John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

John Hancock Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
65 Ratings
  1. "Countless Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The intern program directors do a great job of stressing networking, and encouraging interns to reach out to whomever they want to help them learn more about the company, or gain career advice and company insight. Big group of interns can make for a fun summer too, you won't be the only younger person in your office/building. Debate/Case Study/Presentations are great events as well, and really helped me... practice different ways of public speaking, among other skills.

    Show More

    Cons

    With such a big program, communication between program directors and individuals/individual's managers can lack a bit.

    Advice to Management

    Be very clear-cut within the first two days to all interns (and have individual managers know it as well) the expectations in terms of days off, working from home options, what to do if an intern doesn't have a lot of work to do, and other housekeeping items.

    John Hancock2019-08-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work for RPS Business Intelligence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work-life balance, paid holidays, remote work from home. people are nice

    Cons

    RPS BI is run by a bunch of idiots who don't understand anything. no recognition for hard work. others being promoted despite doing more work than most of the people. horrible health insurance plan.

    John Hancock2019-09-10
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and do the right thing

    Cons

    Many processes, moved very slowly

    John Hancock2019-08-05
  4. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Solid company. High morale.

    Cons

    Very Corporate. Old systems for legacy products.

    John Hancock2019-07-17
  5. "Managing Spends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Compliance in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good with management and sustainability!

    Cons

    Not really an understatement of what I want to learn about !

    Advice to Management

    To make sure student know what they want

    John Hancock2019-07-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, fantastic people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Internal Sales Specialist in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training was superior and I felt like the people really cared about helping the customer.

    Cons

    Like any other company, I worked with a manager who was terrible at working with other people. Eventually this manager was promoted to a position that did not supervise anyone. The company fixed the problem.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the morale high in both sales and customer service. These two functions go hand in hand towards a successful long term company.

    John Hancock2019-07-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "John Hancock allows for unethical behavior to take place by doing nothing about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance 

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits that are typical in the market for a large financial insurance carrier.

    Cons

    I can never, in good faith, ever recommend Manulife/John Hancock as an employer. I had a very unfortunate incident that was a clear violation of Business Code of Conduct and Ethics, which I promptly reported to the company. Please note the incident is not on a basis of "hearsay" but due to an actual physical action that took place. The company conducted an insufficient and total bias “investigation” and determined... they would do absolutely nothing about it. It was clear the company dropped the ball. Because of this, I could not continue to work for such a company and started searching other places. Manulife/John Hancock also had a situation where they found some type of “device” hiding in the women’s restroom that was sending signals or images (something of that sort) to an outside device. We were informed by email, very vaguely about it, and a company wide meeting was held so the company could cover themselves from bad publicity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please take ethical issues seriously ..... other companies that failed to do so ultimately regretted not doing so sooner when good employees leave because of it.

    John Hancock2019-07-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    John Hancock really does a lot for the community and offers employees the opportunity to volunteer for meaningful causes. The employee resource groups are fantastic and very helpful. There are plenty of continuing education opportunities, just get the right manager that will let you take advantage of them. It is a great place to get some education and experience but not a company worth drinking the kool ade at.

    Cons

    There are plenty of managers that elevated to management positions based on time served rather than leadership ability. there are endless employee engagement surveys but nothing is done with the results and managers are protected. Very hard to move up the ladder if you are not connected or a brown noser

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees. When a high percentage of employees and managers complain about a manager, it's not the employees, it's the manager.

    John Hancock2019-06-26
  9. "Super deluxe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Hyder, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic great service excellent treatment company good will

    Cons

    Nothing else all were supportive and co operative

    Advice to Management

    None

    John Hancock2019-06-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not trustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    A paycheck is all its worth.

    Cons

    Not trustworthy for an insurance company

    John Hancock2019-06-10
Found 511 reviews