IBM Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

IBM Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46097 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
17194 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lovely people, flexible hours and community

    Cons

    Slow to change and inform employees of the direction of IBM. Where are we going? How are we getting there? Redundancies of Operational Staff.

    Advice to Management

    Manage the people before they leave the business

    IBM2018-08-08
  2. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    working hours flexible especially working from home

    Cons

    more clarity on how projects align with business needs earlier on in project initiation

    IBM2019-08-20
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best place for self starters. Autonomous working is encouraged and there are vast amounts of career options available when you want change

    Cons

    Cost of going to work - IBM does not do free tea/coffee/food etc and location means travel must be factored in too.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better - Emails from CEO's and GM's are not enough - local updates are not available. Very often opportunities are missed in this way

    IBM2019-08-19
  4. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly. Good promotional opportunities.

    Cons

    Disconnect and lack of communications between departments.

    IBM2019-08-18
  5. "Good structured environment with lots of upside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Big emphasize on learning with many resources available to help - Get the chance to work with some really great / clever people - Many campuses have been refurbed providing good facilities - Overall strong package with good pay

    Cons

    - Very competitive market landscape leaks into pressure at work - Super large organization so you got to build your connections - Best career advancement possibilities at key campus locations - Way too many reorgs - with too little context

    Advice to Management

    - Need to slow down the reorgs - Provide more market context for work (what problem are we trying to solve - for who) - Actively engage on career opportunities - many managers are too busy and just point you to the online resources

    IBM2019-08-16
  6. "SW engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and allows to work from home, company culture.

    Cons

    Differences between teams. Work not properly structured.

    IBM2019-08-08
  7. "Opportunity is there for the taking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working. Lots of opportunities to make your career at IBM -very diverse business areas so you can move around and get valuable experience and do different things.

    Cons

    Its a huge organisation so with that come a certain level of bureauracy

    Advice to Management

    Share your strategy with employees

    IBM2019-08-09
  8. "Sales and Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst Senior Professional in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best learning place to work in a corporate culture

    Cons

    Couldn't realy find any, I used to love my work.

    IBM2019-07-29
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work so far

    Cons

    none that jump out immediately

    IBM2019-07-25
  10. "Nice and Friendly place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Stability, Flexibility, Friendly environment, Car spaces

    Cons

    Low wages, Low benefits, Old technologies

    IBM2019-08-08
Found 46097 reviews