J D Wetherspoon Bartender Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
34%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
19 Ratings
  1. "Perfect for flexible work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Dún Laoghaire
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great for flexible work Discounted alcohol, food and hotel

    Cons

    Overworked if full time Not suitable to those looking for career in bartending Management and training lackluster High employee turnover

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-22
  2. "The worst job I've had."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% staff discount off shift at all Wetherspoon's across Ireland and the UK, including hotels. 50% off while on shift.

    Cons

    Overworked, understaffed. Not very well paid. Management are very unprofessional. No care at all for staff welfare. Very high staff turnaround. No training will be provided, despite saying that full training will be provided and despite it being illegal to handle and serve food to the public without specific training. Terrible hours, "full time" contracted workers will not be contracted for 35 hours. They will tell you that you will get more than your contracted hours, but don't bet on it.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-28
  3. "Good pay"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Bartender in London, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good pay Nice people Management are nice

    Cons

    hard work Customers can be demanding very busy environment

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-29
  4. "Great training"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Sowerby Bridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    training and products are very good

    Cons

    be prepared to do the work of 2 people

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-14
  5. "OKAY"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DISCOUNT SOCIAL fun enjoyable food

    Cons

    TREATMENT hours tiring rude customers

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-12
  6. "A Good Starter Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible Hours -Good Social Life -Free meal on shift -Bonus

    Cons

    -Clique mentality -Have to deal with drunk/ angry customers

    J D Wetherspoon2020-04-28
  7. "Awful"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Bartender in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awful Bad Terrible Horrid Nasty

    Cons

    Do not get a job here

    J D Wetherspoon2020-04-20
  8. "Stressful and overworked but good pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and staff benefits

    Cons

    Very highly stressful environment with a generally under experienced managing team. As to be expected, the customers in Wetherspoons can be very rude and aggressive since it’s often a place students will binge drink.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-21
  9. "Alright part time work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good hours if wanted good bonuses

    Cons

    finishing times often late if in town parking is a pain did not train fully

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-13
  10. "Horrible company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly cannot think of anything

    Cons

    I worked in several pubs across the UK. Was paid minimum wage, which at the time was £4 below the London living wage. The billionaire CEO has the money to fill his pubs with right-wing propaganda but won't pay his staff decent wages.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-14
Found 46 reviews