IBM Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

IBM Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
17,717 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great colleagues and management - people care!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people, tons of learning resources, emphasis on personal and professional development.

    Cons

    Similar to working in any large organization, sometimes there are a few extra layers of red tape before things can get rolling.

    IBM2019-09-26
  2. "data scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    I like it a lot

    Cons

    I have to commute everyday

    IBM2019-03-03
  3. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    workplace atmosphere commissions pension fund work-life balanced gym

    Cons

    location no healthcare food beverages work from home very limited

    IBM2019-12-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company in need of a reset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    working environment, benefits, pay, colleagues

    Cons

    Old-fashioned go to market strategy, losing the battle in cloud and SaaS, management is living in the past, lack of accountability

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and modernise the business. Make sure your actions match your words and the focus on key parts of the business is matched by the incentives to sell them.

    IBM2019-11-21
  5. "Options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Company provides access to endless development tools. Excellent benefits and relocation opportunities.

    Cons

    The company can appear as a ''dinosaur'' to those not patient and proactive in the first months of employment.

    IBM2019-11-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance at ibm.

    Cons

    boring company, no benefits, not even free coffee

    IBM2019-11-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's okay, but there is a limit to how long you would like to stay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - decent salary - flexible working hours - easygoing atmosphere -onsite gym

    Cons

    - poor management - no career path - constant shifting of boundaries - appalling communication - poor job satisfaction

    Advice to Management

    Start managing, recognising and rewarding people who work hard but go under the radar.

    IBM2019-11-26
  8. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, great work life balance

    Cons

    Too old, processes, not flexible, politics

    IBM2019-10-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Poor management skills. Bums working in IBM for many years get promoted without any skills assessment

    Advice to Management

    Go to market and replace your top line management from Leading tech firms

    IBM2019-11-08
  10. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    it was a team oriented atmosphere

    Cons

    I have no major cons to share

    IBM2019-10-25
Found 48274 reviews
</>Embed