Kindred Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
399 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All upper management positions are not minorities(in 67 reviews)

  • "Patient care/quality of care not as important as productivity(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place for learning and team work

    Cons

    Difficult job and less pay for new nurses

    Kindred Healthcare2020-01-23
  2. "Lpn has"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kindred Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great people - benefits

    Cons

    -hours -pay could be a little more

    Kindred Healthcare2020-01-20

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    January 23, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Clinical Liaison 

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    bonuses, great pay, learn a lot

    Cons

    a few but nothing you can't work around

    Kindred Healthcare2020-01-23

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    January 23, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Every member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Occupational Therapist Assistant 

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule and actively uses PRN

    Cons

    Sometimes get canceled at the very last minute

    Kindred Healthcare2020-01-08

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    January 11, 2020Director of Social Media

    We appreciate your thoughtful words. We know this special calling requires special people, and we’re glad you’re here.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dietitian in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nutrition order writing policy. Dietitians are well respected member of the team.

    Cons

    Patients are very ill and you have to be able to manage complex nutrition problems.

    Continue reading
    Kindred Healthcare2020-01-03

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    January 4, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are honored by your service.

    Continue reading
  6. "Hypocritical management that cuts corners and makes sure to save every last penny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist - RehabCare 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great team of therapists at my facility - Flexible scheduling - Somewhat flexible PTO - Company reimburses for some supplies and CE

    Cons

    - Management completely out of touch with the day-to-day operations and conflicts being a therapist in a SNF/LTC facility -Productivity trumps promoting quality care at the end of the day. Regular mandatory "inservices" on ethical practice, yet the company doesn't practice what they preach. Point-of-care documentation? Not feasible for quality, patient-centered treatment. -Post-PDPM, company pushes for group treatments - Red flag! - Sub-par health benefits package - Company let go of majority of PRN staff, instructs full-time staff to drive an upwards of 2 hours to other facilities that need help when that facility's census gets high. - Upper management implements new policies, middle management and the therapists finally get the memo 2 weeks to months later. - Do I even need to mention CEO's multi-million salary when the company has had a "wage freeze" in place for the treating therapists for at least 2 years? Many of my coworkers haven't had a single raise in 5 years. If you threaten to leave, if you are LUCKY you may get a marginal one. - No performance reviews. - Therapists putting in their two weeks notice, then middle management groveling on their knees and offering significant raises in response. And then they want to ask how your non-existent performance review went....

    Continue reading
    Kindred Healthcare2020-01-11
  7. "Good staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiologic Technologist in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring staff.Management is involved and interested

    Cons

    Technology is a bit behind the times

    Kindred Healthcare2019-12-26

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    December 31, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Every member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with exciting future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Management sincerely cares about employees. Strong culture tied to core values. Kindred offers lots of opportunities for career growth, especially if you are open to working in different locations.

    Cons

    401k match is not great.

    Continue reading
    Kindred Healthcare2019-12-18

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Every member of our team contributes to the successes of our patients and their families.

    Continue reading
  9. "Pay is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and healthcare benefits

    Cons

    Lack of communication amongst staff

    Kindred Healthcare2019-12-18

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive.

    Continue reading
  10. "Not sure what you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Ops in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kindred Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    It’s a starting job not long term

    Cons

    Benefits are terrible, management is worse

    Continue reading
    Kindred Healthcare2019-12-31

    Kindred Healthcare Response

    January 4, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. We can be reached at experience@kindred.com or you may remain anonymous and report your concerns by calling our compliance hotline at 1-844-760-5835. Thank you, Eric B.

    Continue reading
Found 1642 reviews