Jumeirah Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Jumeirah Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
53%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Jumeirah CEO José Silva
José Silva
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work And our brand promise stay different(in 8 reviews)

  • "Young company with a orientation towards high class and luxury hospitality(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, less payment, brainwashing(in 17 reviews)

  • "Nationality Biased-So less opportunity to grow(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Sous Chef in Dubai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumeirah full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good teamwork Good HR behind staff Good ideas of the future

    Cons

    Management Standard still not settled as many companies who are longer on the market.

    Jumeirah2020-01-22
  2. "Long hours, no rewards, reduce in benefits and reduce in pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jumeirah full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount in Jumeirah outlets and cheap hotel rooms.

    Cons

    The contract you have is worthless, salary reduced with no notice, benefits removed/reduced without notice. Can't even afford the benefits now even as senior management. No communication. Toxic work environment.

    Jumeirah2020-01-08
  3. "Jumeirah Carlton Tower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumeirah full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salaries are very good for a London hotel. Service charge, specifically during summer months, is generous. The canteen for employees is very good. Incredibly talented on-property employees who you could learn a lot from. Good discounts/benefits. Global career opportunities.

    Cons

    For a 9 month closure for a refurbishment, 94% (300+) colleagues were made redundant - the process was handled terribly. The CEO avoided the property at all costs when he was in London once the redundancy announcements were made, never once addressing employees which was poor. Senior leadership showed a lack of respect and care for both employees and guests/clients alike during the closure/redundancy process. It became a very difficult and negative place to work. During my time I saw managers being hired and fired quite ruthlessly; managers who were extremely talented and had impacted the company greatly. One day they were there, the next being walked out of the building with no explanation to employees. Some incredible employees were let go this year, some who really were the heart and soul of the hotel and were the reason why guests kept returning again and again. I'm not sure Jumeirah Carlton Tower will ever be the same once it re-opens.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure you are able to fullfill the company standards, Guiding Principles and Hallmarks, so that your employees are able to learn by example. You'll gain a lot more respect from employees by doing so, because there is a clear lack of evidence to show that senior leadership actually understand and practice these things. It’s also quite apparent that some senior leaders don’t fully understand that the way in which we work in the UK is very different to the Middle East – behaviour that might be acceptable there isn’t necessarily acceptable here.

    Show More
    Jumeirah2019-12-31
  4. "I am working as a butler in Jumeirah at Etihad tower."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Butler in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jumeirah full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team work is the great in Jumeirah.

    Cons

    Top mgmt is going down now a day.

    Advice to Management

    Mgmt has to followed all ideas.

    Jumeirah2019-12-13
  5. "HR Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Dubai

    I worked at Jumeirah full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The best employer in the middle east

    Cons

    Still need to grow for the world market and to be world chain luxury brand

    Advice to Management

    Need to raise the bar along with the world class brands to compete and maintain strong desire to be succeed in the market.

    Jumeirah2019-12-12
  6. "Front office in various Jumeirah hotels in Dubai"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office in Dubai
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumeirah full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perfect place as a stepping stone, to start your career.

    Cons

    Extremely negative attitude of management to staff!!! Discrimination by nationality; salary wise , treatment wise, opportunity wise. You can put 200% efforts to work hard and have your job done excellently, it all does not matter if you are not European or Emirati. Very well experienced and strong Indian team leader gets half of the salary of newly joined European colleague who knows nothing. Especially, recently Jumeirah started to hire European people with no experience, no background at all!!! Just passport. I am not Indian, I am from CIS. It’s just few examples I have given. Very sad to leave the company where I planned to grow. But I could not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better conditions for staff.

    Jumeirah2019-12-10
  7. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumeirah full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company has a great reputation amongst guests and hence they want to pay some serious money to stay here. Salary is amongst the highest

    Cons

    Bullying, intimidation and Stressing the HOD’s unfortunately is currently so widely prevalent and is going unchecked. It’s unbelievable

    Advice to Management

    Time to internalise and think about the team who have given you years of service. If you look after them, they will do wonders for you, but unfortunately you are far from that

    Jumeirah2019-12-23
  8. "Work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative 

    I have been working at Jumeirah full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to start your career in a hospitality industry

    Cons

    1. No opportunity to grow and develop 2. Low salaries, comparing to the other companies at the market

    Jumeirah2019-11-22
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GM Manager in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumeirah full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, transportation, accommodation, clientele

    Cons

    Constant change of leadership and management

    Advice to Management

    Settle already

    Jumeirah2019-11-06
  10. "Front Office Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Supervisor in Manama
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumeirah full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - It seems like a good opportunity, but it was a hell

    Cons

    - Small salary - Overtime is never paid - Cutted service charge

    Jumeirah2019-12-01
Found 177 reviews