HubSpot Employee Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

Updated Nov 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 of over 1,981 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Yamini Rangan
Yamini Rangan
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is has been awesome(in 130 reviews)

  • "Have I mentioned the unlimited vacation(in 97 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Still striving for better work-life balance(in 72 reviews)

  • "Very fast paced which isn't for everyone(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The best company I've worked for

      Jun 17, 2021 - Systems Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HubSpot has plenty of growth opportunities, a great leadership team, awesome salary and benefits, and a culture code that I had never seen before. You see that everyone is focused on the same mission to help our customers grow better, and this motivates you as you know your work is impactful. Have I mentioned the unlimited vacation? :)

      Cons

      It's a scaling business. Sometimes you get really busy and need to work a little more while the company hires new team members to help us.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Toxic

      Aug 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Perks are great and lots of wonderful team members. Unlimited vacation is great and people use their vacation. Strong diversity and inclusion program.

      Cons

      There’s a very toxic undertone in certain teams. Leadership are happy to turn a blind eye to this if they see results. Managers are very competitive at any cost. Fear and bullying is common! Employees are “gone” overnight. The perks are thrown at employees and the talk of mental health supports are there, as long as unrealistic goals are met. A lot of politics and changes in leadership means that very little gets done because the targets keep moving. Not a nice experience.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Sorry to hear this was your experience with us and that you felt things were political and messy in the middle. We will look to grow from this feedback and will ensure we keep an eye on the data about middle management here. Thanks so much, Katie

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing company to work for

      May 14, 2021 - Customer Onboarding Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Truly amazing people and culture! HubSpot if both professional and fun. Flexible working hours + unlimited vacation policy; work-life balance is achievable :) Management trusts their teams and gives them the autonomy to try things out, be creative, own their actions and grow together! Supports remote work Empathetic leaders Leadership listens and actions feedback; truly cares for its employees' wellbeing. Diversity and inclusion front of mind Awareness of mental health and initiatives to support this Plenty of opportunities for career development and professional growth Benefits, such as: tuition reimbursement, fitness reimbursement, health insurance, lots of perks,... I feel like a human, not another number in the company :) No company is perfect, but what I love about HubSpot is that everyone is open to feedback, willing to try things differently, learn from mistakes and improve where there are opportunities to make things better.

      Cons

      Salaries could be more competitive, but this balances out with other benefits. We can't have it all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work hard, management have high expectations but still, the best place I've ever worked.

      Jun 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been at HubSpot 2 years and this is my first review - I didn't want to write one any sooner than now as I was still in the Honeymoon phase and I really wanted to be transparent about the good, bad & ugly*. *There is no ugly. This is a company that has the highest of high expectations. I have had good & bad days here, but still I love it because everyday I am challenged to think differently and grow as a team member and an individual. They have the usual tech perks, but what stands out is the 'leaving loudly' when it comes to vacation. Unlimited vacation is used and encouraged. The autonomy they speak of is real, and scary at first when you aren't used to it. You are expected to know your job, do it well but know also when to ask for help (and it will be provided). This can take some getting used to. The culture that is amazing and that surprised me so much when I joined. What is making me write a review now is how this company has pivoted to support employees who are surviving remotely during this global pandemic. It is brilliant (especially the classes for kids during the day to help parents get work done!) and inclusive. Now I am watching how they are supporting my black colleagues during this racial pandemic - is even more remarkable. They have even given each employee an allowance of $50 to purchase hard copy books on anti - racism to help educate and encourage conversations. They always talk about DI&B claim they are working on it and that it isn't perfect, I'm grateful they have had that mindset because it has created a safe space for people to speak up on how the company is handling everything, feedback has been both full of praise and also constructive criticism on how to think/act and do better. My role as an IC has been interesting also - I've been able to work on global projects, speak with leaders and learn from them. I have learnt more in this role than any other previous role.

      Cons

      We are a global company but it can feel at times that if you aren't in the USA you may be passed up for promotions because you aren't visible enough, this can change from team to team but it is a common feeling that we aren't global first all the time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your feedback and I love that you waited until the "honeymoon" was over so it felt authentic to you, I think that's lovely. I agree on your pushes on global first and continuing our emphasis there, that's more than fair, thanks for your review and for all you do for our team from Dublin! -Katie

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing place to work

      Oct 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited vacation are a real thing :) International Environment Culture Salary

      Cons

      Pressure for the sales team is relatively high

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for helping Dublin grow for 3+ years and for the callout on unlimited vacation and culture. I hope that folks on sales feel the same pressure as everyone else--to deliver results but also hopefully they we are helping everyone a lot with new products, marketing pushes, and a lot of support, but good to hear the feedback, thanks for flagging my way! -Katie

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great place to be

      Jan 21, 2019 - Customer Support Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career growth and benefits are great, unlimited vacation plan (if you're on target), work life balance

      Cons

      None that come to mind

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for helping our Support team and customers grow, and for having me in DubSpot this week to visit you all. Sincerely, Katie

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best.

      Nov 1, 2021 - Senior Product Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - inclusive environment - amazing manager (approachable, kind, intuitive and provides autonomy) - great pay and benefits - collaborative teams - smart, but humble people. The best combo - remote work options - unlimited vacation - home office setup and monthly stipend

      Cons

      - as the org grows, sometimes it's difficult to see what every team is working on, but everyone is really collaborative and open to answer questions. Keep lines of communication open and this place will continue to grow and innovate

      1 person found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for being part our wonderful UX org. I appreciate that you called out the monthly stipend and home office setup--we've found recently that folks often miss that as part of the recruitment process in the details, so thank you for noting it here! I think you're spot on on the challenge--I'm finding it hard to keep up with too, so your point on collaboration and communication is critical. Appreciate your impact on HubSpot, thank you! -Katie

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Aug 17, 2021 - Senior Product Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great leadership, really transparent with the strategies and overall directions. - Genuinely cares about DI&B - Unlimited vacation

      Cons

      The pay is really bad compared with competitors, and people are not encouraged to talk about it

      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being on our Product Analyst team, and for the feedback on DI&B and on leadership. On pay, we definitely need to articulate our future vision and where we are headed on it, the plan is to preview that directionally later this month then reveal a more in depth plan over the next few months, so I think and hope people will be excited about that. -Katie

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's all true!

      Jul 19, 2021 - Recruiting Coordinator in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The flexibility and unlimited vacation time are no joke. HubSpot really walks the walk on that one. I came to HubSpot from a very traditional corporate culture so it's absolutely refreshing to be working in an environment without passive aggression, pointless meetings, pressure to not take time off, etc.

      Cons

      I think it can be a bit challenging to onboard remotely in terms of feeling connected, but that's not HubSpot-specific. The office is re-opened now though!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Work Culture and Challenging Problems To Solve

      Jul 13, 2021 - Senior Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great Work Culture - Amazing Work Life Balance. - Truly Care About their Employees. Policies are very employee centric. - Open door policy. Can setup call with leadership for mentorship or discussion. - Designed programs for employee growth (like free books, tuition reimbursement, training etc.) - Scope Of Career Growth - Unlimited Vacation - Autonomy at Work - Empathetic Managers

      Cons

      None that I can think of as of now.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

    HubSpot logo
    or