J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
124 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to work with great people, who had a sense of team spirit. The managers took into account my availability when creating rosters and look after their staff. I really enjoyed my time at Wetherspoons as it was a fun place to work.

    Cons

    Low to non existence tips unlike in other waitressing/bar work, which is annoying when you start as a bar associate on minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Some line managers need to work on their skill set- some lacked the personal skills necessary to manage people effectively.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-01-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good in the beginning but went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Started working in a brand new Wetherspoons. At the beginning it was enjoyable but after a few months the hours allocated to the pub were cut. Half price food during shift Staff are friendly Training

    Cons

    Not enough people on shift... sometimes couldn't even have a break because there was no one there to cover Expected to make your own way home at night, taxi's not subsidised Poorly managed and obvious favouritism Wage Kitchen manager didn't care about customers

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-09
  3. "It’s great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well nice people good hours

    Cons

    A b c d e

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-16
  4. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    These reason will include : bonuses, progression, pay, management.

    Cons

    There is nothing to report in this section great place to work

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-15
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment Good training

    Cons

    Long hours Short breaks Minimum wage

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-14
  6. "Fun job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great at university to meet people in same position as you and gives you great experience working in what can at times be a challenging environment.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t the best but is to be expected.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-12
  7. "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and management are understanding of individuals circumstances and cater to help where they can

    Cons

    Last minute shift changes or confusion with rotas

    Advice to Management

    Online rota system kept up to date to save confusion

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-10
  8. "Working at Wetherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Bar Associate in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    Simple work Great colleagues Understanding management Really easy to step up to higher roles

    Cons

    Repetitive work so it gets boring after a while

    Advice to Management

    No sick pay

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-26
  9. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent system for breaks, free meal & drink for a shift 6+ hours, LOVE weekly pay!

    Cons

    A wetherspoon employee's experience depends entirely on who else works at their pub, especially management. Sometimes it's amazing, sometimes you want to rip your own head off.

    Advice to Management

    Be a bit nicer to university students who have more going on in their life than just working at spoons

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-26
  10. "Good Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Llandudno, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of hours for staff

    Cons

    your just a number there

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-08
Found 308 reviews