J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,331 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very ideal as a student with good pay(in 428 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and colleagues are supportive(in 154 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and often stressful as everyone must be multi skilled(in 144 reviews)

  • "The recent shake up less managers and getting rid of team leaders(in 133 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Loved the fixed shift patterns meant I could plan around things

    Cons

    Progression is looked at new entrants rather than current staff

    J Sainsbury2019-10-14
  2. "Counter Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Nothing really, it paid the bills

    Cons

    Often left to work alone, customers not understanding, daily tasks were tedious

    J Sainsbury2019-08-18
  3. "Online Shopper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with Quite flexible

    Cons

    Sometimes manage ment can be disorganised

    J Sainsbury2018-09-14
  4. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Enlaghdauroe
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    Fun team, got me through whilst still at school. Wouldn't personalllt pursue this as a career. Good if you just want something part-time.

    Cons

    No room for progression. Roles are standardised. What you'd expect in a basic supermarket role. Depends at you want out of it.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more responsibility. GreTer autonomy in a role will boost motivation and thus customer service. Career development into corporate.

    J Sainsbury2017-03-09
  5. "Good Staff Poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Petrol 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good wage - Friendly Staff - Fairly Easy - Petrol Station has benefits over regular store

    Cons

    - Petrol station managers more interested in the main store - unfamiliar with many aspects of the petrol station meaning petrol staff need to sort out problems alone if things go wrong - Often send over untrained staff from the main store to cover absent collegues. Not only is this potentially dangerous (They don't know any of the health and safety training), it means secondary jobs expected to be completed over the shift cant be done - Absence policy is quite strict

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Better train Managers in charge of petrol stations - Only allow petrol trained colleagues in petrol

    J Sainsbury2020-01-27
  6. "Sainsbury's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Particular nice customers, nice team

    Cons

    Too much workload, management needs sorting out

    Advice to Management

    Get it together

    J Sainsbury2020-01-27
  7. "Leader of Regional team delivering business strategy through people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and massive opportunity

    Cons

    Slow to move forward at times

    Advice to Management

    We are on a path to great things, just keep moving forward at pace

    J Sainsbury2020-01-25
  8. "Average pay but great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, nice food

    Cons

    None, all good and great people

    J Sainsbury2020-01-24
  9. "Good, simple work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Assistant in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Simple, easy, good pay for what we do.

    Cons

    Mundane, boring, not enough contact with management.

    Advice to Management

    Have more group huddles holidays, achievements, etc. The only time I had a chat with the dept. manager was when I wasn't meeting targets and hardly ever got praised when I consistently met targets or even exceeded them. Needs to be more positive encouragement instead of feeling like your being told off.

    J Sainsbury2020-01-24
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Good - good employer - fair

    Cons

    Hard to reach higher management

    J Sainsbury2020-01-23
Found 4137 reviews