HubSpot Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Oct 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 of over 1,982 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Yamini Rangan
Yamini Rangan
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is has been awesome(in 130 reviews)

  • "Have I mentioned the unlimited vacation(in 97 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Still striving for better work-life balance(in 72 reviews)

  • "Very fast paced which isn't for everyone(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Full of HEART 🧡

      Apr 26, 2021 - Senior Executive Search Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Inspiring senior leadership team whose passion for building a company future generations can be proud of is infectious. HubSpot are being very thoughtful about how they scale which I feel will set the company up for success in the long run. I also appreciate their open and transparent communication. • Amazing product that customers love. Covid-19 has accelerated the move to digital and this has benefitted HubSpot which is currently in hypergrowth. I feel HubSpot is just getting started and this is an excellent time for those looking to grow their careers to join us. • From a recruiting perspective the strong partnership between recruiting leadership, our stakeholders in the business and finance has been so refreshing to see. Becky McCullough and her leadership team in recruiting have worked really hard on building this partnership and it really shows. As a result, there is strong planning in place when it comes to hiring and growth so the recruiting team is set up for success versus being reactive and super stretched all the time. This also has a major positive impact on recruiter work-life balance which I also hugely appreciate and have not seen in my previous employers.

      Cons

      • To be honest, my experience so far has been really positive so hand on heart I've not experienced any cons. • I think it's only natural that as HubSpot scales there will be growing pains. Having joined from a larger company, I see this as an opportunity for me to contribute my perspective and processes that will help HubSpot grow better.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 22, 2019 - CSM in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, supportive management, flexible with hours or working remotely.

      Cons

      Nothing specific comes to mind. We can sometimes feel the growing pains of a company that grows fast, which I guess is normal.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a CSM in DubSpot (rumour has it you all threw quite the talent show/musical event last week, the photos were incredible!), and for helping our customers in EMEA grow better. Super grateful for all you do and all your team contributes to our company and our customers. Sincerely, Katie

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Oct 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Wonderful company culture - Talented workforce - Performance is valued over experience - Opportunities for internal career progression - You are trusted, and given a lot of autonomy - Compensation

      Cons

      Growing pains involved with a scale-up company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks so much for writing up a review and the thoughtful feedback. I love that you call out performance is valued above tenure or experience, and that you call out opportunities for internal growth as a huge advantage of working here. I deeply appreciate you taking the time to write up a review, and promise we'll keep working hard to manage through scaling up as a company. Sincerely, Katie

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Believe The Hype

      Sep 18, 2017 - Global Partner Program, Strategy and Operations Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A terrific company culture contributes to a sense of possibility where hard work is rewarded, not just from a compensation point of view, but career growth. - Performance is valued above experience - The company tries hard to retain its start-up agility whilst growing fast - Just a terrific group of people - Dogs, beer, rooftop terrace, meals, the works. - Significant potential to grow your career quickly.

      Cons

      - Super-fast growth makes it at hard times to keep up with the layers upon layers of internal systems - Growing pains surrounding internationalisation and keeping in mind the global rollout of US-born ideas. - HubSpotters work, hard.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review from DubSpot, and love that you called out the rooftop terrace and the potential to grow your career--both are pretty great in my opinion as well. Your push on the cons is fair as well--we definitely work hard and have some growing pains around going global that we can continue to iterate on. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and for helping our global partner program grow, really appreciate it! -Katie

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work and grow your career

      Feb 1, 2017 - Sales Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -No micro-management : I'm trusted to get my job done in my own way without someone breathing down my neck -You're encouraged to keep learning and growing in your career. There's a generous education bonus, lunch and learns and a book scheme. If you decide you'd like to try something else careerwise, that's also an option (eg. support to marketing or sales) -Great people to work with. Cross-collaboration across teams is common with people sharing their experience with others so you can learn from everyone. -Conveniently located offices in Dublin city centre with transport access to many areas of the city -Work life balance is great. If you need to work from home that's not an issue. If you have a family emergency then you can tend to that without guilty or stress. Generous holiday options. -Very flat hierarchy. People are treated like equals so a lot less pretense and posturing than at other companies I've worked at

      Cons

      -Some growing pains with new processes, but management are very receptive to feedback and actively listen to concerns from staff -Thankfully in a minority, but there are a few entitled people who don't appreciate the efforts our facilities and culture teams put in to providing us with amazing benefits like free lunches, beer on tap, nights out and more

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Summer Intern '16

      Oct 10, 2016 - Marketing Intern in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open culture with a huge degree of transparency. Responsibilities within the company are clearly identified from day 1. Culture encourages a casual approach to learning about various different parts of the company through networking.

      Cons

      Currently in transitional period of growing pains, culture can sometimes be diluted by expansion. Still very much a US company with a tacked on international business. No clear career path presented, I'm sure people are open to advise but it's not made clear who you can approach. ommunications between the US and international sites can feel more like a child being told what to do rather than equals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      VP, Culture and Experience

      Thanks for the write-up and for joining the team for an internship. You're spot on that we invest a ton in transparency and openness, and that our commitment to autonomy means folks have fewer designated careers paths and more freedom to create their own within HubSpot. I hope that some of the challenges you outlined above have been addressed by the fact that we've appointed some critical global leaders out of Dublin in key business units, and that international is such a core part of our business, but agree it's something we need to be mindful about and keep an eye on. Thanks for sharing your feedback and hope you'll consider returning to HubSpot some day! Sincerely, Katie

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Absolute best place to work

      Oct 19, 2021 - Technical Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible culture, strong company values, experienced and transparent leaders, growing and scaling rapidly, huge opportunities for career growth

      Cons

      Some growing pains as we scale, but honestly no real complaints.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a Tech Lead in our org, we are so lucky to have amazing folks like you helping us scale. And agree with you on growing pains--scale is so hard, and definitely feeling some of those paper cuts from time to time. Appreciate your note on culture and leadership, grateful for all you do, thanks for sharing your feedback with us! -Katie

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      Oct 11, 2021 - Senior Engineering Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Smart coworkers - Interesting work - Great commitment to diversity and inclusion - Company is doing great

      Cons

      - Normal growing pains of a growth company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Culture is a product -- and we keep iterating

      Oct 8, 2021 - Chief Technology Officer (CTO) in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Love the "Solve For The Customer" mindset. It is visible across the company. 2. Culture keeps getting better. 3. People are just *kind*. That matters more than ever. 4. Fantastic growth creates fantastic opportunities. 5. Transition to Yamini as CEO has been great.

      Cons

      Fast growth creates growing pains -- but working on it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      +1 on Yamini's transition being seamless, and to the importance and value of kindness in our team and the importance of focusing on our mission and customers. Thanks for making the time to write this and for your indelible impact on our culture. -Katie

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent company

      Oct 4, 2021 - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Well established platform to build upon for product teams

      Cons

      Pay is low compared to other companies 401k match is terrible Transition from startup to enterprise level company has major growing pains

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being an alum of HubSpot, and for calling out the platform as a strength. On the transition, definitely continued room to improve there as we scale, ditto to evolving how we think overall around compensation. Cheers, Katie

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

    HubSpot logo
    or