Iceland Foods Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Iceland Foods Store Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are great and work hard

    Cons

    Under funded and over worked, expects leadership to work for free to make up shortfall even though the company continues to post massive profits.

    Advice to Management

    Don't join.

    Iceland Foods2019-10-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awful business to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Store Manager pay is fair

    Cons

    Bullying Management culture. Store Managers are expected to work between 12-14 hour daily shifts as a glorified shelf filler as wage allowance for stores are so pitiful. Lots of colleague sickness every week which The business will not support you on . Lots of churn with staff coming and going constantly. Unreasonable demands by The business who are more concerned about their KPI figures and not interested in store... colleagues , development of colleagues and morale. Never enough wage allowance built into the store allowance to action all management processes and to further develop colleagues. Awful business to work for. Glad I left and found a responsible employer who value their colleagues. If you want to work a ridiculous amount of hours and work in fear and constant threats of losing your job then this is the job for you !

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat colleagues with respect - they are not just a number. Stop the 1980’s style bullying and threats about losing their jobs . Value and develop your colleagues, you may find that colleague retention , morale and performance is far greater.

    Iceland Foods2019-10-18
  3. "No home life/ work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small teams with a family feel

    Cons

    lots of hours, not enough support and hours to get the work done

    Iceland Foods2019-08-18
  4. "It could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary If you have a good team could be a good working enviroment

    Cons

    No organisation in the company

    Iceland Foods2019-08-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced kept busy Hardworking colleagues

    Cons

    No work life balance Too many expectations with not enough support

    Iceland Foods2019-06-27
  6. "Availability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best company to work for

    Cons

    Working more the contracted hours

    Iceland Foods2019-06-05
  7. "Hard work but enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are constantly listening and trying new ways of improving the business.

    Cons

    Food retail is never going to be an easy job but it’s what you make of it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and making the right choices for the business and its teams.

    Iceland Foods2019-03-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I progressed quickly within the organisation and was given a lot of responsibility quickly. This allowed me to learn a lot within a short period of time.

    Cons

    No work life balance, unsupportive of commitments out of work, no flexible working, made to step down post maternity leave as i didn't want to work full time. No consideration of a job share.

    Advice to Management

    This job is a good position if you want to be fully engulfed in a fast paced, high pressured culture. However, it is not a role that I would recommend for anyone who is looking for any sort of work-life balance.

    Iceland Foods2019-03-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time

    Pros

    Team is great to work with

    Cons

    No loyalty to staff that have worked way up to store management. Best to come in from outside company.

    Iceland Foods2019-01-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Peterlee, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only been there for 6 weeks but it's a perfect fit and I've been made to feel welcome. The people are fantastic and have a great work ethic. Everyone from Victoria in recruitment to my area manager Neil have made me feel part of the iceland family.

    Cons

    There hasn't been any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and excellent rewards for the teams.

    Iceland Foods2018-12-11
Found 59 reviews