Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike 
DeFrino
Mike 
DeFrino
295 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company great benefits great staff(in 38 reviews)

  • "We have a great benefits plan, bonus plan, and best of all a great work environment(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and varying schedule(in 21 reviews)

  • "There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Such an amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great vibe and environment as a company all around

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons for them. I would still be working for them if the hotel I was at wasn't purchased by a different company.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-11-26
  2. "Great Benefits and Opportunity for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The healthcare benefits provided by Kimpton were great. Their corporate offices are based in California so the insurance offered had California benefits. Love the culture and with the majority of the hotels being small, you had a lot of opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    High-stress during peak seasons. Systems were outdated during my time of employment. It was difficult to get time off since they really need you during the busy season.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-12-05
  3. "Great Benefits and Caring Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, the people who work here are hard-working and care about people and value their jobs.

    Cons

    Occasional upper management change which made for some difficult transitions.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-11-26
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 

    I worked at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Nice environment to work in.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-11-10
  5. "Highly motivated individual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Cook in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team leadership, Multi tasking ability , Strong interpersonal skills, self motivated.

    Cons

    Having to do other workers work but I'm still a team player.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-11-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - My managers genuinely care about me as a person, my growth, and development. - Work is challenging, but so worth it. I have learned and grown so much as a professional.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Continue to inspire our employees and show them what our culture is about

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-18
  7. "Diversity and inclusion are cultural cornerstones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - General Manager 

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hands down one of the best places to work particular in regards to practices to ensure diversity and inclusion are cornerstones of the culture.

    Cons

    More locations, domestic & international would be fantastic.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-15
  8. "Management Treats Employees Well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management truly cares about their employees, both professionally and personally. Kimpton has great benefits as well. They go above and beyond to make it a fun place to work.

    Cons

    Not too many SOP's in place since it is a smaller company

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-15
  9. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Qualit Manager in George Town
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can be yourself at work

    Cons

    Nothing required to be changed

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-14
  10. "Learn a lot, fast. Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Most people who work for this company are wonderful. They are supportive of your personal and professional growth and are receptive to new thoughts and ideas. It is easy to move up fast and learn a great deal of useful knowledge in a short amount of time. There are also opportunities for community service and for networking with others within the company.

    Cons

    The pay is generally less than at other hotels in the area. Understaffing is a consistent issue, with not much urgency to fill roles. There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance.

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants2019-10-28
Found 605 reviews