Homebase Limited Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Homebase Limited Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Homebase Limited Managing Director Damian Mcgloughlin (no image)
Damian Mcgloughlin
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Went downhill when bought out by Bunnings(in 13 reviews)

  • "senior management coming into store added unnecessary stress felt like judgement day(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is great, very supportive management

    Cons

    Nothing I can suggest

    Homebase Limited2018-07-25
  2. "Decent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, flexible with hours as I’m a student and generally relaxed place to work

    Cons

    Micromanagement can be annoying, sometimes you’re left on your own to do large amounts of work and management could be better

    Advice to Management

    Be sensible when assigning work to team members and be patient if the job requires time to do.

    Homebase Limited2019-12-21
  3. "Overall working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time

    Pros

    Good employer, career oportunities, relatively good pay

    Cons

    No salary reviews even after years of service

    Homebase Limited2019-11-10
  4. "Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time

    Pros

    Good staff within the team

    Cons

    Bad progession on all fronts

    Advice to Management

    Work together as part of a team

    Homebase Limited2019-11-16
  5. "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, easy hours

    Cons

    Managers pick favourites, leave others in the dark

    Advice to Management

    Need restructuring

    Homebase Limited2019-10-14
  6. "Good training in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pricing Controller in Drogheda

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Possible to gain good all round retail experience in a large company and plenty of training offered.

    Cons

    Poor salary -hard to get an increase in one department, you have to change position to progress.

    Advice to Management

    Offer wage increases for service in one field.

    Homebase Limited2019-09-02
  7. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time

    Pros

    Not bad entry pay there

    Cons

    Never two same days off,no team work, no chance of progress, no respect, you are just number,calling whenever someones not in to come cover

    Homebase Limited2019-07-09
  8. "Sales team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sligo
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff members. Reasonable training

    Cons

    poor pay with little benefits

    Homebase Limited2018-06-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Miss leading job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours , Discounts instore

    Cons

    VERY bad communication. Unclear on task Not commercial towards the customer Too many management tiers Glory hunters when senior management visit.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to valuable employee

    Homebase Limited2018-03-06
  10. "Pleasant, easygoing atmosphere and flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All staff members get a 20% discount in all Homebase stores and a 10% discount at Argos stores (the latter was put to far more use than the former). A big part of the motivation of the staff is to be happy and pleasant, to give customers an enjoyable experience which, while a bit draining can lead to an all-round pleasant atmosphere for everyone. Managers were flexible when assigning hours and could easily reconfigure the timetable. Received training to operate the store's forklift and not only did I not have to pay to become licensed, I was even paid in full for the three days I was in training/testing. Paid 1.5x normal rate on Sundays, and 2x normal rate on bank holiday Monday's. Contract was 10hr+, meaning I could always be sure to get 10 hours a week but this was expanded as far as I was willing, so at my most leisurely time, I was working between 30-40 hours a week on what was supposedly a 10 hour contract.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of products that you're expected to have an intricate knowledge of (especially since I was working with the plants in the garden centre) with very little attention paid to training. All knowledge of horticulture had to basically be picked up from asking my colleagues for help. Didn't receive an actual uniform for months and was stuck wearing black Penney's clothes. Never received proper work boots as I was supposed to, so I had to just buy a €20 pair from Lidl. The whole uniform ordering stuff apparently is an awful process that almost never works properly. I was given shifts throughout the weeks of my college exams, even forcing me to drive straight from an exam to work a 4-hour shift, even though I had another exam the following morning. This was after giving my manager considerable notice of the exam timetable in the hopes that she'd give me as few hours as possible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to educating your new employees about the products, rather than general store etiquette. I was made complete an online course on OpenDoor that would supposedly educate me on how to do my job but it didn't give me any information about the horticultural stuff I was constantly being asked about in the garden centre. Because of this, all of my education was taken straight from Google searches, assumptions from what I've intuited from reading the plant labels and queries to my colleagues (who were presumably doing the former two things to get their knowledge). Also this OpenDoor training bit was only ever mentioned months after me having been working there.

    Show More
    Homebase Limited2017-11-21
Found 349 reviews