Kainos Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6 of over 249 reviews

4.3
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kainos Managing Director Brendan Mooney (no image)
Brendan Mooney
3 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great opportunities prepare to work long hours.

    Jul 9, 2021 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, benefits package, good coworkers

    Cons

    Pay is average or below, work life balance isn't great

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Employer, impressive and caring management

    Jun 24, 2021 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, big employer with high growth

    Cons

    Not too much to add

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great employer, really cares about staff wellbeing and job satisfaction

    Nov 19, 2020 - IT Senior Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff share save scheme. Share Incentive Programme. Diverse benefits package. Team members work "with" their managers not "for" them. Exec team take time to listen to & action employee feedback.

    Cons

    Only con I can think of would be that pre-covid travel could be a bit intensive at times. However, the new normal is likely to entail more WFH and customers requiring less on-site presence than before.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Apr 25, 2020 - Senior Principal Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic togetherness, open and approachable management

    Cons

    None that I can think of currently

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great, growing company with a fantastic culture

    Dec 12, 2014 - Senior Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company treat staff incredibly well - free healthcare, Christmas and Summer events, team nights, free fruit out and an effort to create an enjoyable work culture. If you desire them, the opportunities are there to work with some up to date technologies, delivered in an AGILE way with some very large public sector customers. Pretty much everybody in the company is universally helpful and the Managing Director is affable and appears to be able to remember everyone in the company by name - no mean feat when there are well over 600 people now! The company is growing and has been for the last few years, and it's an exciting time.

    Cons

    A lot of the interesting projects require travel for the Belfast staff, where much of the company are located. It's generally continous travel at 4 days a week as well, which can put a strain on family life. Also, the opportunities for advancement and working with the latest and greatest technology very much depends on the business unit you work for.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Kainos Response

    Managing Director

    Thank-you for taking the time to provide this feedback, it is appreciated. Travel is always a challenge for a company like Kainos. There is the positive aspect - some really enjoy the variety and there are colleagues who have, in the past, asked to work from Bogota, Atlanta, Houston, Sydney, London, Dublin and Dudley. But that tends to be the exception rather than the rule. Like every technology company, most of our clients are in different locations from where our staff live (across all of our offices) which means that we regularly travel to see our clients. That tends to be occasional travel, but for some of our big programmes that is long-term, sustained travel, several or indeed every day of the week. About 105 out of 720 (15%) staff would fall within this last category. That level of travel, no matter how much you might enjoy the project, is tiring and impactful on friends and family. In truth, those type of projects will always exist within Kainos and I think that we work diligently to be supportive of staff who are travelling; and we work hard with clients to convince them that Distributed Agile is a viable and productive alternative to being on-site. We win some of those debates, but not all of them. Again, many thanks for your comments. Brendan

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A flexible, challenging and rewarding place to work that recognises and develops talented individuals.

    Aug 7, 2013 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Variety of work Commitment to quality Focus on knowledge-sharing Flexible working hours Relaxed, informal office environment Can-do, 'yes-we-can' attitude

    Cons

    Operational challenges in periods of significant, rapid growth - quality v quantity Travel - cheapest options come first, often at the expense of the individual's personal time and convenience Travel - company credit is not provided, which can cause cashflow issues for personally incurred expenses

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Kainos Response

    Managing Director

    Thanks for taking the time to provide the detailed feedback. I particularly like your advice re: ‘mistakes’ - I completely agree! One of the changes that we made towards the end of 2013 (following this and other similar comments) was to hire an internal travel team rather than use external travel agents. We now have a team of three who undertake all our travel booking and the feedback from the staff has been positive. We have seen a real improvement in the quality of the service (responsiveness) and the quality of advice (the bookings). We ran a staff survey on this topic in June 2014 and staff provided 562 responses: 96% of the responses rated the service as Good, Very Good or Excellent. (Data: Excellent: 37%, Very Good: 39%, Good: 20%, Fair: 3%, Poor: 1%) Thanks again, Brendan

Viewing 1 - 6 of 6 English Reviews

Work at Kainos? Share Your Experiences

Kainos logo
or