HubSpot Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated 11 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO & Founder Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
1,016 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This isn't to say that the work-life balance is bad (it isn't)(in 57 reviews)

  • "Fast growth creates some growing pains -- like needing to develop new managers/leaders(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, supportive management, flexible with hours or working remotely.

    Cons

    Nothing specific comes to mind. We can sometimes feel the growing pains of a company that grows fast, which I guess is normal.

    HubSpot Response

    August 25, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a CSM in DubSpot (rumour has it you all threw quite the talent show/musical event last week, the photos were incredible!), and for helping our customers in EMEA grow better. Super grateful for all you do and all your team contributes to our company and our customers. Sincerely, Katie

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Wonderful company culture - Talented workforce - Performance is valued over experience - Opportunities for internal career progression - You are trusted, and given a lot of autonomy - Compensation

    Cons

    Growing pains involved with a scale-up company.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    October 2, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for writing up a review and the thoughtful feedback. I love that you call out performance is valued above tenure or experience, and that you call out opportunities for internal growth as a huge advantage of working here. I deeply appreciate you taking the time to write up a review, and promise we'll keep working hard to manage through scaling up as a company. Sincerely, Katie

  3. "Believe The Hype"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Partner Program, Strategy and Operations Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A terrific company culture contributes to a sense of possibility where hard work is rewarded, not just from a compensation point of view, but career growth. - Performance is valued above experience - The company tries hard to retain its start-up agility whilst growing fast - Just a terrific group of people - Dogs, beer, rooftop terrace, meals, the works. - Significant potential to grow your career quickly.

    Cons

    - Super-fast growth makes it at hard times to keep up with the layers upon layers of internal systems - Growing pains surrounding internationalisation and keeping in mind the global rollout of US-born ideas. - HubSpotters work, hard.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    September 19, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review from DubSpot, and love that you called out the rooftop terrace and the potential to grow your career--both are pretty great in my opinion as well. Your push on the cons is fair as well--we definitely work hard and have some growing pains around going global that we can continue to iterate on. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and for helping our global partner program grow, really appreciate it! -Katie

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work and grow your career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -No micro-management : I'm trusted to get my job done in my own way without someone breathing down my neck -You're encouraged to keep learning and growing in your career. There's a generous education bonus, lunch and learns and a book scheme. If you decide you'd like to try something else careerwise, that's also an option (eg. support to marketing or sales) -Great people to work with. Cross-collaboration across teams is common with people sharing their experience with others so you can learn from everyone. -Conveniently located offices in Dublin city centre with transport access to many areas of the city -Work life balance is great. If you need to work from home that's not an issue. If you have a family emergency then you can tend to that without guilty or stress. Generous holiday options. -Very flat hierarchy. People are treated like equals so a lot less pretense and posturing than at other companies I've worked at

    Cons

    -Some growing pains with new processes, but management are very receptive to feedback and actively listen to concerns from staff -Thankfully in a minority, but there are a few entitled people who don't appreciate the efforts our facilities and culture teams put in to providing us with amazing benefits like free lunches, beer on tap, nights out and more

    Continue reading
  5. "Summer Intern '16"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HubSpot for less than a year

    Pros

    Open culture with a huge degree of transparency. Responsibilities within the company are clearly identified from day 1. Culture encourages a casual approach to learning about various different parts of the company through networking.

    Cons

    Currently in transitional period of growing pains, culture can sometimes be diluted by expansion. Still very much a US company with a tacked on international business. No clear career path presented, I'm sure people are open to advise but it's not made clear who you can approach. ommunications between the US and international sites can feel more like a child being told what to do rather than equals.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    October 10, 2016VP, Culture and Experience

    Thanks for the write-up and for joining the team for an internship. You're spot on that we invest a ton in transparency and openness, and that our commitment to autonomy means folks have fewer designated careers paths and more freedom to create their own within HubSpot. I hope that some of the challenges you outlined above have been addressed by the fact that we've appointed some critical global leaders out of Dublin in key business units, and that international is such a core part of our business, but agree it's something we need to be mindful about and keep an eye on. Thanks for sharing your feedback and hope you'll consider returning to HubSpot some day! Sincerely, Katie

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Real Change starts from the bottom up"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As an individual contributor, you really have a lot of autonomy in the work you do and can make big plays with your team. Orders don't come down from executives -- the teams decide what they want to do and how to do it, start to finish, on their own terms. You of course get direction and insight from people higher up, but engineers, product managers, designers, and business stakeholders all work together in autonomous teams to make things happen. As a software engineer, your work is always high impact, and you get to shape how your team operates.

    Cons

    Especially now, certain parts of the org are feeling some growing pains that come from scaling up. In the long term that's a good thing, but sometimes it can cause some logistical issues in the short term.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    February 12, 2020Chief People Officer

    Love this review and love that you used a nautical analogy (did JD put you up to that part of this!?). I would agree with you on a few scale up growing pains (we feel them on our end too from time to time)-thanks for the thoughtful review and for building software that our customers love, it means the world to me! -Katie

  7. "Doesn't get better: high impact work, amazing co-workers and work-life flexibility"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At any stage of your career, this is a place where you can learn, grow, and have high impact within the company, with our customers, and through the values we live and share, beyond to our communities and across the tech industry. The people here are CARING and SMART- it's a pleasure to come to work each day and know that you will be pushed, and also that you will help push people around you. The work-life flexibility is second to none. There is an expectation you will produce great work, but you have the support and resources to do so, and very high autonomy to do so.

    Cons

    Constant change inevitably causes growing pains, and there is a lot of building the tracks while the train is already moving. You will not sit still and you can expect plenty of trial and error and lots of ambiguity, but this is ultimately not necessarily a bad thing, just not for everyone.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    October 20, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for calling out the upsides and downsides of life at HubSpot--I think your points about not sitting still and building the tracks while we are already moving are really well said, and good for people to know moving forward. I also think your push on allowing folks to innovate and hiring and empowering folks ready to do so is an important one. Thanks again for writing the review and for helping HubSpot grow better! -Katie

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The people. I love my coworkers, they are the best part about working at HubSpot. I learn from my teammates every day and I truly enjoy working with them. The people at HubSpot are incredibly smart, driven and innovative and I feel lucky to work alongside them. - The flexibility. I have the freedom to work from home or take days off whenever needed. The unlimited vacation policy isn't unique to HubSpot, but it is a differentiator in the way it is truly embraced. - The autonomy. Even as an individual contributor, I own my projects and am involved in all aspects of their strategy and execution. Even though we're a growing company, there is still the startup culture where we all do what we can to improve the parts of the business we control.

    Cons

    - The systems and processes. These are typical growing pains in a scaleup. Maintaining autonomy in a growing business is tricky, especially when several departments rely on the same internal systems.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    September 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    I love that you love your teammates, nothing makes me happier, and I love that as an IC you have true autonomy. On systems and processes, I agree we have work to do, and it came out in this round of the ENPS as well, so it's doubly important we get it right. Thanks for the callout and all of your hard work to help us scale the best marketing team around! -Katie

  9. "Working at HubSpot is awesome."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Researcher in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My colleagues are smart and inspiring. The culture is wonderful. There’s no shortage of interesting problems to work on.

    Cons

    There’s a lot of moving parts. The company is maturing, but there are some growing pains involved.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    September 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    "No shortage of interesting problems to work on" is how I feel starting another week at HubSpot, so thanks for calling it out and for all of your hard work to help our customers grow. Agree on moving parts and growth, and your push on vision is the right one-I hope we make you proud with how we scale there, thanks for all you do! -Katie

  10. "Great company. Great culture. Great mission."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is absolutely amazing. Although we have the opportunity to work from home as much as we want, I find that coming to work reenergizes me because we are all focused on a central vision, to make the customer happy. Shoutout to our leaders for maintaining the culture even as we continue to grow at a fast pace. The company is at a stage where it is really able to invest in systems to help alleviate pain points that could be solved with automation. It helps make the work we do more impactful instead of making us feel like we're toiling away on administrative tasks. Management practices what it preaches in terms of unlimited vacation and work/life balance. It really makes a difference when your director tells you that unless you have extremely critical work (which my team rarely does) you should be taking at least 2 weeks off at the end of the year in addition to time off during the rest of the year. They are also very flexible and understanding that there is a life outside of work. I appreciate the encouragement to make work fit around your life instead of the other way around.

    Cons

    There are some growing pains since the company is growing so quickly. Management is used to moving very quickly, but it might be time to slow down and invest in systems and processes instead of barreling forward and troubleshooting later.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    September 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Love that you're feeling the impact of having a boss who really cares about you taking down time to rest and recharge, and that it's explicit on your team. I think on the IC front, we have some teams doing great work here and some areas where we have newer teams and thus less structure here (to be fair to you, including ops) so it's something we have to continue to keep an eye on. Thanks for calling it out and for your hard work to help us scale our operating system as a company! -Katie

Found 44 reviews