John Hancock Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

John Hancock Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
66 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Great family life balance. Paid time off. Meaningful work. Great co-workers. Awesome benefits. Training is thorough. Everyone is helpful.

    Cons

    It's a lot to learn at one time :)

    John Hancock2019-12-28
  2. "Fun and Competitive Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Business Consultant in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work out of the Tempe office and absolutely love the people I work with. Minimum expectations are easy to meet. However if you want to move up you have to be exceeding. Depending on your team you may start work early so you get out early.

    Cons

    Difficult to bonus because you have to be in the top out of the entire Boston and Tempe office. A lot of politics but if you know how to play the game you are good.

    John Hancock2019-10-31
  3. "company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    everyone respect your skills and knowledge

    Cons

    the data are not clear, it is not efficient to use data

    John Hancock2019-10-15
  4. "Awesome Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Work-Life Balance, Salary, Care about Employees

    Cons

    None of any consequence, one of the better companies out there!

    John Hancock2019-10-03
  5. "Countless Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The intern program directors do a great job of stressing networking, and encouraging interns to reach out to whomever they want to help them learn more about the company, or gain career advice and company insight. Big group of interns can make for a fun summer too, you won't be the only younger person in your office/building. Debate/Case Study/Presentations are great events as well, and really helped me practice different ways of public speaking, among other skills.

    Show More

    Cons

    With such a big program, communication between program directors and individuals/individual's managers can lack a bit.

    Advice to Management

    Be very clear-cut within the first two days to all interns (and have individual managers know it as well) the expectations in terms of days off, working from home options, what to do if an intern doesn't have a lot of work to do, and other housekeeping items.

    John Hancock2019-08-08
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, yes

    Cons

    None that I know of

    Advice to Management

    None that I can give

    John Hancock2019-04-23
  7. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Great people, care about their employees and clients

    Cons

    Matrix management structure leads to competing priorities

    John Hancock2019-04-01
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock

    Pros

    Really great benefits, I would go back

    Cons

    It was hard to define a career path in my business area

    John Hancock2019-02-03
  9. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cali, Valle del Cauca
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Everything was legit. No complaints.

    Cons

    NA. Nothing to fitter about.

    John Hancock2019-01-17
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Lots of autonomy and ability to make change

    John Hancock2018-12-02
Found 517 reviews