J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Bar Associate

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
119 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to work with great people, who had a sense of team spirit. The managers took into account my availability when creating rosters and look after their staff. I really enjoyed my time at Wetherspoons as it was a fun place to work.

    Cons

    Low to non existence tips unlike in other waitressing/bar work, which is annoying when you start as a bar associate on minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Some line managers need to work on their skill set- some lacked the personal skills necessary to manage people effectively.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-01-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good in the beginning but went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Started working in a brand new Wetherspoons. At the beginning it was enjoyable but after a few months the hours allocated to the pub were cut. Half price food during shift Staff are friendly Training

    Cons

    Not enough people on shift... sometimes couldn't even have a break because there was no one there to cover Expected to make your own way home at night, taxi's not subsidised Poorly managed and obvious favouritism Wage Kitchen manager didn't care about customers

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-09
  3. "Great place to work and progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar & Floor Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Great staff Friendly atmosphere Easy to progress

    Cons

    Awkward shift patterns making it hard to have a work/life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-27
  4. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good staff, managers are understanding of difficult circumstances. Good progression

    Cons

    Customers can be difficult, if you’re a senior member of staff you can be given a lot of responsibility

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-25
  5. "Working at spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People you work with Free food

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Sometimes bad colleagues Hours vary weekly

    Advice to Management

    Fire useless members of staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-22
  6. "J D Wetherspoon Staff Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No zero hour contracts. Free meal on break. Do not hire managers from outside company.

    Cons

    Working weekends. Combination of Late and Early shifts in one week with no pattern, and no consistence from one week to another, leaves you exhausted and with no life outside work.

    Advice to Management

    Enforce a system of alternating weeks of early shifts and late shifts, and also alternating working weekends and not. This would give staff the opportunity to plan their lives outside of work, months in advance rather than days, and would also allow a sleeping pattern to form. Employees would be healthier and more satisfied with life, and more grateful of the company thus more motivated to perform well at work.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-23
  7. "Good job for Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team, good social job

    Cons

    Long hours, alot of weekends, had chnage of managers quite a bit, some bad some good.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-03
  8. "Enjoyed working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team, fun job, good discount

    Cons

    No bonuses and not allowed to keep tips

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-17
  9. "Varies from pub to pub but usually not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to move between pubs Flexible work hours Pub environment can sometimes be enjoyable

    Cons

    Not great pay Long hours - closes at busy pubs are a nightmare Can get very difficult customers Just not that fun to work for - very slow progression if you move pubs

    Advice to Management

    Some managers need to do more work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-28
  10. "Bar and floor work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Work environment is good Good benefits

    Cons

    Busy periods can be difficult to manage

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-11
Found 291 reviews