Hyatt Banquet Server Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hyatt Banquet Server Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Hyatt President and CEO Mark S. Hoplamazian
Mark S. Hoplamazian
7 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very well paid Good benefits Excellent management

    Cons

    Very odd hours Late hours in summer

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing team at lake Washington!

    Hyatt2020-01-15
  2. "Hyatt is a cheap company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Server in Rosemont, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Hyatt perkS 9-5 schedule

    Cons

    Long hours Cheap pay Low income No opportunity

    Hyatt2019-12-17
  3. "Banquets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job is pretty chill. It's easy, if you like that sort of thing.

    Cons

    Boring, mundane work. Not stimulating at all.

    Advice to Management

    Work on implime ting some new technology

    Hyatt2018-12-05
  4. "Banquet Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hyatt part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have the time to server and greet all types of people and make them happy and come back again.

    Cons

    Its not a very busy job to have. You dont work everyday only when to Hotel has events.

    Hyatt2018-08-15
  5. "banquet server is a good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people is very nice

    Cons

    the parking is a few

    Hyatt2018-02-24
  6. "ON CALL BANQUET SERVER- Cincinnati"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is great for anyone looking to pick up extra money if you have serving experience. 1) You get to pick what days you work. You call in on Thursday morning, they tell you what shifts are available and you choose which shifts you want. 2) The pay is pretty good, it fluxuates depending on the "tip point" from that particular weeks events, but it ranges from $15-$30 per hour give or take on top of your hourly rate (around $4). Shifts are anywhere from 4-10 hours depending on the event. 3) The actual work is pretty easy/common sense. You only really work "hard" for maybe an hour or two of the entire shift. There is downtime in-between set up, service and breakdown.

    Show More

    Cons

    They are a bit disorganized, but its nothing to adapt to unless you have OCD. Best bet as a new person, find someone you mesh with and ask them the ins and outs. Theres also no guarantee for work. It goes by seasons generally, but some weeks could have multiple shifts available every day and some weeks where there are no shifts at all.

    Advice to Management

    Get more organized.

    Hyatt2018-01-18
  7. "Bursts of Work and Then Some Dry Spells"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can receive plenty of work and very reasonable pay even after just 20 hours.

    Cons

    There can be droughts - less than 6 hours of work a week - or booms - up to 60+ hours a week,

    Advice to Management

    Avoid assigning triples to employees more than 2 days a week.

    Hyatt2017-06-21
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Banquet server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Banquet Server in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt

    Pros

    flexible scheduling, good health care benefits if you are a full time employee, free nights at Hyatts around the world so definitely a plus if you enjoy traveling.

    Cons

    managers are inconsistent, unprofessional, and display favoritism. There is a culture of competition for shifts among employees which shouldnt be because scheduling is supposed to be done by seniority.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the rules of human resources in regards to treatment of employees. Set standards for all managers and supervisors to follow and ensure that those are being met.

    Hyatt2017-05-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Banquet Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company. Cares about employees

    Cons

    Require mandatory weekend availability for on call position.

    Advice to Management

    See Con.

    Hyatt2017-02-23
  10. "Student studying hospitality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Server in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt part-time

    Pros

    The management and co-workers I had the chance to work with were some of the most amazing people. I gained so much knowledge from this company and loved working here. I was so sad to leave my position but hope I will work with them again one day.

    Cons

    There are any bad things I can say about the Hyatt company or any of it's employee's.

    Advice to Management

    They should keep up the great work and keep being the awesome people they are.

    Hyatt2016-10-12
Found 28 reviews