minded. You have to pick your battles in meetings or else you'll upset the wrong manager and your entire career can be ruined. Yes, they "promote from within." But often times the most popular people get picked over the most qualified. I recommend laughing at managers jokes. You won't get far in this company...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      May more attention to metrics and not just people's personalities. Be more open to changing someone's manager if their work is slacking. There's a lot of micro-managers here.

      Mailchimp2019-04-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Young Directors with Low EQ"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mailchimp full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Benefits & Salary Great work space

      Cons

      Immature managers that are given the autonomy to make your life hello if you don't lie to them and tell the what they want to hear.

      Mailchimp2019-05-04
    • Helpful (12)

      "Putting the fun in dysfunctional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mailchimp full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      -stellar benefits -fast paced work environment that helps you learn new job skills quickly -lots of free and fun events -talented coworkers

      Cons

      -toxic management -a broken product culture that favors leadership’s whims over functionality and meeting customer needs -leadership that actively retaliates against people who disagree with managers -firmly entrenched hierarchies of who is important and who is not

      Advice to Management

      Maybe think about firing all the toxic people you’ve empowered over the years.

      Mailchimp2019-04-10
    • Helpful (9)

      "Not what it seems"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mailchimp full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Bonuses are nice. Pay is decent. Work-life balance is real here.

      Cons

      Benifits are bad when you sit down and do the math. High deductible health insurance is fine for singles and twenty-somethings. You won't get promoted. Management doesn't listen to you. There are cliques everywhere and if you're not a "cool kid" or from ETSY you won't see forward progress. Tech stack is old and mismanaged in the name of "being boring".

      Advice to Management

      Stop playing favorites.

      Mailchimp2019-03-20
    • Helpful (16)

      "Stay away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Mailchimp full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Fully paid benefits - Decent snacks - Generous 401k bonuses

      Cons

      - Low pay - Very difficult to move up internally - Managers actively retaliate against those who speak up, even for HR issues - Senior leadership is not open to feedback. Those who give it are blacklisted.

      Advice to Management

      None. I have lost all faith that management will change. Don't get on this sinking ship.

      Mailchimp2019-02-11
    • "Amazing company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Secretary in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mailchimp full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great benefits and great company

      Cons

      None that I know of

      Advice to Management

      None that I can think of

      Mailchimp2019-02-12
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mailchimp full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good people, amazing benefits, really respect work life balance

      Cons

      Growing really fast and there are some pains as they make the jump to a large company

      Mailchimp2019-02-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mailchimp full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Open, inclusive, fun, and just an overall great environment to work. Felt valued overall by my leadership and peer.s

      Cons

      Sometimes the opportunity to move to the next level isn't as readily available as some other younger tech companies.

      Mailchimp2019-01-24
    Found 78 reviews