Hulu Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hulu Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Hulu CEO Randy Freer
Randy Freer
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Still working through some start up -> small company -> large company growing pains, but generally heading in a direction I like(in 22 reviews)

  • "work life balance only for leadership(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Hulu part-time

    Pros

    great culture, opportunities, and flexibility

    Cons

    can't really think of any

    Hulu2019-12-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great team and great feeling of accomplishment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I really enjoy my team. We can easily joke around and keep the mood light. - People are very smart and capable. - On my team we are given tasks and not hand held. This is a pro to me because at my last place I felt like I was constantly shown how to code or do something. There's a lot more fun in being presented with the problem and having to track down the right people, learn the right APIs, and think about the... most efficient way to solve a problem. I enjoy that aspect mostly because it gives me a sense of trust from everyone else that I am capable to do my job. - Great pay

    Show More

    Cons

    - Like I said above, I enjoy my team, but this varies from team to team. I'm lucky but I know other teams are not as social. Other teams may have worse managers etc. Just know that if you want to interview you can always move inside the company to a different team after a year or so. - Long hours sometimes - Did not experience this with my team but there have been many long and hard projects that were tossed last... minute after being code completed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For me specifically, keep being awesome

    Hulu2019-12-06
  3. "Truly the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced environment, growing industry, autonomy, flexibility for employees, generous benefits, incredible leadership

    Cons

    The only con is the office location in Santa Monica can be a tricky commute from anywhere except the west side.

    Hulu2019-12-10
  4. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Science 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers with really good pay for Los Angeles

    Cons

    Currently some uncertainty around future of the company, no one's fault really.

    Hulu2019-12-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Just another company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay and Benefits, Good experience

    Cons

    Hulu was a very different company few years back. With all recent changes, especially after the new CEO took helm, Hulu turned into a typical big corporate with tons of politics. Growth is bestowed to few and select favorites. It depends on who you report to and how loud you can get to clamor about your promotion. Anyone close to "Big Folks" have better growth than others. Most of the recent promotions seem to be... offered to females as CMO, CDO are females. I have never seen in any companies VPs getting promoted to SVPs in such a short period of time without any visible impact on the company. People got multiple promotions in less than two years even when they were on leave for months. Hulu was a great organization when last CFO was leading the company. After she was departed, this organization turned into political quagmire. She was very difficult to work with, but she led Hulu like a very tightly controlled ship, with almost no room for politics. After her departure, Hulu has become a political battleground with everyone trying to fill the vacuum created by her departure. Decisions made are not typically best for the company but rather driven based on bonus and performance targets. Most of the recent growth is sham and based on stupid nonsensical decisions. You will have daily fire drills with multiple teams working on the same project. Coordination among teams are very poor due to power struggle. I would avoid Finance and Data teams in this organization. Marketing team is not better either with only 2-3 people making 95% decisions for the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No point - They wont listen as I don't listen to them

    Hulu2019-12-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Was a model of a new kind of company but is now just another company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing/Sales in Santa Monica, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company really works hard to keep things fun: holiday parties, free snacks, beer. The benefits are really generous. There are some really cool and unique rank-and-file team members

    Cons

    Hired to many managers from old world media who are not entrepreneurial minded, the company has turned corporate and stifling.

    Advice to Management

    The company made it a priority to keep the office loose and to incorporate fun. Food truck parties, Halloween and holiday parties and gatherings to acknowledge important milestones. As the company got bigger, some new employees and managers fit in with the culture while others didn't. Some departments suffered from the hiring of outside managers from old world media. These individuals came in with antiquated... ideas and methods that quickly destroyed the moral of several departments prompting the exodus of a lot of talent. Sharing, transparency and praise/acknowledgement of team members' contributions eroded as these new managers concentrated on taking credit for everything and restricting information and participation of their teams. What was once an exciting place to work turned into an every day job that was filled with the normal inane office politics and corporate group-think and group-speak which left some people feeling like they had to tiptoe around their own company. Not all departments were infected but the decline of the open, inspirational and experimental culture was felt by many across the company and slowly more and more talent left to escape toxic environments. Remember, people don't leave companies, they leave managers. And a lot of people left due to bad managers. While there are remnants of the shining start-up on the hill, Hulu is now just another corporation with stories of how there was once real magic in the halls.

    Show More
    Hulu2019-12-05
  7. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people will motivate and inspire you

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Hulu2019-11-21
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vxa in San Antonio, TX

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, stocked kitchen, wellness stipend, great benefits.

    Cons

    Uncertainty post being acquired by Disney

    Hulu2019-11-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Culture, Management, and Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing at all. Maybe the snacks?

    Cons

    Management is racist and the workplace culture is more political and bureaucratic than any other company I've worked at. Great place to work if you want to be made like you're worthless. You have really smart people at the very bottom reporting to managers and directors that happened to be friends with a VP but have no experience or education or any credentials that would merit such roles and high salaries. And... their contribution shows how little value some of these directors bring to the company. It's no wonder why the retention rate is so low. People come in and leave a month later. People don't get the salary or promotions that are deserved. Do yourself a favor and skip this company!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe evaluate people based on merit, and don't use racial slurs when you're referring to the people that are working hard so you could collect the high salaries you get paid undeservedly.

    Hulu2019-12-12
  10. "Overall great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Awesome investment in culture. Free TV without ads is a nice perk too.

    Cons

    - Customer Success department was separate from HQ - Poor management

    Hulu2019-11-06
Found 380 reviews
</>Embed