John Lewis & Partners Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
John Lewis & Partners CEO Sharon White (no image)
Sharon White
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits including competitive discount(in 83 reviews)

  • "Good pay for first job when you are young(in 75 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours slow descion making old technology not moving with times(in 71 reviews)

  • "Few career progression opportunities(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners

    Pros

    Great benefits, colleagues and work ethic

    Cons

    None apart from working at weekends

    Continue reading
    John Lewis & Partners2016-02-23
  2. "Customer Service Advisor for Call Centre"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    They are very focused on building strong teams, lots of fun ways to keep you engaged in the job

    Cons

    Not for people who like to stay physical and active during the day.

    John Lewis & Partners2017-10-06
  3. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for, with a great culture. Everyone trying hard to drive the business forward .

    Cons

    Due to the size and structure of the company, it can be quite slow to react with lots of red tape to navigate.

    John Lewis & Partners2020-06-04
  4. "Some great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some really great people Some of the management were extremely supportive and would help you achieve goals you set yourself Had some lovely customers

    Cons

    Head office siding with the customers over staff regularly Way too many customers take advantage of the loopholes and lax management to get freebies and discounts

    John Lewis & Partners2020-06-04
  5. "Great Company to Work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Selling and Service Partner 
    Recommends

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - bonus - great team members -performance based pay

    Cons

    - too many managers - some of the managers I have encountered have not been good

    John Lewis & Partners2020-06-01
  6. "Good but strict"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Aberdeen, Scotland

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Great canteen and good perks

    Cons

    Very strict, always being monitored

    John Lewis & Partners2020-06-01
  7. "Great company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Epsom, England

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Good management opportunities - uniform in a very good design

    Cons

    Low pay - not very flexible

    John Lewis & Partners2020-05-31
  8. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering/Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time

    Pros

    My position was in the cafe everyone works has a team , Management are very nice and are there to help, plenty of training giving to help you progress.

    Cons

    In this position there is plenty of cleaning duties so you have to be able to get stuck in and also heavy lifting is involved on delivery days.

    John Lewis & Partners2020-05-30
  9. "Friendly and professional"

    5.0
    Former Employee - NONE in Southampton, England

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Kind and helpful staff Good break hours Quite good pay

    Cons

    I found no cons working here

    John Lewis & Partners2020-05-28
  10. "Great company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Internal Controls in Bracknell, England

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time

    Pros

    They take good care of you

    Cons

    Company is going through a bad phase Salary is not great

    John Lewis & Partners2020-05-27
Found 1547 reviews