JetBlue Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

JetBlue Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
62%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
JetBlue President/CEO Robin Hayes
Robin Hayes
16 Ratings
  1. "Travel is fun and Exciting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager, Human Resources 

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great times and travel!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    JetBlue2019-11-01
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Senior Leadership open to questions

    Cons

    Not all leadership is the same across all departments

    JetBlue2019-10-31
  3. "Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No Pros at all. Nothing.

    Cons

    Absolutely stupid company. Bad Enviornment

    Advice to Management

    Value people.

    JetBlue2019-11-15
  4. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well with good will

    Cons

    Orver advance and soo on

    Advice to Management

    Create well environment in company

    JetBlue2019-07-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel Benefits, good pay, 401K match 5%, college degree program,

    Cons

    Zero work/life balance, culture is taking a serious negative turn, the more you climb the ladder the worse you are treated.

    JetBlue2019-07-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great mission & people with growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Attracts great people and talent. - Great product which customers love - The mission "Inspire Humanity", CSR and volunteer opportunities - Flight benefits! (other benefits are pretty good too, e.g 401K 5% match)

    Cons

    - Loss of talent including some of the best Sr Leaders. Made some financial commitments that they've not been meeting and squeezed now, - Cost-cutting and inadequate investment in systems needed to succeed in future - Lost engagement with some frontline Crewmembers and as a result, Flight and Inflight have unionized. Other departments could follow - Change management and related communication with Crewmemembers

    JetBlue2019-06-26
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Challenger Brand in Competitive Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never worked at a company quite like this one- culture is very, very, very important here, and it's at the heart of how the company operates. Anyone who enjoys aviation, or working for a challenger brand/disruptor, will love it here. It'll behoove any candidate to have a passion for working in aviation, and be serious about working with the customer in mind. The company is fairly young (19 years old) and... still has a bit of a "startup" feel to it. Especially in the US Airline industry, 19 is YOUNG in a landscape that's littered with entrenched legacy carriers and tons of mergers, bankruptcies and acquisitions. This puts JetBlue in a bit of a "disruptor" position which lends to a lot of interesting work opportunities on the corporate side. There's no shortage of projects to work on, and different things for technologists to sink their teeth into. It's definitely a job you can "live, eat and breathe." Those who are passionate about the industry will find plenty of ways, even in corporate roles, to get involved in/have an impact on the operation itself. There's a stress on the idea that corporate folk aren't just relegated to their desks, they're encouraged to step down from the "ivory tower" and rub shoulders with crewmembers in the operation. The company itself has a good "soul" as corny as that is to say. Our mission is to "inspire humanity" which sounds odd coming from an airline, but I've watched several times as that mission has come to life before mine (and my coworker's) eyes. Whether it was getting a daughter on a last-minute flight to see her mother before she passed, or volunteering on the ground in the wake of Hurricane Maria, you can see that the fabric of the work the company performs does bring back some humanity into our world. I love telling people I work for JetBlue because it's rare that I'll ever hear a negative sentiment from them about the company, which I don't think would be the case if I was working for one of the other major US carriers. The flight (and related travel) benefits are unreal, if you take the time to learn how to use them properly. You truly can use them to see the world for next to nothing. View them as part of your benefits/compensation package, it's no secret that pay overall in the airline industry isn't great, but if you put those travel bennies to use, you'll be making up that 20-30% salary increase you'd see in other industries. Besides the flight benefits, the rest of the benefits package is definitely satisfactory from my point of view. Health insurance has some sticker shock on the deductible level, but the HRA offered by the company (if used correctly) can effectively reduce that deductible down to a few hundred dollars in out-of-pocket cost. The 401K can be very lucrative as well, with the company providing as much as 10% of your annual salary in contributions. Compensation is, I'd say, in line with the rest of the industry. Don't come here (or to any airline) and expect to make bags of money in a salaried position. Cost control in this industry is tight. If cash compensation is your primary driver in choosing where you work, you may end up happier outside the airline industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a whole, my only true qualm is the lack of work-life balance, which takes shape in a few different ways. Most of the work-life balance challenges I've seen are really just centered around the 24/7 criticality of airline operations. Those who work in IT support positions for operational systems should be used to on-call life. IT leadership has recently committed to re-engineering systems and processes to reduce... the 3am phone calls and crisis bridges, which is great, but it's not likely that will ever disappear completely. Those who don't play a role in supporting operational systems should still be used to working overnights and off hours. Deployments and system maintenance are done overnight or on weekends to reduce operational impact. To most who've worked in IT, this isn't anything special, but my in division specifically (IT Infrastructure) this is made less tolerable by the fact that leadership doesn't seem to value flexible working arrangements. There's been many times I've worked an overnight or a 16 hour day deploying something, and still been encouraged to show up at the office at 9am. Very rarely am I offered "comp time" for working outside normal business hours. The company has a flexible work arrangement (FWA) policy allowing employees to create work-from-home agreements, or adjust work hours, but leadership is highly restrictive on who gets approved for these, and how they can be used. Most folks, if they do have an FWA in place, are restricted to at most 1 work from home day per week. This restrictiveness around work from home agreements and "comp time" is, as far as I can tell, not the company norm, and really only exists on the Infrastructure side of IT. Lastly, work-life balance is made difficult by a pretty abysmal PTO package. FT crewmembers only accrue 17 total days of PTO in their first year, which would sound okay if it weren't for the fact that this also includes sick/personal time. The company also only has 6 paid holidays each year, I was gobsmacked when I learned I'd have to use PTO to get off on Christmas Eve. PTO accrual bumps up slightly at the start of year 2, but doesn't really reach a level I'd call "fair" until year 5. In the company's defense, our PTO program is currently under review, and early signs point to a generous increase, so hopefully this will become a non-issue in the near future.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Install leaders that are ready to live the values, and trust the crewmembers underneath them.

    JetBlue2019-05-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flights benefits, hours are predictable

    Cons

    Internal opps lacking, recognition non-existing

    Advice to Management

    Develop talents

    JetBlue2019-03-04
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Cabin Crew Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity for advancement, fantastic travel benefits, competitive pay.

    Cons

    Sometimes the ideas brewing in some high level executive meeting rooms make their way into the frontlines, with zero checks and balances. Sometimes in the face of adversity, middle management will vaporize years of good will gained from their staff for the sake of the bottom line and to impress upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Optimization by means of stretching schedules, is always a bad idea. Your frontline employees i.e. Flight Attendant, Pilots, Check in personnel, are the reason this company rose so quickly and became the darling of aviation. Be mindful that by flying or working these employees to edge of the envelope with minimum rest days and not balancing that equation with pay packages, you burn the candle at both ends. This... exercise may look good in a quarterly financial report, but is demoralizing and eliminates your point of difference in regards to other US carriers, superlative customer service.

    Show More
    JetBlue2018-10-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    culture, flight benefits, pay, travel

    Cons

    lacked proper tools to assist customers, NE centric

    JetBlue2018-06-22
Found 42 reviews