HubSpot Employee Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

Updated 16 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO & Founder Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
1,016 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This isn't to say that the work-life balance is bad (it isn't)(in 57 reviews)

  • "Fast growth creates some growing pains -- like needing to develop new managers/leaders(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation are a real thing :) International Environment Culture Salary

    Cons

    Pressure for the sales team is relatively high

    HubSpot Response

    December 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for helping Dublin grow for 3+ years and for the callout on unlimited vacation and culture. I hope that folks on sales feel the same pressure as everyone else--to deliver results but also hopefully they we are helping everyone a lot with new products, marketing pushes, and a lot of support, but good to hear the feedback, thanks for flagging my way! -Katie

  2. COVID-19

    "Work hard, management have high expectations but still, the best place I've ever worked."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at HubSpot 2 years and this is my first review - I didn't want to write one any sooner than now as I was still in the Honeymoon phase and I really wanted to be transparent about the good, bad & ugly*. *There is no ugly. This is a company that has the highest of high expectations. I have had good & bad days here, but still I love it because everyday I am challenged to think differently and grow as a team member and an individual. They have the usual tech perks, but what stands out is the 'leaving loudly' when it comes to vacation. Unlimited vacation is used and encouraged. The autonomy they speak of is real, and scary at first when you aren't used to it. You are expected to know your job, do it well but know also when to ask for help (and it will be provided). This can take some getting used to. The culture that is amazing and that surprised me so much when I joined. What is making me write a review now is how this company has pivoted to support employees who are surviving remotely during this global pandemic. It is brilliant (especially the classes for kids during the day to help parents get work done!) and inclusive. Now I am watching how they are supporting my black colleagues during this racial pandemic - is even more remarkable. They have even given each employee an allowance of $50 to purchase hard copy books on anti - racism to help educate and encourage conversations. They always talk about DI&B claim they are working on it and that it isn't perfect, I'm grateful they have had that mindset because it has created a safe space for people to speak up on how the company is handling everything, feedback has been both full of praise and also constructive criticism on how to think/act and do better. My role as an IC has been interesting also - I've been able to work on global projects, speak with leaders and learn from them. I have learnt more in this role than any other previous role.

    Cons

    We are a global company but it can feel at times that if you aren't in the USA you may be passed up for promotions because you aren't visible enough, this can change from team to team but it is a common feeling that we aren't global first all the time.

    Continue reading
  3. "A great place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career growth and benefits are great, unlimited vacation plan (if you're on target), work life balance

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    HubSpot Response

    April 5, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for helping our Support team and customers grow, and for having me in DubSpot this week to visit you all. Sincerely, Katie

  4. Helpful (2)

    "The Reviews Are True!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I've only been here for 6 months, and I'm already incredibly impressed with the company all-around, I'm so glad I accepted this role! - Timely compensation reviews (they increase your compensation per market basis, in addition to per performance basis) - No doors policy - You'll feel like a person, not a number - You're valued as you are, and feel like you belong - Incredible co-workers (by far the best part except perhaps the company itself) - The best company culture you could ask for (yes, it's real) - Remote-friendly (amazing remote team too!) - Long-term positive company outlook - Work/life balance (you're encouraged to take days off) - All upper management actually cares - Growth-mindset/mentality - Awesome on-boarding team - Personal and professional growth opportunities - Free books program - Tuition reimbursement - Unlimited vacation days (that you can actually use) - A bunch of other perks

    Cons

    - You have to be in the role for 12 months (1 year) before you can be promoted or apply for a role outside of the support rep area. - This role is hard, so it's not for everyone. Don't expect to slide by doing the minimum. If you take pride in your work, you'll succeed here. - As of spring 2020, starting salary is 40k a year, which some people don't like. - The product knowledge can be exhausting. You're not expected to know everything, but it's still a challenge. Just remember to relax, breathe, and do your best. Management understands and sees you as a human.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    June 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being such an incredible part of our team and organization-today we had a customer panel where the customers simply raved about Support, and you deserve it! I appreciate all that you do for our customers globally--you are all incredible. Totally hear you on compensation, we definitely hire folks for growth and invest a ton in training and opportunity, but more than fair push-thanks for all you do and for making the time to write a review, I appreciate it so much! Sincerely, Katie

  5. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Unlimited vacation - Great culture, love my coworkers

    Cons

    None so far! Only a couple months in :)

    HubSpot Response

    June 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Welcome! We love you right back-thanks for being a software engineer on our team, and I hope your next few months and years are even better. Sincerely, Katie

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Feel like I won the employment lottery"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation days, ability to WFH whenever, amazing culture code and dedication to inclusivity and diversity

    Cons

    Wish they had more US offices - in NYC specifically

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Inspiring place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    The most significant reason to love working at HubSpot are the people. They hire people who are passionate about what they do and doing it to the best of their ability. Employees aren't here to collect health insurance and go home - they are here because their work excites them. Other pros: - The office environment has great perks: coffee baristas and cold brew on tap, smoothie baristas, dogs, free food - The work itself is interesting and challenging. Leadership is always trying to innovate our product, GTM, etc, which creates an environment of ongoing change. - Flexibility. Working remote, working from home, working at the common space in the building is all encouraged. Unlimited vacation also help de-stress concerns about work life balance

    Cons

    There is a lot to do, which means sometimes the hours can be long.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (34)

    "Absolutely Incredible - I'm never leaving!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Designer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility (work from home, remote work, unlimited vacation) intelligent/positive/understanding people, motivated and proactive workforce, leadership is genuine and practices what they preach.

    Cons

    It's such a flexible work environment that it may be a huge shock to someone coming from the outside or from a very structured and disciplined background. This does not mean there is no structure or discipline, on the contrary, there's structure with purpose.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    October 20, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a learning designer on our team, and for the effusive review! Delighted to have you helping HubSpotters learn and grow, and love that you called out our flexibility and transparency as core reasons you love it. So lucky to have you on our team, thanks for making the time to write this review and all you do for HubSpot! -Katie

  9. Helpful (1)

    "One of the Best Places to Work - Culture of Growth and Quality of the People is Unparalleled"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SingSpot is easily the best company I've worked for! First up, let's talk about the perks at SingSpot! Many of these reviews say they're unreal but let me break it down a little. It's a 'known fact' that Singapore's national pastime is eating - SingSpot delivers above and beyond on that front. Here's a list of what's in the mix: Waffle Wednesday, Catered Thursday Lunches, (newly-introduced) Panini Friday, End-Of-Month (EOM) Pizza and EOM Drinks. Not forgetting the amazing and well-stocked pantry - coconut water, green tea, ice creams, assorted nut dispensers, regional tidbits and 2 beer taps. If you think we're all about food and drinks, we have got in place an on-site gym and an annual gym subsidy for folks to balance the sinful indulgence. It does seem apt that I mention a little about our focus on Health and Wellness, especially after all that speak about eating and drinking. What we got at SingSpot is an insanely good medical and insurance coverage! It even covers visits at the Chiropractor and TCM specialist. What's more, we've even held massage sessions at SingSpot during our Health and Wellness Week. We are also a rather fun-loving and diverse bunch! Fun fact, we have more than 20 nationalities in the APAC region and that really brings on different perspectives. We also get together frequently as small groups and a couple of times every month and every quarter in big groups. Some cool gigs we've hit up in the past- Virtual Reality Park, LaserTag and Fragment Room. We have various interest groups ranging from the cat-lovers group to school alumni groups and women groups to a ping-pong club. It would be an absolute crime to not mention the unlimited vacation program and the flexibility to work from home. I love how the company recognizes how everyone may be wired differently - working remotely may help one to deliver their best work. To appreciate longer-tenured employees, HubSpot also offers a five-year sabbatical program which is a 4-week paid sabbatical with a $5k bonus! For those who may be interested, we do provide Employee Stock Purchase and Grants along with the employment. I do also think that we're quite competitively compensated at SingSpot. I also adore the work-life balance here - leaving work on time means I get to pursue my other passions/interests outside of work which value-adds to my work. Now on to the 'more important' perks! HubSpot values personal development and growth of every single employee. The culture of growth and learning is seen in so much that we do - monthly new hire panel, new hire training program, workshops, AMAs, Specialized Training, Company Wiki and our Internal Online Learning Center. The leadership here is extremely transparent - we even have access to the decks/documents from their off-sites. The extremely feedback-centric culture might feel a little uncomfortable at the start but soon enough, you'll look forward to receiving them and eventually delivering some of your own. One of the rare perks I don't see often in other organizations will be my one-on-one weekly sessions with our Managers and Team Leads. These sessions have been truly critical in removing my learning roadblocks and accelerating my growth at HubSpot. The icing on the cake is the free books program and annual tuition reimbursement of $5k available to us to spend on educating ourselves. Overall, I'm just extremely grateful to be in an organization that values our personal growth and development - putting in place all they can to help us become the best versions of ourselves. My last and favourite perk at HubSpot. I can unequivocally say that it's going to be the people I work with. It's one thing to read about a set of values that a company say it will uphold and one thing to see them truly lived out by everyone day in and day out. At HubSpot, it's the latter - I've seen how each and everyone I've come across has lived the "HEART" values out and it's such a privilege to come to work some of the smartest, knowledgeable, humble folks I've known. The resolve to solve for our customer is really infectious. It's really inspiring to see people who are trying to become the best versions of themselves and in turn if motivates yourself. Also, I've never seen a company so happy for people who are leaving the company for further pursuits. Someone once said, "A good measure of a company is how they treat those who are leaving." and I think we rank pretty high in that regard. We have great vision and plans in the coming few years. Although I can't divulge much, I'm really excited about our growth in the coming years. I guess this my dream company to work for. So you can say that I'm living my dream now!

    Cons

    The following may not be con per se but they're definitely areas of concern for some people: - There are really high standards and a really steep learning curve. For some, it might be too metric-driven at times. Therefore, the intensity of the roles might not be for everyone. There's a high chance for burnouts. That said, the management has tried to improve this with health-related workshops (sleep, posture and nutrition), providing a meditation room, building a safe space and enhancing psychological safety. - It's an extremely fast-changing environment. SingSpot operates a little like its own startup and it's a bit of a double-edged sword. While we're agile and adaptable, we can get a little disorienting for some. We don't have a lot of policies so typically you'll hear UGJ (Use good judgment) but that can have differing interpretations. Some see this as empowerment, trust and autonomy but some view it as a lack of guidelines. To each his own, I personally love it but a little more processes/systems and playbooks wouldn't harm. - We're also not as well-known in APAC and in Singapore as compared to HubSpot in other markets. So you might find yourself trying to even spell out "HubSpot" for some customers. I personally find that really exciting that we're in the process of making ourselves better known in the region. Some other areas for improvement KPI - Some of the metrics connected to performance used in this region may not be the most reflective of an employee's ability and can become customer roadblocks. They can be majorly swayed by cultural perceptions of scoring. Product - While I love the frequent product updates, we can improve the way they're shared. - Product adaptation to meet regional expansion goals can be enhanced. On the product front, more localisation and more language support are very much welcomed, especially in the APAC region. We're trailing behind in terms of mobile play and eCommerce play. - The ideas in the HubSpot Ideas Forum can be worked on more actively (especially those with more than 150 upvotes over an extended period of time). Career Development - Availability of certain roles in other regions may not be available in SingSpot, especially for more product-oriented and niche roles. However, internal mobility is great! Strategy - The playbook for certain markets such as India and some other Southeast Asian markets is still in its early stages and strategies from North America might not be as applicable. Cross-Collaboration - Cross collaboration/function can be improved - introduce more projects that require the involvement of 2 different functions Diversity, Belonging and Inclusion - Even though we are rather diverse in nationalities and ethnicity but we can be more conscious in embracing inclusivity and belonging. Comparing SingSpot to other offices, advocacy in LGBTQ isn't as strong. Also, the choice of restaurants and food preferences during social events can take more into consideration of Muslims, Vegetarians and Vegans. - Also, we have quite a skewed "younger" group of workers (mostly millennials) and the balance of some more senior workers could be useful for us. Giving Back - We can be more environmentally conscious - more conscious with choice of food vendors and in encouraging the use of own reusable cutlery. - We can also give back more to the community in Singapore e.g. Blood Donation Drive, Community Events and helping the elderly etc. Just a caveat here, no company is perfect and some of these are present in most companies of our nature (SaaS company, mid/large scale and trying to localise). These are simply things I hope we can improve on but I would still like to highlight that it's still one of the best companies I've worked for. This is so especially so when I’ve worked already for a few companies prior to HubSpot.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    December 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback, and for hosting me in Singapore a few weeks back! We just launched our Alliance and newsletter in support of LGBTQ+ employees in Singapore in the past four weeks, and I was lucky enough to host the first discussion by that group, so I think you will continue to see more there. Your other points are well taken, thanks for writing them up and giving us so much great feedback to work off of, I appreciate it so much! -Katie

  10. "Sweet place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation, flexible hour and awesome work

    Cons

    Not much i can complain

    HubSpot Response

    October 28, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being part of our data team and for your review, I appreciate it so much! -Katie

Found 96 reviews