Kaiser Permanente Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Kaiser Permanente Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6175 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Kaiser Permanente CEO Bernard J. Tyson
Bernard J. Tyson
2,359 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance is not always present in all department(in 144 reviews)

  • "upper management is a nightmare- part time and full time RNs are always upset(in 118 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work depending on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work if you have a good manager. Work from home opportunities but depends on if manager allows it. Pay is good and benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    With any very large company comes slow change and unnecessary bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Having arbitrary guidelines for min years of service for positions can weed out good candidates. Sometimes quality of candidate is greater then their years of service.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-19
  2. "Its an Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits is the best part

    Cons

    Sadly the politics are ruining this company

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-18
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other Bay Area companies

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-18
  4. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good communications, great benefits.

    Cons

    large teams, large projects, easy to feel lost in the weeds.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-17
  5. "Environmental services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Environmental Services in Newport Beach, CA

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've always had a wonderful experience at Kaiser from making appointments to making a trip to the urgent care with my kids. I feel like all the staff cares, and that means a lot when you're sick or when you're walking in with a sick child. They make sure they meat each individual needs and it would be a privilege to be part of a team that meats unique individuals needs

    Cons

    I think some of the cons for me would be conflicts with schedule

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiology Technologist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros are the benefits and salary! Also the positive atmosphere!

    Cons

    Never worked for a union before and Kaiser is set to go on strike in September.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-11
  7. "Excellent benefits and professional growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Educator in Baldwin Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits including generous earned time off, tuition reimbursement for furthering education and/or CEUs, travel reimbursement for CEUs, many opportunities for professional growth and or relocation to a city or state with Kaiser services.

    Cons

    Inconsistent work standards and policies/procedures amongst facilities.

    Advice to Management

    To collaborate with labor unions and/or abide to contract agreement.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-15
  8. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Educator RN in Harbor City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Friendly staff. Many opportunities for advancement and further education.

    Cons

    Too many layers of management. We could use more staff on the floor instead of multiple layers of management.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-14
  9. "The best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits. good management. job security.

    Cons

    I couldn't think of anything at the moment.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-15
  10. "Overall good experience except for my last job..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Vanguard 401k.

    Cons

    DO NOT WORK FOR KFH! If you can, work for Medical Group! KFH culture is toxic and hostile. I worked my first 4 years in Medical Group and my last year was in KFH! Big mistake for me to change entities! My direct manager and her manager were both incompetent and inexperienced and should never have been promoted into their jobs. Heavy micromanaging. They demanded that I worked very long hours without even... providing the tools I needed to do my job and duties! Pay is about 20-25% lower than other companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To Executives and Senior Leadership: 1. Fire incompetent managers and employees. This would greatly boost employee morale and address turnover issues. 2. Pay for ancillary or business operations staff is dismal and is not competitive with going market rates. If you want the best employees, make sure to offer competitive wages/salaries and not just better benefits. KP is taking away employee benefits but does... little or nothing to offset the loss in benefits.

    Show More
    Kaiser Permanente2019-09-15
Found 6175 reviews