Kohl's Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Kohl's Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated 29 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
14 Ratings
  1. "Good Pay for executives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, Good work life balance except during the holidays but you do get a compensation week.

    Cons

    Not enough employees, a lot of your job is done doing non managerial tasks, cleaning out fitting rooms, ringing on the register, freight.

    Kohl's2019-10-30
  2. "Pretty good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Butler, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, awesome paid vaca, health days off, decent salary, hours were ok

    Cons

    Working outside of my job title, understaffed

    Kohl's2019-10-23
  3. "Not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is OK no others N/A

    Cons

    Long hours The company is very stingy with payroll and everything.

    Kohl's2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Kohl’s staying on top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A very competitive company , always looking to the future , innovative and technologically driven to stay on top , and truly cares about the associate s and listen to their needs wants

    Cons

    With rapid change comes many challenges

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your teams , keep their needs on the forefront

    Kohl's2019-08-08
  5. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Machesney Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the fact you are encouraged to spend time with the customers.

    Cons

    Waaaaay too much work load on the full timers.

    Advice to Management

    Be more respectful to your lower workers.

    Kohl's2019-08-22
  6. "Experience at Kohl's/ No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401k, company culture, etc.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Put on salary for 40 hours, but will be over worked more towards 50 hours and sometimes more. No over time is given.

    Advice to Management

    Don't play favorites and allow associates to bring new ideas to the table

    Kohl's2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Okay if you have the right boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Bridgeport, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Other associates Associate discount specials Accommodating hours

    Cons

    Bosses don’t care about you, your a metric Most SM are there for themselves and don’t develop

    Advice to Management

    Actually try to like your people. They will work harder for you if you genuinely are interested in THEM

    Kohl's2019-08-04
  8. "Not bad, could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Clifton Park, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, PTO, Work-Life balance, 401k

    Cons

    Lack of Staff, Favoritism, Bonus Structure

    Kohl's2019-07-03
  9. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not commission based or high pressure sales, on the surface a pleasant work environment

    Cons

    High pressure for credit card solicitation, no training, unnecessary and unrealistic daily tactics, benefits suck, must use vacation days for sick days, bereavement, maternity, etc, Unrealistic expectations. No support from upper management. Horrible technology and they implement new software, tactics, policies and then abandon them or replace them with no explanation.

    Kohl's2019-06-30
  10. "Fantastic Retailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay Vacation Time/PTO Training Support Development With any big box retailer work loads will not be for the faint of heart. This company really tested my knowledge and I've gained invaluable experience in my time here. The Southern California market is incredibly intense and every store has its own methods to serving it's people and customers. If you're looking to learn alot in a short amount of... time, challenge what you already know or put your skills to the ultimate test, Kohls is a wonderful employer. If you can get your foot in the door you've got it made, but be fore warned it will either make you or break you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very long hours Retail is tough

    Advice to Management

    Your people are the most important part of the orginazation. Without them there is nothing stopping customers from shopping at the competitors.

    Kohl's2019-06-14
Found 193 reviews