J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Meh overall. Don't stay here forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free lunches - Decent pay if you're young but it's not a viable option long term -Good bonuses but only if your pub is profitable

    Cons

    -Stress -Long hours -Childish "high school clique" culture in some pubs but not all -Always under staffed

    Advice to Management

    Work on shift with staff more often and actually get to see what it's like in the fray. We're not moaning about long hours and understaffing for no reason

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-27
  2. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    hire without previous bar experience highly flexible working hours

    Cons

    fast paced environment always short staffed cheap prices attract unpleasant crowd

    Advice to Management

    focus on the quality of service and general staff morale by having more staff on

    J D Wetherspoon2017-10-30
  3. "Team leader of bar staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Hounslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well run company with good benefits

    Cons

    working hours include late nights

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-28
  4. "Standard Pub work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, paid on a weekly basis

    Cons

    Rude Customers, Long shifts and work patterns

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-01
  5. "I want to take a new challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It gives good benefits for the employees

    Cons

    I haven't felt any downside of this company

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-03
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with a good team Pays more than minimum wage- but you definitely earn it! Always hours available

    Cons

    At times the place is understaffed which can make work even more stressful, late, unsociable hours- but that’s expected.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-07
  7. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, tips, bonus potential

    Cons

    Dealing with obnoxious customers all day every day

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-20
  8. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, bonus schemes and very busy, faced paced environment to work in. Also a great sociable job which allows you to interact with a wide range of people.

    Cons

    Having to work weekends and Holidays.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-19
  9. "Interesting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Team Leader 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Most staff were friendly and helpful

    Cons

    - extremely tough (physically) work during busy periods (meeting 10min food times) - long hours (especially on the close/open) - Pretty bad pay - Disorganised (the one I was at anyway)

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-06
  10. "Great for students, helped all throughout uni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked on and off along side uni for the past 3 years and always been very flexible with shifts and hours. Good progression opportunities if you are willing to work hard

    Cons

    long hours, busy shifts with no/little break time, late nights/early mornings, often tiring rota due to different shift all in a week

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-07
Found 75 reviews