Long View Systems Reviews

Updated 4 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Long View Systems CEO Brent Allison (no image)
Brent Allison
38 Ratings
  1. "Well Managed. Good Place to work and grow Technical expertise"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Architect in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well Managed. Good Place to work Better work culture and Good Technical exposure

    Cons

    Nothing about work place

    Long View Systems Response

    July 9, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hello! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your time with us so far. We are pleased to hear that you are happy in your role and in your work environment as that's what we strive for! If you have any feedback or suggestions on how we can make things better, please don't hesitate to connect with your People Services Team in BC. Thanks for all you do for us!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good starter job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management, at the time, was very open and receptive to feedback and wanting to improve the company

    Cons

    Project work was slow to come in

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    July 9, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we are saddened that you aren't still with us and that you felt you weren't as busy as you could be when you were, we are grateful that you enjoyed your Management Team. The career progression of Long View's team members is a priority for us, and we will continue to focus on that. Thanks for all you did for us while you were here and best of luck in your new role!

  3. "Company with both heart and smarts!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a great place to work. Leadership is caring, honest, and transparent. I’ve had no shortage of challenging work to keep me interested. Training is available, we have good health benefits, vacation time, etc. It can be a challenge to get a job here, but it’s worth the effort!

    Cons

    All my experiences have been positive so far!

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    July 2, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time out to review your 5 years (so far!) at Long View. We are happy to hear that your leadership team is giving you the experience that we set out to give and that you are staying challenged in your career. Thanks for all you do for us!

  4. Helpful (2)

    "WORST COMPANY EVER"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    just Good benefits. no other words for Pros.

    Cons

    Worst HR/administration. BIG RACIST Company. Only for Whites. No lunch space. No respect for long term employee. Very low salary. more work. $40,000 for a systems consultant / 1st level IT help desk. More work, more stress.

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    July 15, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    We are saddened to read this review and disappointed that you feel this way about your time with us. We take your feedback very seriously as we do not tolerate racism in our company. Please call or email our Sr. VP of People Services, Tasha, at 403-515-6900 or tasha.westerman@lvs1.com so she can get more information from you and so we can address this promptly.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    job opportunities at entry level full time employment available

    Cons

    pay poor opportunities hard to move up need to be aggressive/assertive

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    April 25, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hello there, we are very disappointed to read this review. It looks like you are still part of our team so please let us change your experience into a good one. Can you connect with your PS Advisor or Manager to share your feedback and advice with them? Alternatively, you can speak to our SVP of People Services. She would be happy to discuss your concerns. Thanks for all you do for us.

  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Long View Systems was one of the best places I worked at. Great co-workers and team-mates, the experience was diverse, and you get to learn lots!

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Long View Systems Response

    April 15, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your feedback on your time with us! While we are saddened that you are no longer with us, we are glad that your experience was a positive one. Thanks for all you did and best of luck in your new adventure!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "A frantic almost flailing pace that's top heavy on management."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, a people services department which is truly engaged and represents the company value system. I liked working with my immediate peer.

    Cons

    Marketing is treated as a service desk for fixing powerpoints, creating one page PDFs, and organizing event registrations rather than as a strategic asset. The organization (at least from my lens) felt top heavy on management - where efficiency improvements often meant adding more managers to review my work rather than people helping with the actual workload. Occasionally it would take months to approve something because of the sheer volume of managers required for input and "coaching".

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    April 22, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there, while we are sorry to read about the cons of your experience with us, we are happy to hear that you felt supported by your People Services Team and colleague and that you got to take advantage of our great benefits. Your feedback and advice to management has been passed on to our Executive Team. Should you want to connect directly with our SVP of People Services, please call 403-515-6900 and ask to speak with her. Thanks for all you did for us while you were here and we wish you the best of luck in your new endeavor!

  8. "Systems consultant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company that cares about their employees, even the gym is included, the sky's the limit, and also people help each other’s so you won't feel alone. Honesty, things are discussed in a responsible manner which is a big plus.

    Cons

    I don't know if it is a con or not, but this is a big organisation so you don't meet with your supervisors quite often on one to one, there are virtual alternatives (IM, phone, Visio conferences), and they are quite responsive, your mail or call is answered.

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    March 22, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Long View so far! We are glad to hear that the benefits, career progression and team-oriented environment that we offer means something to you. We also acknowledge that with ever-changing workplaces, and easily accessible technology, in-person meetings can sometimes take a backseat but we still strive for one-on-one interaction as much as possible. Will you please speak with your Team Lead or Manager about your observation and also make sure that your PS Advisor is aware so that we can continue to offer you the best possible employee experience? Thanks for all you do for us!

  9. "Great career! Love it."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managements flexibility with working remotely. Opportunity to identify how and where to grow career in all sectors of the company by way of the quarterly Career Life Planning sessions. Caring and engaged People Services department. Impressive community outreach and volunteer/fundraising events. Diverse work culture. Great work collaboration internally.

    Cons

    I personally don't have any complaints after 3 years full time.

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    March 25, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there and thanks for the time you took to review your experience with Long View over the past 3 years! Your appreciation for our remote work options, Career Life Planning program and involvement in our local communities is what we strive for and so great to hear. We can't do what we do without people like you. Thank you for all you do!

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Very Patriarchal Environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seem to have some intelligent staff Dedicated employees

    Cons

    Suffocating work environment Little to no communication and asking employees to lie to customers Zero transparency

    Continue reading

    Long View Systems Response

    March 21, 2019SVP, People Services

    Thanks for your feedback on our great staff - we agree! We work hard to ensure everyone that works for us lives by our core values and that's why we had everyone that works for us take our Respectful Workplace training to continue to enforce that. We take your feedback on any values transgressions that you experienced very seriously and I would welcome the opportunity to hear about your experience so we can ensure our workplace is living by our values. Please reach out to me directly at tasha.westerman@lvs1.com and let's set up a time that works for you to discuss. Thank you , Tasha.

Found 249 reviews