Huron Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Huron Consulting Group Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group President, CEO and Director James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
415 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Depending on Project Leader the work life balance can be bad(in 75 reviews)

  • "I was literally told by upper management to accept that we will never have good product management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Says Admin Large Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Administrator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Great PTO policy. Working remote is encouraged

    Cons

    Can get overwhelming. Org chart shuffled around a lot.

    Huron Consulting Group2020-01-21
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People, people, people - Variety of work/projects - Great work/life balance

    Cons

    - Sometimes long days/weeks - Sometimes roles aren't so defined within projects

    Huron Consulting Group2020-01-13
  3. "Associate BI Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate BI Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best work culture, opportunity to learn new things,nice Work benefits

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any cons for Huron

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2020-01-11

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    January 13, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our people an culture.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outdoor Vending Hostess 

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    The best is the amazing and sociable work environment

    Cons

    Large company with a lot of bureaucracy

    Huron Consulting Group2020-01-08

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    January 13, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good place if you can stay billable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Good company if you are young

    Cons

    Depending on Project Leader the work life balance can be bad. Also the organization likes young people out of college and promotes them upward without industry experience very quickly. The implementation ROIs are based on other individual assessments who are focused on sales. Hard to implement unrealistic benefit but you are held accountable for it.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2020-01-21
  6. "Trainwreck of a division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited PTO - Some very fun and enjoyable people working there - Company culture leans more startup-like - Ping pong, great snacks, beer on tap

    Cons

    - HHSG is one of the worst companies I have ever seen in terms of management. They are absolutely abysmal at creating software and managing. - The worst employees are regularly promoted to the top, and once the employees are at the top they are unremovable - Product management is unbelievably inept. They are so inept the entire company is aware of this, yet due to decades of tenure from this team they are unable to removed. I was literally told by upper management to accept that we will never have good product management. - Promotion structure involved giving you the responsibility of the new job with no pay or promotion backing it with "promises" of the pay and promotion in the future - Poor stewards of technology: Their main product and biggest cash cow was neglected, shoved aside, and exploited while the underlying infrastructure of the product crumbled. Quick features and bugfixes to save contracts. Never did they take the time to refactor the product or fix serious infrastructural issues.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2020-01-09

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    January 13, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience as it is not aligned with our values or culture, please reach out to hresources@huronconsultinggroup.com

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    extremely intelligent and motivated ambitious people

    Cons

    travel! the work life balance is really hard.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2019-12-05

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    December 16, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Pleased to hear you had a good experience. Work/life blend continue to be a focus.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great learning environment for recent college grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Safe space to develop professional foundation

    Cons

    Project placement and promotions were entirely political

    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-25

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    December 6, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience with project placement and promotions, please reach out to hresources@huronconsultinggroup.com

    Continue reading
  9. "Higher Ed Consulting Analyst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Higher Executive Director Consulting Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunities. The culture. Rewarding work. Beneficial technical skills learned.

    Cons

    Sort of thrown in the fire to begin client work with minimal system training. Work load.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-19

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    December 6, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Onboarding will continue to be an area of focus as we work to ensure everyone has the resources and support to grow in their careers.

    Continue reading
  10. "Senior Software Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Test Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work is nice. Great culture. You have the Independence to learn and implement what you want. Excellent work life balance. Completion of assigned work is given priority over timings. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Yearly hike percentage can be improved Profit sharing can be extended to employees

    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-15

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    December 6, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our people and culture.

    Continue reading
Found 764 reviews