John Hancock "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

John Hancock Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
82 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Work-Life Balance, Salary, Care about Employees

    Cons

    None of any consequence, one of the better companies out there!

    John Hancock2019-10-03

    John Hancock Response

    October 4, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you had a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Flexible, but very adequate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super flexible, great work/life balance. Fitness reimbursement available. Good benefits overall. Volunteering actually encouraged, lots of "extracurricular" opportunities. The people I've come across are kind and genuine.

    Cons

    There is a large attitude of "adequacy" at the company. People do just enough and somehow it meets expectations. There is no real upwards mobility, and promotions/pay increases are rare occurrences. People saunter in at 10am and leave the office at 3:59pm, or they just "work from home". A lot of the training/up skilling opportunities are empty offers, and don't truly allow you to develop in your career because there are no available opportunities to apply them afterwards.

    Continue reading
    John Hancock2019-08-29

    John Hancock Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work for RPS Business Intelligence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work-life balance, paid holidays, remote work from home. people are nice

    Cons

    RPS BI is run by a bunch of idiots who don't understand anything. no recognition for hard work. others being promoted despite doing more work than most of the people. horrible health insurance plan.

    John Hancock2019-09-10

    John Hancock Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Solid company. High morale.

    Cons

    Very Corporate. Old systems for legacy products.

    John Hancock2019-07-17

    John Hancock Response

    July 19, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

    Continue reading
  5. "A job you get when you want to settle down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance Work from home Easy to get to (commuting ) Great name Easy interviews

    Cons

    Boring company Not a lot of stress on employee appreciation

    Continue reading
    John Hancock2019-05-30

    John Hancock Response

    May 31, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Large but slow to move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Remote work, Work/Life Balance, great Back Bay location

    Cons

    Too large to make changes quickly, very focused on bottom line, constantly cutting expenses, financial technology is lacking

    John Hancock2019-04-27

    John Hancock Response

    May 3, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  7. "Old school financial services morphing into the digital age"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock

    Pros

    Successful company, safe employment. Very good work-life balance. Great perks and treatment of employees. Trying to become more technological and innovative.

    Cons

    Some lack of communication from leadership (they're working on it).

    Continue reading
    John Hancock2018-11-30

    John Hancock Response

    December 3, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Would recommend with reservations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Many opportunities to develop your career and move around in the organization - Competitive compensation - Great benefits (including work from home opportunities, 5 month maternity leave for US-based employees, and a pension plan)

    Cons

    - Poor work/life balance - Depending on which department you work in, you may not be recognized or rewarded for good performance or results. Some organization cultures are more cliquey than others.

    John Hancock2018-11-14

    John Hancock Response

    November 19, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "John Hancock was a great place to work, but since Manulife took over things changed dramatically."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and if you lucky and work front office it's a great place to work.

    Cons

    There's no work life balance anymore.

    John Hancock2018-10-25

    John Hancock Response

    October 26, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great leadership, day to day work is channelnging and meaningful.

    Cons

    Slowly focusing on a good work life balance.

    John Hancock2018-10-01

    John Hancock Response

    October 4, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 78 reviews