J D Wetherspoon Bar/Floor Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Bar/Floor Associate

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1182 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
483 Ratings
  1. "Na na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Well so far training has been well received

      Cons

      I have not been in employment long enough

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-15
    • "Bar Staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Good job for college, fun staff

      Cons

      Lots of nepotism with promotions

      J D Wetherspoon2019-01-12

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time working for the company. We will review your feedback about the promotion process to see if there are improvements we can make

    • Helpful (1)

      "Good in the beginning but went downhill"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Started working in a brand new Wetherspoons. At the beginning it was enjoyable but after a few months the hours allocated to the pub were cut. Half price food during shift Staff are friendly Training

      Cons

      Not enough people on shift... sometimes couldn't even have a break because there was no one there to cover Expected to make your own way home at night, taxi's not subsidised Poorly managed and obvious favouritism Wage Kitchen manager didn't care about customers

      J D Wetherspoon2018-08-09
    • "Great place to work during college..just beaware of the millennials"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Management very considerate of your working shifts and basically allow you to give them your availability and will keep your shifts as constant as the business allows. Discount on food on and off shift. No bar experience required which is great. Fun environment with a young staff base even if it is very busy at times, hard work pulling pints and clearing tables won't kill ya

      Cons

      Millennials. BEAWARE of them. Lots of generation Y in employment there as it is a young staff base (the nature of the job). While a lot of the staff are very hardworking and appreciate having a job,..some get very comfortable and believe that when management ask them to complete a task that its not fair or its unreasonable for the management of even Team Leaders to do so. Very frustrating working with those that have...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Nothing at pub level, there is a good level of expectation and the pub manager will always help push you to get the best out of you. At a company level I think there needs to be more appraisals with the management team..there are some good young managers there but I know the company have lost a few due to not feeling supported enough by the upper end of the hierarchy.

      J D Wetherspoon2018-06-28

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      July 3, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

      Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings

    • Helpful (1)

      "Handy for students but a terrible company to have a career with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shift Manager in Dún Laoghaire
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It's fairly easy to progress within the company as long as you show that you're capable and are willing to stay in the job a while. Staff are able to pretty much pick and choose their shifts so it's good for students/part-timers who need flexible hours. Good sense of community among junior staff.

      Cons

      Awful company culture. Most senior management are disinterested, have little knowledge of bar work and are just trying to cling onto their jobs. Sexual harassment is rife within the company, especially from some of the pub managers they've brought over from England. Bar and floor setup is daft and impractical for a busy operation. Most of the pub managers and management above pub level have been working for wetherspoons...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Look closely at your competition and adapt. There are a few outlets in Ireland that have a similar business model to Wetherspoons and are able to maintain much higher service standards and working conditions for staff. Don't harp on about cutting the wage cost unless you're willing to cut down on staff workload and improve efficiency so that pubs can cope with fewer staff. Try to attract people who've worked in hospitality...

      Show More
      J D Wetherspoon2018-06-25

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      July 3, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

      We are sorry you had such a negative experience, If you feel you have been mis-treated, this is something we do not tolerate and would like to investigate further if you want to get in touch with the recruitment team.

    • "Kitchen assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

        Pros

        Entre level easy to get job

        Cons

        They call you to work whenever someone call sick

        J D Wetherspoon2018-05-26
      • "Great for part time work, terrible for full time"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dún Laoghaire
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        easy to pick up extra shifts, fun people to work with, 20% discount on food and drink when off shift and 50% off food when on shift, good opportunities for promotion within the pub and internships etc sometimes available in head office

        Cons

        a lot of employee turnover, pay is only slightly above minimum wage, no tips, long hours

        Advice to Management

        Pay a living wage, be fairer when rostering for weekends/lates

        J D Wetherspoon2018-02-05
      • "Profit hungry"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Shift Leader in Dublin, Dublin
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Lot of hours available Free meal on shift Colleagues and pub managers were great Take on a lot of young staff giving them a start Worked around college hours Okay bonuses Good promotion oppertunities

        Cons

        The company is profit hungry and will short staff as much as possible Working conditions are not great- getting a full break uninterrupted is impossible Badly designed bar layouts Very unsociable hours Shift leader pay is terrible since you're basically performing a shift managers role (opening and closing the pub on your own) It could be extremely busy but you're only selling cheap pints so the pub is considered...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Care more about staff Fixing the short staffing issues- it turns customers away and makes staff hate the job Replace upper management Cheap prices means a rough clientele so security staff are needed Pay shift leaders and shift managers more for the work they put in

        J D Wetherspoon2018-01-12
      • "Fantastic opportunities for progression"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Shift Leader in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great colleagues, a lot of hours to be had if wanted, easy job. Bonuses for achieving targets.

        Cons

        Unsociable hours - 6am start, late finishes. I do feel as do shift leaders deserve a euro or so more an hour considering how much is demanded of them. There are other cons like being understaffed at times, however I understand the company needs to reduce hours to safe money so in the grand scheme of things it doesn't bother me.

        Advice to Management

        Given the nature of the work/industry and how much the company is willing to do for it's staff there are very few improvements I could make.

        J D Wetherspoon2017-10-30

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

        Thank you for the positive feedback

      • "Bar associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Team Leader in Cork
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        hire without previous bar experience highly flexible working hours

        Cons

        fast paced environment always short staffed cheap prices attract unpleasant crowd

        Advice to Management

        focus on the quality of service and general staff morale by having more staff on

        J D Wetherspoon2017-10-30

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

        Thank you for the feedback

      Found 1182 reviews