John Hancock Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "No room for growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Great benefits Good Training

    Cons

    Below average Pay Bad management

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Flexible, but very adequate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super flexible, great work/life balance. Fitness reimbursement available. Good benefits overall. Volunteering actually encouraged, lots of "extracurricular" opportunities. The people I've come across are kind and genuine.

    Cons

    There is a large attitude of "adequacy" at the company. People do just enough and somehow it meets expectations. There is no real upwards mobility, and promotions/pay increases are rare occurrences. People saunter in at 10am and leave the office at 3:59pm, or they just "work from home". A lot of the training/up skilling opportunities are empty offers, and don't truly allow you to develop in your career because there are no available opportunities to apply them afterwards.

    Continue reading

    John Hancock Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  3. "I liked working at John Hancock"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have good benefits and salaries.

    Cons

    There wasn't a lot of collaboration. Not a team environment.

    John Hancock Response

    February 19, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience.

  4. "CSR"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, workplace flexibility

    Cons

    Little or no room for movement, stressful environment

    John Hancock Response

    December 21, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great benefits and great opportunity - as long as you don't have an invisible disability"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good pay (they always tried to at the very least match the market) -Great benefits (good PTO packages even for new hires) -Mentoring available if sought out -Always learning

    Cons

    -Typical big corporation culture where the bottom line matters more than the employees -Accommodating to people with visible disability, but not invisible (I wasn't even allowed to tell HR what my condition was because they "didn't want to know" - I was fired illegally after the company put me in a position where I could no longer receive necessary medical treatment due to running out of PTO. They were unwilling to help me by creating a reasonable flexible schedule, which my new employer did without hesitation)

    Continue reading

    John Hancock Response

    November 2, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Underwriting"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Loved my team mates & first 3 managers. Was very proud to work for the company. Good benefits & PTO. Felt the company was honest & focused on the long-term rather than a "quick buck".

    Cons

    Continuously heavy workload that went on for years. Burned-out, but that would even have been OK if I hadn't been moved to another team with a very difficult manager. Tried to work it out with upper management, but was not given the option to move to a different team. Had to leave, but it was a tough decision to make.

    Continue reading

    John Hancock Response

    August 30, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review and providing feedback.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work but stuck in old times"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, they do great things for the local community, good benefits

    Cons

    Many processes are stuck in the Stone Age and slow workflow and productivity.

    John Hancock Response

    February 14, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review! We are happy to hear your experience has been positive.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Network"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at John Hancock for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and good benefits. Great teammates, and great location in the heart of Boston

    Cons

    Bad culture, no mentors for growth ie no focus on staff development,

    Continue reading

    John Hancock Response

    January 15, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Be aware of the lies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portsmouth, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a cafeteria serving food, its definitely not the best, but if you're running late and couldn't pack your lunch (since you only have 30 minute lunches and theres nothing close enough) it will do in a pinch. The in-office gym is very nice and they do offer good benefits.

    Cons

    A lot of lying. They will tell you ANYTHING in the interview to make it seem like a good fit for you and a great company culture. Instead, you will receive a lot of lies. There micromanaging is off the charts with how strict it is... you are allowed 15 minutes per day to use the bathroom, can't take a personal phone call for emergencies, are judge on everything down to the slightest, smallest, tiniest mistake, and you are given no flex time for traffic or anything else in the morning. If you are one minute late, you will get written up for a tardy. This is a very elementary school place and they can and will treat you like a school child again.

    Continue reading

    John Hancock Response

    February 7, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience with us. If you wish to follow up further, please email TalentAcquisition@jhancock.com.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company - Mediocre Company Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Benefits - Good people for the most part and very understanding of the work/life balance - Opportunity to make lots of money

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth unless you really put yourself out there. At least in my experience, unless you straight up ask for a promotion you're not getting one. Hard work and consistency isn't enough.

    Continue reading

    John Hancock Response

    November 28, 2017Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your honest feedback, thank you for writing a review. We are thrilled to know you had a positive experience with us.

Found 59 reviews