Homebase Limited Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Homebase Limited Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Homebase Limited CEO Damian Mcgloughlin (no image)
Damian Mcgloughlin
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Went downhill when bought out by Bunnings(in 13 reviews)

  • "Work is easy when working on the shop floor(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is great, very supportive management

    Cons

    Nothing I can suggest

    Homebase Limited2018-07-25
  2. "Overall working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time

    Pros

    Good employer, career oportunities, relatively good pay

    Cons

    No salary reviews even after years of service

    Homebase Limited2019-11-10
  3. "Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time

    Pros

    Good staff within the team

    Cons

    Bad progession on all fronts

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2019-11-16
  4. "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, easy hours

    Cons

    Managers pick favourites, leave others in the dark

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2019-10-14
  5. "Good training in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pricing Controller in Drogheda

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Possible to gain good all round retail experience in a large company and plenty of training offered.

    Cons

    Poor salary -hard to get an increase in one department, you have to change position to progress.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2019-09-02
  6. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time

    Pros

    Not bad entry pay there

    Cons

    Never two same days off,no team work, no chance of progress, no respect, you are just number,calling whenever someones not in to come cover

    Homebase Limited2019-07-09
  7. "Sales team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sligo
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff members. Reasonable training

    Cons

    poor pay with little benefits

    Homebase Limited2018-06-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Miss leading job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours , Discounts instore

    Cons

    VERY bad communication. Unclear on task Not commercial towards the customer Too many management tiers Glory hunters when senior management visit.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2018-03-06
  9. "Pleasant, easygoing atmosphere and flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All staff members get a 20% discount in all Homebase stores and a 10% discount at Argos stores (the latter was put to far more use than the former). A big part of the motivation of the staff is to be happy and pleasant, to give customers an enjoyable experience which, while a bit draining can lead to an all-round pleasant atmosphere for everyone. Managers were flexible when assigning hours and could easily reconfigure the timetable. Received training to operate the store's forklift and not only did I not have to pay to become licensed, I was even paid in full for the three days I was in training/testing. Paid 1.5x normal rate on Sundays, and 2x normal rate on bank holiday Monday's. Contract was 10hr+, meaning I could always be sure to get 10 hours a week but this was expanded as far as I was willing, so at my most leisurely time, I was working between 30-40 hours a week on what was supposedly a 10 hour contract.

    Cons

    Lots of products that you're expected to have an intricate knowledge of (especially since I was working with the plants in the garden centre) with very little attention paid to training. All knowledge of horticulture had to basically be picked up from asking my colleagues for help. Didn't receive an actual uniform for months and was stuck wearing black Penney's clothes. Never received proper work boots as I was supposed to, so I had to just buy a €20 pair from Lidl. The whole uniform ordering stuff apparently is an awful process that almost never works properly. I was given shifts throughout the weeks of my college exams, even forcing me to drive straight from an exam to work a 4-hour shift, even though I had another exam the following morning. This was after giving my manager considerable notice of the exam timetable in the hopes that she'd give me as few hours as possible.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2017-11-21
  10. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Skills you will carry through your life in all areas of DIY while also having oppurtunity to develop management skills

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be tough and staff morale was always fluctuating

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2017-10-18
Found 354 reviews