K12 Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

K12 Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
K12 Executive Chairman Nate Davis (no image)
Nate Davis
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great online virtual schools!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home teacher positions.

    Cons

    Must self manage as you work from home. Very different experience teaching online opposed to teaching in a classroom with students. Perks to both, just know going into it.

    K122020-01-20
  2. "Cons Outweigh the Pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Lewisville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The student population and the ability to impact and encourage them is great.

    Cons

    Horrible and costly health insurance, untrustworthy leadership and decisions made out of personal relationship versus qualifications.

    Continue reading
    K122020-01-21
  3. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interventionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Way better pay than local brick and mortar schools, students who attend our online classes are super engaged, focused on training teachers to become leaders in their areas, K12 will pay for a Masters degree for teachers through SNHU to hone their skills as a teacher and leader, very data driven to get results.

    Cons

    Tends to draw in students who are less interested in learning and more interested in keeping truancy officers away so more than half of my students don't attend classes and parents dodge phone calls home- hardest part of my job is trying to get students to attend even just one class.

    Continue reading
    K122020-01-02
  4. "Great Salary, Tough Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Registrar in Maumee, OH
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great and it is very easy to be promoted.

    Cons

    The management does not always focus on the needs of all departments.

    K122019-12-30
  5. "High School counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to quickly advance and grow professionally.

    Cons

    There are no state benefits

    K122019-12-06
  6. "Great people /low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Coach 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time

    Pros

    Great people and energy. Remote positions.

    Cons

    Low pay. Transparency and support was lacking from upper management.

    Continue reading
    K122019-12-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sorry it is over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Educator in Chicago, IL

    I worked at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with students who had dropped out of school and then saw the benefit of a diploma over a GED was highly rewarding. Most students were engaged and enjoyed conversations about real-life and learning. Enjoyed coming in to work. Positive environment. All staff really cared about these kids and it filled you with a strong sense of pride to see them cross that stage after all of the struggles (internal & external) that they pushed through.

    Cons

    Lack of professional development opportunities outside of their internal trainings. Does not allow connections and networking with professional educators outside of those you work with on a daily basis.

    K122019-11-29
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company and great people

    Cons

    A lot of management transition

    Continue reading
    K122019-11-25
  9. "Fun place for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff, good support, fun people

    Cons

    It's basically a call center

    K122019-11-19
  10. "Data Entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Counselor in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at home is always a nice perk.

    Cons

    Position entails lots of data entry and not a lot of meaningful student contact.

    K122019-11-19
Found 614 reviews
</>Embed