J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 367 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
156 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work during college..just beaware of the millennials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management very considerate of your working shifts and basically allow you to give them your availability and will keep your shifts as constant as the business allows. Discount on food on and off shift. No bar experience required which is great. Fun environment with a young staff base even if it is very busy at times, hard work pulling pints and clearing tables won't kill ya

    Cons

    Millennials. BEAWARE of them. Lots of generation Y in employment there as it is a young staff base (the nature of the job). While a lot of the staff are very hardworking and appreciate having a job,..some get very comfortable and believe that when management ask them to complete a task that its not fair or its unreasonable for the management of even Team Leaders to do so. Very frustrating working with those that have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing at pub level, there is a good level of expectation and the pub manager will always help push you to get the best out of you. At a company level I think there needs to be more appraisals with the management team..there are some good young managers there but I know the company have lost a few due to not feeling supported enough by the upper end of the hierarchy.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 3, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good in the beginning but went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Started working in a brand new Wetherspoons. At the beginning it was enjoyable but after a few months the hours allocated to the pub were cut. Half price food during shift Staff are friendly Training

    Cons

    Not enough people on shift... sometimes couldn't even have a break because there was no one there to cover Expected to make your own way home at night, taxi's not subsidised Poorly managed and obvious favouritism Wage Kitchen manager didn't care about customers

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-09
  3. "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to work with great people, who had a sense of team spirit. The managers took into account my availability when creating rosters and look after their staff. I really enjoyed my time at Wetherspoons as it was a fun place to work.

    Cons

    Low to non existence tips unlike in other waitressing/bar work, which is annoying when you start as a bar associate on minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Some line managers need to work on their skill set- some lacked the personal skills necessary to manage people effectively.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-01-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 31, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  4. "Not too bad for a college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Blackrock, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Flexible hours - You can talk to your manager about what hours you prefer and would like to work Teamwork experience - Lots of time spent working as a team.

    Cons

    Very stressful - It's a very busy and stressful job, if you're not moving fast enough you get shouted at. Minimum Wage

    J D Wetherspoon2016-10-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 28, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we would encourage that if you are feeling overly stressed at work to speak to to your pub manager.

  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Sale, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good money and good environment

    Cons

    working hours and management aren't too good

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-13
  6. "Good company, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    20% discount Good work experience for the field

    Cons

    Bad management Long hours Short breaks, if received

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-21
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Work, decent people, music in kitchen etc, nice food

    Cons

    long hours sometimes - 14-16 hour shifts if it went bad!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-06
  8. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% shift discount and 20% off shift discount. Meeting friends.

    Cons

    The customers tend to get very nasty especially after a drink. The managers get very stressed and take it out on the associate's . The regulars who spend lots of money 12h 7 days a week in the pub are rude to staff but don't get barred because they are brining in so much money, we have to just "take it on the chin"

    Advice to Management

    Bar people who are mean to staff instead of just letting them get away with it

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-20
  9. "Good first job; bad work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, can listen to music on shift, busy

    Cons

    Never get the rota on time, too high turnover rate

    Advice to Management

    Pay us more!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-21
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hours sometimes flexible good holiday pay training and uniform provided

    Cons

    no progression no raises too much work no appreciation rota keeps changing

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-15
Found 367 reviews