J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Associate

J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 335 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
147 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work during college..just beaware of the millennials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Management very considerate of your working shifts and basically allow you to give them your availability and will keep your shifts as constant as the business allows. Discount on food on and off shift. No bar experience required which is great. Fun environment with a young staff base even if it is very busy at times, hard work pulling pints and clearing tables won't kill ya

    Cons

    Millennials. BEAWARE of them. Lots of generation Y in employment there as it is a young staff base (the nature of the job). While a lot of the staff are very hardworking and appreciate having a job,..some get very comfortable and believe that when management ask them to complete a task that its not fair or its unreasonable for the management of even Team Leaders to do so. Very frustrating working with those that have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing at pub level, there is a good level of expectation and the pub manager will always help push you to get the best out of you. At a company level I think there needs to be more appraisals with the management team..there are some good young managers there but I know the company have lost a few due to not feeling supported enough by the upper end of the hierarchy.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 3, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good in the beginning but went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Started working in a brand new Wetherspoons. At the beginning it was enjoyable but after a few months the hours allocated to the pub were cut. Half price food during shift Staff are friendly Training

    Cons

    Not enough people on shift... sometimes couldn't even have a break because there was no one there to cover Expected to make your own way home at night, taxi's not subsidised Poorly managed and obvious favouritism Wage Kitchen manager didn't care about customers

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-09
  3. "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to work with great people, who had a sense of team spirit. The managers took into account my availability when creating rosters and look after their staff. I really enjoyed my time at Wetherspoons as it was a fun place to work.

    Cons

    Low to non existence tips unlike in other waitressing/bar work, which is annoying when you start as a bar associate on minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Some line managers need to work on their skill set- some lacked the personal skills necessary to manage people effectively.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-01-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 31, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  4. "Not too bad for a college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Blackrock, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Flexible hours - You can talk to your manager about what hours you prefer and would like to work Teamwork experience - Lots of time spent working as a team.

    Cons

    Very stressful - It's a very busy and stressful job, if you're not moving fast enough you get shouted at. Minimum Wage

    J D Wetherspoon2016-10-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 28, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we would encourage that if you are feeling overly stressed at work to speak to to your pub manager.

  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Associate 

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Pay is very good and get bonus

      Cons

      Shifts didn’t suit me during night

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-28
    • "Reliable work, got the hours needed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar Associate in Cardiff, Wales
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours, high pay for bar work, good social aspect

      Cons

      Hard to manage due to worker to management ratio Customers are often rude

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
    • "Unfriendly bar management team , busy , friendly associates (York Postern Gate)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate in York, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Discounted meals are useful on the low wages

      Cons

      No proper training ....just get on with it Staff room appallingly small , you are supposed to eat in the same place sweaty colleagues are changing clothes , male and female in this barely 2m2 little cubicle of a room. Management seemed to talk to me only when I had made mistakes Because of owner some members of staff have jumped on the anti-foreign bandwagon

      Advice to Management

      Embrace all people

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-09
    • "Floor Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Excellent weekly pay and Flexible hours

      Cons

      Can be boring and less availability to work on the bar

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-22
    • "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      decent environment for working in

      Cons

      always closing, so get home late

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
    • "Bar associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar Associate 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Good for overall development

      Cons

      Easy to get stuck in the job

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-15
    Found 335 reviews