J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Kitchen Associate

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
51 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work during college..just beaware of the millennials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management very considerate of your working shifts and basically allow you to give them your availability and will keep your shifts as constant as the business allows. Discount on food on and off shift. No bar experience required which is great. Fun environment with a young staff base even if it is very busy at times, hard work pulling pints and clearing tables won't kill ya

    Cons

    Millennials. BEAWARE of them. Lots of generation Y in employment there as it is a young staff base (the nature of the job). While a lot of the staff are very hardworking and appreciate having a job,..some get very comfortable and believe that when management ask them to complete a task that its not fair or its unreasonable for the management of even Team Leaders to do so. Very frustrating working with those that have never experienced hard work and expect everything to be easy for them. That's why a lot that leave for another job come crawling back when they realise how good they had it here.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 3, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings

    Continue reading
  2. "Not too bad for a college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Associate in Blackrock, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Flexible hours - You can talk to your manager about what hours you prefer and would like to work Teamwork experience - Lots of time spent working as a team.

    Cons

    Very stressful - It's a very busy and stressful job, if you're not moving fast enough you get shouted at. Minimum Wage

    J D Wetherspoon2016-10-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 28, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we would encourage that if you are feeling overly stressed at work to speak to to your pub manager.

    Continue reading
  3. "Kitchen Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    - High staff turnover often affected team atmosphere. Hard to connect with a close-knit team.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-21
  4. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Discount Wear you own clothes to a degree

    Cons

    Low pay Under staffed Not enough breaks

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-11
  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Ferndown, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management team are a friendly , encouraging , fast pace team that are always pushing their staff to the best of their abilities because they want what is best with us. I’d say the Rotas are quite flexible and they try their best to fit the rotas to our best interest. You get payed weekly.

    Cons

    Can be short staffed so can be stressful . Hours can be unsociable.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-24
  6. "understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Made time for me to go to school, I had a great team

    Cons

    constantly understaffed, minimum wage, thrown in the deep end with minimal training

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-30
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Decent rate of pay, particularly for under 21s Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Not as many hours as there could be

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-11
  8. "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Kirkcaldy, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Good bonuses Staff discount

    Cons

    Shocking management Understaffed Get shouted at for wanting a break

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-15
  9. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fairly flexible working. Pay is quite good compared to work at a similar level

    Cons

    Get the impression the company cares about revenue above all else

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-11
  10. "Great workplace, but depends who you work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Reading, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good challenge, nice people, decent bonuses when hit

    Cons

    Lazy staff, long hours if not organised

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 123 reviews