Jessops Team Leader Reviews

Updated 6 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jessops Executive Chairman David Adams (no image)
David Adams
4 Ratings
  1. "A well paced challenge in the retail world"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Patchway, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jessops full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly staff throughout the ranks 5 weeks holiday Hourly pay is very good Customer base is fantastic

    Cons

    Progression is very slow but worth it Shift patterns

    Jessops2020-02-06
  2. "Great store to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Kingston upon Thames, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jessops full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Constantly learning, problem solving, communicating

    Cons

    indoor job, limited stock availability

    Jessops2019-07-25
  3. "Jessops"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jessops part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love photography and cameras it's the place for you, getting to grips with the latest tech and gear and talking about it all day long Keeping film photography and print alive opportunities to work in the Academy

    Cons

    Low pay for the amount of responsibility for the team leader retail work means you don't get much of a weekend, ever Vague contract Interference from area managers and head office, who don't know how different stores work

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-10-28
  4. "Easy Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jessops for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job no hard graft

    Cons

    No chance of progression through the company

    Jessops2017-04-20
  5. "Not bad, for retail."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Jessops full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generous bonus scheme, loan equipment for personal use, the possibility of relatively quick progression, you leave work at 6 and don't think about it until 9am the next day.

    Cons

    Low basic wage, angry customers aren't uncommon, targets for absolutely -everything-, little support from above.

    Continue reading
    Jessops2016-06-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great with people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager/Team Leader in Hereford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jessops

    Pros

    I was one of Herefords best sales/team leader and had the highest sales in the west. I was often commended by the managing director personally and had a great banter with employees and and customers. My services to the company were unparalleled. You work hard for the company and the company gives back. Mystery shoppers- were paramount back in the day. And our store (Hereford) had one of the top scores for the region with one of the hardest working teams.

    Cons

    Conference calls were a bit of a bother at the end of a busy shift. But we're sometimes necessary to boost sales. The point of sales (promotional posters) often changed to often. But this really only reflected a changing market to beat competitors prices.

    Continue reading
    Jessops2015-09-24
  7. "An OK job if you have a passion for cameras, but beware of KPI targets and lack of incentives."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jessops full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Get to try out the latest DSLR cameras and lenses. 2) If you're lucky, you can have great co-workers. 3) Very good competitions formulated by camera manufacturers (I have won a few cameras and a helicopter flight photography experience by completing quizzes)

    Cons

    1) If you work in a small store it is difficult to get a lunch break due to low head count of employees. 2) Sales process audit is a chore and can be unnatural (You have offer your name to every potential shopper and offer quotes to each customer if they're not buying which can be tedious if the store is busy) 3) Very little financial reward for doing a good job. (No commission on selling extra warranties etc.) 4) Hardly a day goes by when a customer points out that they can purchase a memory card for considerably cheaper online 5) Too focussed on KPI targets. Need to focus more on profit targets as sales of cameras with decent margins are being lost as workers are afraid to sell a camera by itself due to fear of not meeting KPI requirements (i.e. accompanying accessories such as memory cards, cases, repair protection plans etc.) 6) Too much paperwork and filing everyday. Wasting paper.

    Continue reading
    Jessops2012-12-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews