Intel Corporation "big company" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Intel Corporation Employee Reviews about "big company"

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Intel Corporation Interim CEO  Bob Swan
Bob Swan
1,237 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "big company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Intel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    With such a big company, you can move around in positions to find your ideal role.

    Cons

    Alot of processes are Intel specific, and not common across other industries.

    Intel Corporation2019-09-11
  2. "Nice place to work and pays well, but did not gain much experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Co-Op in Leixlip
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intel Corporation

    Pros

    People were very friendly and I felt very welcome starting out. The company seems very focused on making sure work wasn't the only thing in your life and my manager was very nice when it came to things like getting time off to go to the post office or the doctor when necessary. This is not the kind of place where they demand you clock in at the right time every day or that counts the minutes you take for a break. Even upper management are very approachable and friendly. The pay is also pretty generous for an internship position and even as an intern you are eligible for bonuses. Also, very easy place to get to and to park.

    Show More

    Cons

    I didn't feel very challenged in the role and I came away not really having learned anything, which is something I was really hoping to get out of an internship. There really wasn't any particular plan for what I was supposed to do and not nearly enough work to keep me busy for most of the time I was there. I was expecting something a lot more structured from a big company like this who take a lot of interns in. I don't really feel like if I'm applying for more jobs after graduating I really have anything in particular to put on my CV or to talk about in an interview. I will say that this was not the experience of all interns and some really did get some real responsibility and the chance to work on interesting projects, but I also wasn't the only one who had this problem either.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Know exactly what interns will be doing when they arrive. If a manger is getting one, make sure they actually have enough work lined up that they can be kept busy all the time.

    Intel Corporation2016-10-01
  3. "Mo Money Mo Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - DevOps Architect 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intel Corporation

    Pros

    Showered with top of the line tools, office equipment, trips

    Cons

    Big company, big bureaucracy, big bets, big changes

    Advice to Management

    Modernize and adopt more lean, agile, OODA approaches based on feedback and adjustment to your Product and Project management. Don't just throw cash at a team for a few years without closely monitoring and adjusting strategy and in the end just abruptly cancelling projects without warning.

    Intel Corporation2020-01-08
  4. "Good company, good terms, great ppl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Software Engineer 

    I worked at Intel Corporation part-time

    Pros

    Fixed hours, a big company

    Cons

    S a l a r y

    Intel Corporation2019-12-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nothing but a mobbing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HW Engineer in Munich, Bavaria
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intel Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a big company, there is the possibility to change

    Cons

    Miserable management. And the collegues who just wait to be kissed by them. Kiss-up kick-down environment.

    Intel Corporation2020-01-15
  6. "A ravenous wolf in sheep's clothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Munich, Bavaria
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intel Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Difficult to find anything positive. It is a big company.

    Cons

    As in the headline, it is a wolf in sheep's clothing. They pretend to have a code of conduct, this is only smoke and mirrors.

    Intel Corporation2020-01-03
  7. "A mobbing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HW Engineer in Munich, Bavaria
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intel Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a big company and there is the possibility to change.

    Cons

    A company that doesn't have any principle. Employees are just a commodity to get rid of when they need "space".

    Intel Corporation2019-12-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "16 Years at Intel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Intel Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Big company with many opportunities. There are lots of smart people. Good training opportunities.

    Cons

    Lack of integrity of the management. Intel benefits look good on paper but are not honored by middle management. Intel has a crisis culture that burns people out. The internal bureaucracy is mind boggling and often costs vast amounts of time for the simplest tasks. The work spaces are loud and there is limited janitorial staff. IT services make the DMV look efficient. Work days are filled with useless meetings during which most employees ignore the topic to send email. Public humiliation is considered good leadership by management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honor your benefits packages for vacation and respect FMLA labor laws. I sadly found out that these policies are not worth anything since middle management does not honor these policies and senior management does not value its people. Treat your employees like they matter instead of disposable equipment. After 16 years I left for a better culture and better pay. I would not consider returning to Intel unless the dysfunctional corporate culture is corrected.

    Show More
    Intel Corporation2019-12-24
  9. "great company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Haifa
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intel Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Intel has a great culture and a pleasant environment. I have many smart people I work with. The work is challenging and I have many room to grow.

    Cons

    It's a big company, so it is hard to play a big role.

    Intel Corporation2019-11-15
  10. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Materials Analysis Engineer in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every day is different, great coworkers, pay/benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    Big company but new management are changing things for the better.

    Intel Corporation2019-11-09
Found 431 reviews