J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,261 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good hours for a student(in 393 reviews)

  • "Very flexible hours and contracts available(in 148 reviews)

Cons
  • "The recent shake up less managers and getting rid of team leaders(in 133 reviews)

  • "Only long hours as is all retail(in 132 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Loved the fixed shift patterns meant I could plan around things

    Cons

    Progression is looked at new entrants rather than current staff

    J Sainsbury2019-10-14
  2. "Counter Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Nothing really, it paid the bills

    Cons

    Often left to work alone, customers not understanding, daily tasks were tedious

    J Sainsbury2019-08-18
  3. "Online Shopper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with Quite flexible

    Cons

    Sometimes manage ment can be disorganised

    J Sainsbury2018-09-14
  4. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Enlaghdauroe
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    Fun team, got me through whilst still at school. Wouldn't personalllt pursue this as a career. Good if you just want something part-time.

    Cons

    No room for progression. Roles are standardised. What you'd expect in a basic supermarket role. Depends at you want out of it.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more responsibility. GreTer autonomy in a role will boost motivation and thus customer service. Career development into corporate.

    J Sainsbury2017-03-09
  5. "Pretty Good Company with High Standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trading Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very high standards compared to other supermarkets.

    Cons

    Management issues from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Employ better managers.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-20
  6. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Hertford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there were very nice people and managers

    Cons

    the pay and hours were negative

    Advice to Management

    unable to give specific feedback for jobs

    J Sainsbury2019-11-18
  7. "Good for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn how to deal with the general public Great team of Colleagues to work with Discount on shopping Supportive managers

    Cons

    Long hours on feet Not much room for progression Managers changing all the time Some managers with unrealistic expectations Short-staffed most of the time

    J Sainsbury2019-11-17
  8. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Trading Assistant 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Very welcoming staff members throughout

    Cons

    High pressure from management often

    J Sainsbury2019-11-18
  9. "Strong values, great work/life balance and desire to be more customer-centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salaries, Work/Life Balance, Values, People

    Cons

    Lack of budget for social events, changeable strategy, inconsistent leadership

    Advice to Management

    Focus on how to hire and retain good talent, invest in your people, and slow down on the constant restructures

    J Sainsbury2019-11-18
  10. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great environment to work in good benefits

    Cons

    managers don't do anything all work is piled onto newbies

    J Sainsbury2019-11-18
Found 3939 reviews