House of Fraser Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

House of Fraser Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
House of Fraser CEO Alex Williamson  (no image)
Alex Williamson
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount could be done manually not just with the instore staff credit card(in 45 reviews)

  • "20% off all concessions, good hourly rate(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is a lack of air conditioning on the shop floor making it very difficult to work in(in 29 reviews)

  • "awaiting clear direction of hof(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Retail Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, pleasant space and facilities, great atmosphere and dynamic between staff across the board. Loads of opportunity to progress. Decent pay and benefits, time off etc. Staff discount throughout store and online, occasional incentives for targets.

    Cons

    Procedure doesn't consider common sense, no wiggle room for emergencies (i.e. sick cover=major understaffing issues) Poor management of labour, sometimes chronically overstaffed, equally as likely to be chronically understaffed, never seemed to get this quite right. Poor communication with concession managers and HoF advisors, concession managers generally getting away with circumventing company procedures on a... regular basis.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think you do a brilliant job, I wish you were given more direct control over rosters and hours, and more staff to work with! I think all issues can be traced to rigid procedures without proper review.

    House of Fraser2017-10-09
  2. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time

    Pros

    Excellent management, friendly staff, 6 weeks paid holidays and flexible hours

    Cons

    Late nights during christmas and no time and a half for bank holidays

    House of Fraser2019-10-04
  3. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time

    Pros

    Friendly Coworkers and good work environment

    Cons

    It is advisable to check the hours worked vs. paid

    House of Fraser2019-09-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp in Dundrum, Dublin

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount was great and worked with some nice girls

    Cons

    Supervisors, managers, floor managers wouldn't have a problem making it clear they didn't like you etc, manager kept rostering me in for one day a week I was unavailable due to college and would give out to me every week that I hadn't 'informed her'. Supervisors have a power complex and favour/don't correct their sales assistant pals.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat all staff equally or don't be a manager. Learn to take note of everyone's available hours and don't give out if you make a mistake with the roster yourself. Management definitely need retraining in how to manage the floor and the staff.

    House of Fraser2019-08-28
  5. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time

    Pros

    Great staff discount, great people to work with

    Cons

    Wasnt very compassionate to me when I was on sick leave

    House of Fraser2019-07-20
  6. "Worse company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and that’s it

    Cons

    Management is a joke, worse I’ve ever seen in this industry, haven’t got a clue about what they’re doing joke

    Advice to Management

    Leave and hire other experienced and professional staff

    House of Fraser2019-07-31
  7. "Shop Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Responsibility given to all employees

    Cons

    Poor working conditions, lack of management , lack of flexibility

    House of Fraser2019-06-11
  8. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours Friendly Staff

    Cons

    Can be quiet and not much to do

    House of Fraser2019-02-16
  9. "Visual Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to be creative at doing displays and Visual Sights.

    Cons

    The salary doesn't reflect the role. Can be quite an exploiter.

    House of Fraser2018-12-11
  10. "House of Fraser Dublin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Administrator in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had the same hours each week.

    Cons

    Looked at by security camera the entire time. Very repetitive, boring admin work. Managers were quite nasty to employees.

    House of Fraser2018-11-28
Found 670 reviews